MAX 6/4AMPS 289 PMPS 470 Doseinc +2.5=330+4.5=218+6=160

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S RECAP
11.75 68
AMPS 83
+1=110
+2=94
+3.5=110
+4.5=98
+5.5=95
+6=93
+10=105
PMPS 111
+1.5=126
+3=113
+4.5=124
+9.5=181
YESTERDAY'S CONDO: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119739&p=1250840#p1250840

First I'd like to thank Amy, Julie, Wendy, and everyone helping and rooting me on yesterday and every day as I try to survive diabetes. Thanks for all the visits everyone. I'm still a bit sleep deprived so excuse me for not naming you all individually at this time. Know that you are all so appreciated.

An extra special thanks to Marje for holding my hand through the change to terumo syringes. I wish I had more of the monojects for a few more days but know in the long haul this is the right thing to do. That being said, I don't think Max is getting the right dose with the change. How long should I give it before increasing and should I increase by .76 mm (.25) when I increase?

Max didn't eat quite as much last night but did wake me first attempting to throw up a hairball. He coughed up a small amount of fur at +9.5. Then he kept talking and I really needed to try to get a little more sleep so he got a tablespoon of lc ff. I did finally fall asleep but it took awhile. I woke up a little late so by the time he got his insulin it was about 10 minutes off.

I hope you all have a great day and see lots of green.

On a lighter note, I just read that it's world Hug Your Cat Day. I googled it and it is true!!!
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 NOT ENOUGH JUICE?

Since you just started using the new syringes, and the 2.5 dose has been getting great nadir's, I would just keep shooting the current dose.

I think I'd probably keep this dose for at least 6 cycles with the new syringes so we can get a really good idea of how he's doing on "this" 2.5 dose. (if that made sense)

If he's still trending up after that, then we can probably assume the new syringes aren't giving as much insulin as the old ones were and adjust from there.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 NOT ENOUGH JUICE?

Hi Chris. I think the monjects because of the hub and the fact that I wasn't really using the calipers were giving Max more than 2.5 units. The terumo 2.5 was measured correctly with the calipers. I expected this to happen and that's why I was disappointed that the change happened while he was doing so well. I guess we need to make sure this isn't a bounce. I don't think that it is. Thanks.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 NOT ENOUGH JUICE?

Hi Elise,

I've been following the discussion the last few days and I've learned a great deal about feline hypertension and syringes. Some of these things were foreign to me and I had to do some homework to figure out what you guys were discussing. Sometimes I feel so inadequate when I can't follow the discussion and am unable to contribute positively, so please excuse me if I've played a quieter role of late.

I wish you luck in determining the correct dose with these new syringes, Elise.

Enjoy the rest of the day and hug that little guy for me.

Anne
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 NOT ENOUGH JUICE?+6=302

Hey Max - time to come on down please! I wonder if the hairball is contributing to the higher numbers - it does for some kitties.

I don't think you need to wait 6 cycles at this dose if the numbers don't improve. Max usually clears his bounces in 3-4 cycles so if you don't see any improvement by then, I'd think about increasing. As with deductions, you only need to wait until a bounce clears and it's obvious the numbers are trending upwards.

ETA: I don't think it's a bounce, but worst case if it was you'd want to wait for it to clear.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 NOT ENOUGH JUICE?+6=302

I of course, don't have any advice but just wanted to say what a great job you did the other day handling the low numbers with little or no sleep!! :shock:
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 NOT ENOUGH JUICE?+6=302

Hi Anne. Yes feline BP is a field that many vets don't seem to venture into unless a cat has a heart condition, CKD, or a thyroid condition. I bet the same is true for dogs. So many say primary high BP is rare. But how can they know unless they test all animals that don't have those conditions from time to time? Most charge and sometimes as much as $50 for this service in addition to the appointment charge and any other labs so they likely think their clients would object. I'm lucky that I don't get charged every time. I think my vet takes pity on me because he sees how hard I work. Please don't feel inadequate. I know too much because Tiffany and Max has lived long enough to teach me about too many diseases. Tiffany taught me about CRF, intestinal intermediate cell lymphoma, pancreatitis, high BP, and anemia and she only lived to be 12. Now Max is teaching me about diabetes.

