Maury's ? progress

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yong & Maury GA

Very Active Member
Since Maury has been doing some weird things past 2 days (well nights actually hee hee), figured I would start another post :). I really want to try the 2.75U but I've had to give him reduced PM doses. YA should arrive tomorrow. He's at 20 pieces mixed in with his DM dry for the 1/8 cup after meal.
Snack is at +4 or +5, test before he gets it. Been trying a snack around +9 during the day but I'm not sure why that would make his PMPS lower. He usually eats his snack in 15 minutes so there is no food eaten 2 hours before Preshot test.
 
Hmmm...well if a cat goes down after eating that's usually an indication the pancreas has kicked in. However...I'm not sure that's what is going on with Maury. Could you grab a +10 or 11 test in the next few days? That might help us see what is happening in the time frame after the snack. Then we can see if goes up at all or if he keeps going down.

My guess is that the insulin is just lasting that long. It's possible that the 13/11 schedule would be best for you...did we just suggest that the other day? My brain is so foggy I can't recall. :rolleyes: That would allow you to possibly bring down his AM number and bring up his PM number so they're more even.
 
Just did his +9 and gave half of a 1/4 can (divided into 4 sections then split a 1/4 section in half) I'll go for +10.5 ;). Yes, the 13/11 was mentioned to me the other day, it's ok my brain does the same thing lol. I'm going to give it a couple more days to see if he keeps this pattern before deciding on the 13/11 schedule :)
 
+20mins reading 197. Gave dinner. Will give 1.75U. Hope it's not too much but he has been going higher after. Can prob only get a +3 at latest.
 
Yep, we generally think that below 250 is healing time for the pancreas...so I think he is getting that!

Looking at your +10.5 today, I don't think the food is causing the lower numbers. He's generally in the same number then as he was at +9 today. I think the insulin might just be lasting longer during the day.
 
But why all of the sudden? lol
I wonder if giving him that 2nd 1/4 can around +8 is making his body release some insulin, thus extending the AM shot. I only do it during the day cycle and added it because I do want him to gain a little weight back. So he gets 2.75 cans a day (Friskies 5.5oz)
 
Sometimes food can encourage the pancreas to produce insulin, but if it's not working it's best you'll see a big blood glucose spike soon after eating. That's why when doing a feed & stall you want to wait at least 2hrs to retest (I'm entirely too used to this btw ;)). Hopefully Maury will stay in these nice numbers!
 
Thanks Kimi! When I do stall, I do not give him his meal until I see if he is rising on his own. Then when I do feed and shoot, I try to test at +2 or +3 =)
 
Sometimes food can encourage the pancreas to produce insulin, but if it's not working it's best you'll see a big blood glucose spike soon after eating. That's why when doing a feed & stall you want to wait at least 2hrs to retest (I'm entirely too used to this btw ;)). Hopefully Maury will stay in these nice numbers!
I'm glad we have you back to add to the roster of Tricky Cat Experts on this forum. :);)
 
And we have some bouncing :(. At least I think that's what it is. Regretting giving him that little bit of FF Gravy lovers but I had to leave the house :(
 
That's what I figured, just regret giving the FF instead of letting him come back on his own, maybe without bouncing but I wasn't going to be home to monitor him. Maybe with tonight's higher PMPS than past few will get him straight again. He hasn't had regular dose those past evenings. Been feeling anxious about looking for work aggressively with him like this but my funds are drying up :(. Can I have another Catch 22? lol
 
Beautiful (still trying not to get anxious :p) nadir! :cat: Think it's ok that when I get the lower numbers on the ReliOn, I do a test with the AT2, immediately after, to get a better idea of where he is?
 
Maury had an energy burst a little while ago, kind of makes me a teeny tiny bit worried when he does it and :confused:lol. He makes a little game out of it (I think also a game to make me think I'm crazy). Starts with some meowing, then I hear him running around the main floor while I'm in the basement on the computer, meows a couple times, paws at the wall (like covering "stuff" in the litter box) BUT as soon as I go up to check on him, he's innocently "meatloafed" on the rug, not moving. So I go back downstairs and it starts again LOL. I hope this is just him being his goofy self, he has now been curled up on the sofa behind me taking a nap while I type away :)
 
Weighed Maury (me first a few times then holding him) 12.2lbs. Think I last weighed him 2-3 weeks ago and he was about 11 lbs :). His lowest was about 10.4lbs before starting insulin therapy.
 
We're in the right direction then :). Kinda want to shove my SS in the first Vet's face and tell them, "Does he look like a complicated case to you, now?!?!" But I will not :p After his first "curve" (they only did like 2 readings) I was called to pick him up. They never even recommended a dose increase.
 
Think it's time to try 2.75U, at least for AM cycle. He's still throwing me off with his PM cycles o_O. Need to get another curve done too, should I do one on current dose or on the 2.75U?
 
That does seem different than what the other data points show. Any ideas why? Food? Weather? Exercise? Squirrel?
 
Looks like a weird little blip. Remember that those very low reds are statistically not much different from a high pink. There's also the up to 20% strip variance too.

Another curve will show if that's a trend and he needs a dose increase or if it was just a bounce.
 
No idea why he was, essentially, flat. He doesn't show any signs of being afraid of any type of weather but I was wondering if the high winds may have caused a physiological response in him. This morning has been interesting too, had to stall a little bit. Definitely making me go o_O
 
No idea why he was, essentially, flat. He doesn't show any signs of being afraid of any type of weather but I was wondering if the high winds may have caused a physiological response in him. This morning has been interesting too, had to stall a little bit. Definitely making me go o_O
Might be a bit of bouncing. Who knows what lows might have preceded the blue you had this AM.
 
For this mornings AMPS, I figured it may have been something like what caused his blue PMPS 4-6 March, just happened overnight this time. :)
 
Just checking: I see your note for yesterday's blue AMPS saying you stalled for 30 minutes. Was the 154 the number you shot at after stalling or had it risen higher? I'm asking because if it had risen higher, that's the PS number you want on your SS.
 
Hi Kris, the 185 was the first test so I did another to check right away and got the 154. Put the 154 on the SS for AMPS because 20 minutes later I got the 145. So 40 minutes after first initial tests it started rising to the 172. So stalled for 40 minutes and shot was 30 minutes late. Was glad he didn't go too high into the 300's :) (The 293 I take as a low 300s).

Side note for today, I am proud of him :cat:
 
Hi Kris, the 185 was the first test so I did another to check right away and got the 154. Put the 154 on the SS for AMPS because 20 minutes later I got the 145. So 40 minutes after first initial tests it started rising to the 172. So stalled for 40 minutes and shot was 30 minutes late. Was glad he didn't go too high into the 300's :) (The 293 I take as a low 300s).

Side note for today, I am proud of him :cat:
You want to have on your SS whatever the final number was just before you made the decision to shoot. You can list the others and the stalls in the notes section.
 
Ah ok. I put notes in the cell so the final number is the one I gave his shot on so anyone who looks can just hover the mouse over the cell. I will try to do it the other way from now on :)
 
Ah ok. I put notes in the cell so the final number is the one I gave his shot on so anyone who looks can just hover the mouse over the cell. I will try to do it the other way from now on :)
I see. Now here's a question from an old fart: how do you attach a note to a cell so it shows as that little black triangle?
 
lol. On your copy of the SS, right click the cell and select "Insert note" and the little text box should come up. To make them show as the little black triangle, instead of using File->Publish to the web, generate a link via top right and click "Share" button. Make sure the setting is View only and use that link for your SS link.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top