Max...116 bg after week of high 200 to low 400

Status
Not open for further replies.

MayBTheresHope

Member Since 2012
Of course this happens when I'm on the road. Did a curve on Max yesterday and #s ranged from high 200s to low 400s throughout the day including a 238 pm nadir. Tested this a.m. And bg was 400. Fed him, shot .75u, then went about the day. I tested him right b4 we left to visit my MIL over an hr from our house....got 116. This was at AMPS +6. Had to leave to take dinner to a sick co-worker and make it to MILs house by supper. What now? Acting normal...was a bit hungry but didn't eat the food I opened for him, but it was purina dm and I think he is sick of it. Other cats hate it. Please help. Should we go back home and tell MIL we can't make it ?
 
116 should be a good number for +6. Even if he goes down a little more later in the cycle, he should be okay. Leave some food out he likes and have a good time.


(generally we don't start to breathe hard until we see a 40-50 number.)
 
Whew...ok, tx! Will post curve numbers later when I get a chance. Should have brought them wem so that I could do it in the car but forgot them....sigh!
 
Hopefully you had a nice visit and Max was fine. What a nice number to be surprised with... not necessarily the TIME you'd have liked, but a nice number nonetheless! Celebrate it as a victory and enjoy the rest of your mother's day (consider it a gift from Max!).
 
I never thought of it that way...so the low number is actually encouraging? I get so confused...our visit was good and Max is fine...not liking the dm still, though, so tomorrow I'm switching him to Friskies pâtés and ff.
 
Sandy,
Yes, that number is definitely encouraging. It's low enough without being too low. If you start the cycle around 400 and Max goes down near 100 at the mid-point of the cycle, that says the dose is doing its job. A higher dose would have been too much on the 400, but .75 looks just right.

Good that you are changing diet. A lot of cats hate DM it seems. Bob sure did. Low carb Friskees and FF are what Bob ate too. It gives you plenty of menu choices instead of the same old flavor every day. I think Max will be loving the switch.

Carl
 
Sandy,

Have we given you the link to the PZI document? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799 It's too much for one sitting, but has a lot of good information. PZI generally has a smile curve - am preshot, then a slow decline to around +6 which is probably the lowest number and then a rise to a number near the am preshot. The hope is that both the preshot numbers and the nadir start to get lower over time. A regulated cat is in the 200s at preshot and in the low 100s or double digits at nadir, but not under 40. (We say a cat in remission ranges from 40 -120 without insulin and is in the double digits the majority of the time.)

If the +6 (nadir) is in the 40-50 range, that is lower than we want to see. It calls for intervention, with low carb food first. If the number continues to fall, then higher carb. Finally syrup for a number that continues to go down.

So Max's curve was a perfect shape, but a little steeper than what might feel good for him. Dropping from the 400s to the 100s could make him feel crummy. But it is encouraging, as Carl said, because the insulin is working. It is possible that he has been dropping lower mid cycle at night and that makes the preshots higher. (We call it a bounce. His body reacts to a lower number than usual by releasing glucose which raises his blood glucose levels.) Or the new diet may be slowing kicking in. Only time and data will tell.

You can try to soften that curve with food - feeding smaller amounts more often. Ditto on the DM. It's mainly liver and cats get tired of the taste. The good thing is that you can return it. Purina accepts all returns on their foods. Just say he won't eat it.......Fancy Feast has ingredients that are just as good and there is more variety that cats like better.

You and Max are looking good. BTW, I have meant to tell you from the first day. Love your sign in - and yes, there is definitely hope!
 
Ps. I used numbers on human meters. Since you are using the AlphaTrak, you would add 30 to each number.

So a low to be concerned about would be 70-80. A cat in remission might range from 70 to 140 on the AlphaTrak.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top