? Max: 00cat - PS 97, then 83

Kim & Max:00cat

Member Since 2019
Hi Sugar Cat Friends --

I posted about a week ago that I've had trouble getting Max regulated.

I put the data I've collected in the past year on my own into the board's spreadsheet format. I've only been here a week so understand you are looking at historic data please. Here is the spreadsheet:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1n_nR2TUwEyQjmu9YocTwCNZq3pLhZ0NxOxZcsC7SN_k/edit?usp=sharing

I read all the sticky's and decided to go with the Start Low Go Slow method since I don't have a lot of data from times other than pre-shot. Max has been receiving 0.75 unit BiD for about a week. Today I am working remotely so able to do some testing in the day time. I was hoping for a perfect curve (!) but I honestly wasn't sure what to expect because he is still flooding the box - so clearly he doesn't feel well. He tested at 97. I waiting about 15 minutes w/out feeding and tested again 83. My husband does the injecting and had to leave for work -- so we decided to skip the dose for this morning based on sticky notes -- however I also feel like MAYBE he's starting to regulate --- ? This happens over and over. I get a low PS number, skip, and then he bounces really high.

A few questions.

1. Does the blood drop size matter? Sometimes I get a big! dollop that beads up, other times I get blood but basically it's an ear smear to the test strip. The 97 was a dollop. The 83 taken 15mins later was a smear.

2. I skipped the dose, and assume I'll need to get a few more test numbers today but doesn't that throw off the sheet? I mean - I recorded as SKIP on the dose, but ...

3. Can someone share w/me what a "good" sheet looks like? An example so I know what I am trying to achieve?

Thanks. I had another question but forgot what it was. Want to get this out there now.
 
Welcome!

You may want to put the blue question mark on title if you have questions so it gets noticed more. Open your post, go to thread tools on right side of screen and edit and then when box opens there is a drop down to select the question mark.

I think some more experienced members will give you some input.

Normally as long as meter registers the blood sample you should be okay, usually if it is too small a sample it will give you an error code. Also results can vary strip to strip slightly and if taking a 2nd test immediately after first, but waiting 15 minutes like you did is plenty of time in between. So both results should be good. That little of a variance is equivalent to pretty much same reading, since strips can vary 15-20%.
 
We strongly recommend you test before each and every shot. As this morning showed, sometimes it’s just not safe to shoot. Yes he will be high tonight from the skipped shoot and possibly from going low overnight. However, since you are following SLGS, you should reduce his dose down to 0.5 units as he went below 90 with that 83.

Blood drop size can matter, depending on the meter. With my Relion or Arkray, too small a blood drop could get a false low reading. Too much wasn’t an issue.

Another test today would be good, to make sure he’s not still going down. Just record it on the same place on the spreadsheet as if you had shot.
 
Thank you. I just did a test and he's at 137 now.

Does being low also cause symptom of flooding the box or only too high?
 
Just the high causes the litter box flood, but he could bounce high from the lows. Has he had bloodwork done recently to make sure everything else is OK?
 
You may want to put the blue question mark on title if you have questions so it gets noticed more. Open your post, go to thread tools on right side of screen and edit and then when box opens there is a drop down to select the question mark.

Perhaps I am misunderstanding the use of this board. I thought the whole board was for questions. I tried to edit to add as you suggested but I only see the post to edit not the subject line. I will remember this as an option for next time. Thank you for telling me.
 
Just the high causes the litter box flood, but he could bounce high from the lows. Has he had bloodwork done recently to make sure everything else is OK?

Yes, and he does also have loss of kidney function - I am sure that contributes. I do notice that he feels better every blue moon, and it's not so bad, so was hoping that if I can get him regulated he will have some relief from this too.
 
Perhaps I am misunderstanding the use of this board. I thought the whole board was for questions. I tried to edit to add as you suggested but I only see the post to edit not the subject line. I will remember this as an option for next time. Thank you for telling me.

The board is more or less for questions, but some posts are just the daily numbers people are posting for their cat and they don’t always expect a response. If someone has a specific question, sometimes its easier to see with the question mark when scanning the board, with so many posts, things can get overlooked occasionally.

It’s at the top of page for that post off to right says “thread tools”
Then when you click thread tools, a box with the title of your post comes up and there is an arrow on left side you can click on to show different selections such as the blue question mark or 911, etc.
 
You might want to put CKD in your signature, as well as SLGS people know at a glance your dosing method and other medical condition. For one thing, Fancy Feast is not a good option for kidney kitties, it’s phosphorus level is too high. Yes CKD can contribute to the litter box action. Neko also had kidney issues, which is why I tried to get to a dose that kept her under renal threshold as much as possible. That number varies by cat and meter, but is in the upper blues to mid yellow range. With Neko I managed to get down to just 2-3 pees a day.

Is he peeing more at night vs day time? I don't see much night time data, so am trying to guess if he is going higher at night, or lower, which is what most, it not all, cats do.
 
Ok - I got home late so could not test Max until after my husband had already fed him. He ate around 6pm. He tested at 350 2-3 hours later. We gave him 0.5 unit. That does throw tomorrow's insulin off a little. I'm trying to figure out a time that we can consistently give AM/PM. I think it's going to be 7:30 AM & 7:30 PM. I don't think I ever realized how critical the 12 hour spacing was until my recent read of sticky notes ... it's going to be a challenge. Our schedules can be chaotic w/many outside commitments. How do you all manage this? I don't think the average person is home every 12 hours .... ?
 
I tried to be home every 12 hours, or make sure my husband was if I couldn’t. He could shoot at first, but it took a while to convince him to test. I got my freedom when he did learn. :) There is also a bit of wiggle room. You can shoot 1/2 hour early or late once a day, or 15 minutes a cycle. I had a regular PM meeting that meant I had to be out the door an hour before shot time. Over a couple days leading up to it, I would move the shot time up, then back the next day.
 
How do you all manage this? I don't think the average person is home every 12 hours .... ?

Welcome to the forum! There's a lot to learn when you first join and we're a forgiving group - ask all the questions you like and make comments too...each day please start a new thread aka condo, like this 8/3 Max 00Cat AMPS ### - then fire away. Yes, lots of info in those stickies! I remember when I first read them and saw all the testing that was required - I did a double take - we had such a rough time getting tests - so I feel your pain there - it'll get easier as far as the drops, gobs, smears and all that goes - when you perfect the technique of gently touching the test strip to the blood (no matter what size) it siphons it up to the meter where it's read - so just keep working on that.

As for your schedule - yep that every 12 hour thing is a bear - I actually only plan outings and social commitments around Luci's schedule...it was a little awkward at first - but I explained to friends and family that I couldn't go to dinner, etc until before or after Luci's shot time - which inconveniently just so happens to always be at dinner time...somehow everyone made a few adjustments - otherwise I just didn't go - that is always an option. If you can train DH to not feed until after he's tested and is prepared to give the PM insulin you'll have half the battle won.

It is a challenge...but your Max looks like a doll and I'm sure he's worth all the help you're giving him.

Have a wonderful day and keep reading :)
 
Just chiming in that because cats love routines, the regular schedule of testing, feeding, and shooting (with a diabetic-friendly treat after every test!) might make it easier on all of you. My Figaro runs to his test table when I'm heading there... honestly, sometimes when it isn't even test time :facepalm:
Then, he knows what to expect, knows he will be fed, and knows to come back for the shot and a final treat.. it's just something we do now and we are usually done in 20 minutes. And it has been less than 2 months for us.
 
Back
Top