Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+6=135 PMPS 99+1=97+2=90+4=77+5=78+6=84

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121666

I'm not optimistic that Max will come down today and I think I will need to increase again. The question is 1/4 or 1/8? I'm thinking 1/8 but not so sure.

Max wakes up and begs for food nearly every morning at +9:30-10. Should I give him a teaspoon of lc? Today I ignored him. A few times he got fd chicken. He seems to want to eat at that time at least 75% of the time.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289

Unfortunately, I don't have any dosing advice to give you. On the other hand, I took a brief look at Max's SS, and noticed in the comments section that you fed at 10.5. Is that AMPS +10.5, or PMPS +10.5? If I'm correct in saying this, the idea is to not feed 2 hours before the AMPS or PMPS test as to do so could quite possibly influence that morning or evening's #s before his next shot time. Feeding before shot time will give you a false # to shoot (that's what I've learned anyway).

Other than that, I hope that someone comes along soon to help you with your dosing question, and I hope that Max gives you a nice surf today. Have a great day!
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289

Thanks for looking, Angela. I just gave him a little freeze dried chicken at +10.5 in the a.m. cycle yesterday morning. He meows nonstop sometimes for food at +10-10.5 which is 5:00-5:30 a.m. for me. He doesn't do that at the p.m. cycle.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289

Hello my friends!!! We have missed you! Things have been CRAZY around here (went into detail in my condo) but we have thought about y'all often. I see Max is still keeping Momma busy. We are sending vines to our buddy... :RAHCAT
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289

Thanks, Julie. I will read your condo. Max is not doing well again. He just appears to be resistant to recovery. If he would level out it was be easier to accept, sigh.

I don't see a condo for you, Julie????
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289

Do you see it now? I wrote on your condo first then updated mine.
Could he still be recovering from that big bounce? I saw a lot of blue and green in his spreadsheet but then some other surprises as well. Peyton was begging for food at that time too. If it were a couple hours before PS I would give him a small amount of 1% or 2% food. If it were under 2 hours before PS I would do like you and give him freeze dried treat to tide him over. I'll be checking in on you guys In a little bit.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+2.5=256

I saw it!! That kitten is so lucky to have found you.

Max's mo is to look like he is leveling out, threaten to need a reduction, then climb back up. It is beyond frustrating. I'm going to ask my vet if he thinks adequan is worth a try. I know he doesn't feel good. I'm off to the gym to work off this frustration.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+2.5=256

That's what I "should" be doing for frustration! Max is lucky to have you as well. I'll be saying some extra prayers that he starts to feel better...Mom too :)
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+2.5=256

Hi Elise, I don't like to give Lovey food after +6 since sometimes it makes her preshots high. On the other hand, when she is running lower, the food doesn't seem to impact her much. However, if she is really persistent, I give her only 1 tsp of my lowest carb food or the freeze dried chicken. Lovey has been through a period for the last few weeks that she is meowing for food about an hour or two before shot time in the morning. It has settled down a little bit though.

Lovey will do great for weeks and then she starts running higher sometimes. I don't know what causes it. I get bloodwork done, checkups etc. I raise the dose and she gets back on track.

Is Max eating OK during other times. Sending prayers that Max feels better. Do you think higher numbers bother him? His numbers seem pretty good overall. I know the last few cycles he is running higher. I wonder if 1/8 icrease would jump start him.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+2.5=256+4.5=151

Hi Catherine. Max is eating well most of the time. In fact he is eating too well. He has gained close to a pound and weighs 15 pounds when he should weigh 14-14 1/2. Every so often he has an off day and I think maybe he is having pancreatitis but so far knock on wood he gets back on track by the next cycle. It appears he cleared the bounce so I guess I will see what he does the rest of the day and tonight. It seems just a few drops extra does make a difference. The strange thing is that on this same dose he went below 50 twice and the next time would have been a required reduction. I don't know now if we start all over and wait for 3 assuming he gets back to green by tomorrow. Thanks for the visit and telling me what works for you.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+2.5=256+4.5=151

Lovey is like that. A couple of drops can make a big difference. The 151 is looking good and he may come down more. Let's see what he does.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+2.5=256+4.5=155+6=135

He looks like he's clearing the bounce so I might hold off and see what he does today/tonight. If he doesn't get into green tonight, I'd increase the dose to 2.75u tomorrow. (I'm hoping now that I've said that, he will come down).

f I'm correct in saying this, the idea is to not feed 2 hours before the AMPS or PMPS test as to do so could quite possibly influence that morning or evening's #s before his next shot time. Feeding before shot time will give you a false # to shoot (that's what I've learned anyway).