Wendy, I don't think the fur spiked his BG but of course I could be wrong. The spike started after his lower dose last night due to the syringe change. He didn't even throw up a hairball, just a very small amount of fur.

Thanks for stopping by Ruth. I did okay but shouldn't have fed Max that morning. Fortunately he was on the way up so it wasn't an issue. If he hadn't been it still would have been okay. I just would have had to use higher carb food and/or karo. I was really freaked out when I saw that AMPS that was lower than his evening test the night before.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 +6=302PMPS 470HELP PLEASE

I REALLY THINK HE NEEDS MORE JUICE. Since I am using new syringes and using calipers I think he might have gotten two doses, last night and this morning, that were as much as half a unit less than he was getting. I know you say to wait for at least 3 cycles and it's only been 2 but I wonder if I should increase at least by .25 tonight as this is like a failed reduction isn't it? He is due for his insulin within 15 minutes.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 +6=302PMPS 470HELP PLEASE

Ugh! I don't like that trend. It looks like more than just a bounce. You test a lot - I'd say go for the .25U increase tonight.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 +6=302 PMPS 470 HELP PLEASE

Thank you. I wanted to but didn't want to without someone more experienced than I am giving the okay.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 +6=302 PMPS 470 HELP PLEASE

Earlier this year when Neko's numbers went wonky after her dental I did a very quick dose reduction to see if that was the issue. With an acrocat, it's a bit more complicated. But I bailed on the experiment after 2 doses when the numbers just trended up. So yup, I've had this same experience. :roll:

Good luck with the increase. I want to see Max in those beautiful blues and greens we know he can do.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 +6=302 PMPS 470 HELP PLEASE

Good luck Elise with the increase this evening - I hope it brings Max back down. Anne
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 +6=302 PMPS 470 HELP PLEASE

Thanks Anne and Wendy. I increased. I am a nervous wreck. I wish I didn't have to change syringes when he was doing so well. I wanted to change but didn't expect things to be off this much. This is not for the faint of heart. I think I lost my BOS.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 +6=302 PMPS 470 Doseinc

Hi, I am using the monject syringes. They are off. I used another syringe without 1/2 unit markings when I was moving up by .25 unit and going to an even 2 units once since I thought it might be easier. The numbers were better with .25 less with the monjects. I suspect due to the hub we are giving more insulin with the monojects.

I wanted to change to the Terusimo but I didn't since it was hard enough getting to the good numbers and I didn't want another variable, but you are doing the right thing in the long run. Your doses will probably be more consistent.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 +6=302 PMPS 470 Doseinc

That is the hope, Catherine, but this is really scary. I hope that is what is going on and Marje warned me. But he shot up so fast and so high for him!!! Hopefully I will figure this out and then I can help you avoid what we are going through. It also means he is on a rather high dose which I don't like. Then again he was in good numbers for 3 days so I guess it is possible. I don't think he feels too well though. He is quieter even than usual. I pray this increase gets him at least into yellow and if he needs another one, so be it.
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 +6=302 PMPS 470 Doseinc

Ok Max, we know you are capable of surfing beautifully in the green - no need to head straight up to those floors. Your friends are all hanging out on the lower floors. Hugs, Elise! I hope the increase takes care of the issue with the dose variance with switching syringes. Max come down vines are headed your way!
 
Re: AMPS 289 +3.25=283 +6=302 PMPS 470 Doseinc

Good luck with the dose increase! That is really scary about the variance between syringes :shock:
 
Re: AMPS 289+3.25=283+6=302PMPS470Doseinc+2.5=330

I never thought I would be happy to see stinky pink!! Right now I am. Thanks Jen and Ruth for stopping by.

Update: Even happier to see blue at almost +6.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top