Angela is correct that feeding this late in the cycle could cause a rise in the PS since it slows down the effects of the insulin. However, I'd like to debunk this thought for experienced members. And by that, I mean if you know your cat's patterns; if you know onset, nadir, duration; whether they get a food spike; how much of a food spike; how do they react to carbs, etc, then it can be just fine to feed in the two hours prior to PS as long as you realize you are (1) likely decreasing the carryover and overlap potential (i.e. duration) and (2) you could be shooting a food spike and so you should know how to deal with it if kitty comes back down).
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+2.5=256+4.5=155+6=135

That's why I only give him freeze dried human chicken as that doesn't cause a spike for Max. I have been tempted to give him 1-3 -% but haven't done it. I've tested him several times at that hour to see if he is high or low and he has never been low. Thanks and I hope your threat works. Do many cats get a spike from 100% chicken or turkey?
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+2.5=256+4.5=155+6=135

I came home to a couple of small areas with what looked like yellow or brown liquid with a tiny bit of fur. It was on carpet so hard to say for sure. I was quite surprised to get a 99 PMPS and tested twice, once with the backup meter and that was 98. Hopefully he will surf tonight.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+2.5=256+4.5=155+6=135

I guess Max is clearing the bounce. It's good that you waited before increasing. Surf safely Max.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+2.5=256+4.5=155+6=135PMPS 99

Thanks for checking back with us Catherine. I wonder when his nadir was today and how low he got. Probably not much lower than the 135 I bet.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+4.5=155+6=135 PMPS 99+1=97+2=90+3=9

This is a new one for Max. It sure would be nice if he surfs like this all night. Since I don't know what to expect I've been testing every hour. At first I was expecting him to go up and now I keep expecting a drop and don't know if it will be a quick one or not. I'm hoping he can somehow stay between 75-low 100's. He sure keeps me guessing and on my toes. I continue to not be able to predict so I resort to wishing for a nice level evening.

Thanks for checking back on us Julie. I'm so glad Peyton is doing well. How's the kitten? I forget the name.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+4.5=155+6=135 PMPS 99+1=97+2=90+3=9

Lovely cycle tonight. I guess Max was listening to Auntie Marje today. ;-)

I've been getting the yellow/brown liquid with fur patches on carpet too, or if I'm lucky on flooring. Mostly from the civie. Definitely hairball season here.

It's definitely worth talking to your vet to see if Max has arthritis. If it's causing pain, it can really impact the numbers. Addressing that has made a big difference with Neko. Rhiannon/Shadow also noticed a big difference in Shadow's OTJ BG once she added a little bit of daily bupe for Shadow's arthritis.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+4.5=155+6=135 PMPS 99+1=97+2=90+3=9

That would be wonderful if addressing the pain I think he is having will help his BG like it has for the others. I know he has to have pain because he cries and cries but only rarely will get up on my bed to arouse me. The radiologist said she saw sternal degenerative changes which seemed to be arthritis when I googled it. I've been asked if it is neuropathy but this started a long time before diabetes. I will call my vet tomorrow for sure. Thanks for stopping by, Wendy.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+4.5=155+6=135 PMPS 99+1=97+2=90+3=9

Nothing better than flat mid to high green cycles! Looking great, Max!

To answer your question, yes, some cats will get a spike from 100% chicken. Gracie will and I have given her chicken late in the cycle just to keep her from dropping too low.

I hope it was just a hairball and nothing else and that you can, perhaps, get something for his arthritis.
 
Re: Max 7/13/14 AMPS 289+6=135 PMPS 99+1=97+2=90+3=97+4=77

That is interesting about the chicken. I'm hoping Max won't drop any more but we have at least 2 -3 hours left to nadir. Thanks, Marje.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top