To be specific how many additional testing would you like to see during PM?Sasha, it depends on which dosing protocol you use, and also what Mauer's BG levels are, as to how many cycles it should be before adjusting the insulin dose.
Any 12 hour dosing cycle with a BG level <5 mmol/L (<90 mg/dL) is an automatic 0.25U dose reduction, with the SLGS or the MPM dosing protocols we use here.
With SLGS, which is the only dosing protocol you can use right now with Mauer, the number of cycles to hold a dose is 14 cycles. You have to use the SLGS dosing protocol because you are still feeding Mauer dry food. Plus, you need to give the SLGS dosing protocol a decent chance to work. One month is suggested.
You need to be a little patient here, with the dose adjustments. And you also need to get some additional testing in during the evening/PM/nighttime dosing cycle. To see how Mauer is doing in the evening cycle. You have good test data in the morning cycle, but have very little data in the evening cycle.
Always the pre-shot test, for every cycle.To be specific how many additional testing would you like to see during PM?
Because they are more active. Cats are nocturnal mammals, so they are up and about at night more than during the day. Extra activity burns up more glucose, so the cat's BG levels drop lower as they use more energy. That is one reason.Why do cats drop lower during the night cycle?
Deb, I might have ****ed it up.Yes, that was a bounce when Mauer got back into the red BG numbers.
Answered on your Feline Health thread, about increasing the dose.
I think you could safely raise the dose before the normal 14 cycle SLGS protocol.
Mauer was doing a bit better on a slightly higher dose.
No worries.Was it a mistake to give her a smaller dose or should I just have followed the plan?
To be honest I'm a bit afraid of the "good" numbers and to bump her too low
Yes, time to increase the dose again by 0.25U.Should I increase by 0.25 or?
Yes, Mauer is way past due for an increase. Bump up the dose to 2U when you get a chance. The 1.75U dose has been held way too long, and Mauer isn't getting into the blue or green numbers on that dose.
You shouldn't wait more than 1 week before deciding on increasing the dose. Please ask sooner next time, ok?
The website is being updated, and there is a temporary backup site while that happens. For emergencies.
PLEASE READ - Site downtime!
Robert & Echo suggested that people bookmark the temp backup site. https://www.limestonemedia.com/feline/FDMB/
It's a deal.But I'll ask sooner next time I promise
Moves can be quite an adjustment for everyone in the family, human and furry alike.
It's a deal.
Is her brother Miver doing better?
I'm aware that in other parts of the world, metacam is considered dangerous. But I also understand you only have one dose, in Denmark we have 2. One for cats and one for dogs. Cats is only 0.5mg. Dogs and the one used other places in the world for cats its 1.5mg.Sasha --
Please be very careful with using Metacam. Any of the nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs can cause renal failure in cats. What kind of inflammation is Mauer dealing with? If you want to use a general anti-inflammatory, adding omega-3 (fish oil) to his diet may take longer for you to see a response but it's a lot safer unless your kitty is allergic to fish.
You may want to read over the SLGS section of the dosing methods sticky. You want to hold doses for a week, do a curve, and then decide whether you need to raise the dose.
This is the information on metacam from the US Food & Drug Administration. The dosing is more aggressive in the US but I tend to want to make sure everyone is aware that it can be problematic. If a cat has kidney issues and the caregiver is unaware of the potential for the drug to cause problems, it could be a disaster.
Mauer is showing you a better reaction to the insulin.What a day! Up and down...twice!!
What's happening?
You're seeing "the curve". Kind of like a gentle "Mona Lisa" smile.
Not a low curve, where the numbers drop into the lower blues and greens, but a curve none the less.
Mauer is showing you a better reaction to the insulin.
One thought that may help to put the numbers in perspective -- you have no idea how long Mauer has been diabetic. Chances are he has been diabetic for more time than you've been giving him insulin. As a result, his body isn't used to what are normal numbers. It will take time to get him there.
In addition, the switch from Lev to Caninsulin to Prozinc in all likelihood hasn't helped. You gave Lev about a month. It generally takes longer to see better numbers with a depot-type of insulin and I'm not sure what your dosing strategy was. You gave Caninsulin about 2 weeks. I'm not a fan of that insulin but it's to enough time to see a response. And now you're using Prozinc for about a month. Treating diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint. You need to give the insulin time to have an effect on a pancreas that hasn't been working. Each time you switch insulin, it can be like starting over.
Given that the depot-insulins take a bit longer to show results, one of the basic ideas we urge new members to consider with Lantus and Lev is patience. Being consistent and being patient are key. I know it's hard. We all want our kitties to be better instantly. It's unlikely that will happen -- at least in an instant. So, take a few deep breaths, appreciate that our cats like to be unpredictable, and realize that it's your cat that's leading this dance, not you. We just get to follow along.
That stability takes time to achieve.We need stability in those numbers
I'll raise. Feels like pokerIt's time for an increase. So yes, raise the dosage to 2.25U. Next cycle please.
Yes, sometimes it is like poker, or some sort of betting game.I'll raise. Feels like poker![]()
We can't always be here when you need help Sasha, so you make the best judgement calls you can. You are there and able to watch Mauer and keep her safe. That is important too. You know Mauer better than we ever will.I shot in her flank/shoulder again, maybe that's what's making the difference?
It might possibly be a mistake that I lowered her PMPS on my own, but if that's the case I'm quite sure you'll tell me so
Ugh I hate those high numbers. Why did you decide to lower the dose? You may have been just about ready for a small increase to 2.5. I want to see more beautiful blues!!Oh well..
She's high. So high I can't get a number.
What's the reason I need to keep the dose for I few cycles?
I was hoping for yellow AMPS but well...
Back on the horse!
Exactly you can't always be here, so I must make decisions based on..my gut?
I learn more and more every day thanks to this forum. And I'm confident Mauer will have a good and safe life, specially with this amazing forum on the side!![]()
Simply because I was scared that she'd drop too low. Nighttime new injection site.Ugh I hate those high numbers. Why did you decide to lower the dose? You may have been just about ready for a small increase to 2.5. I want to see more beautiful blues!!![]()
I hear ya. It's scary when they first start getting into lower numbers. Ultimately we want her to spend some of her day in the blues and dark green numbers.Simply because I was scared that she'd drop too low. Nighttime new injection site.
I hindsight I could have given her the shot in her neck and not been afraid she'd drop. Then she could have stayed on the 2.25.
I hate those highs too. Simply awful. And completely my fault. I know better now.
However she's holding her number fine today. It would be awesome if the number was blue, since it isn't, I'm just glad its holding and not rising.
I think my anxiety plays a role here. I worry about the low, and more comfortable with the high, yellow. And I know its wrong. Im working on it. I know she won't die from being in the blue. I know blue is best. But then I panic.
I wish I knew what it feels like
I'm actually going to the doctor tomorrow. To check my own longterm BG.
One positive thing about our sugarcats.. we can test our own BG at home![]()
You mean don't wait the 5-6 cycles?So let's get that dose back to 2.25. We want to work that number closer to 100 to get into those healing numbers.
I wouldn't wait... Your cat was far from the numbers where we would say he earned a reduction. Normal on a human meter is 50-120 your cat only got to 151 so still above normal. I wouldn't reduce unless low into those dark green numbers. You hold the syringe though so it's your call.You mean don't wait the 5-6 cycles?
I'll do the 2,25U tomorrow morning!I wouldn't wait... Your cat was far from the numbers where we would say he earned a reduction. Normal on a human meter is 50-120 your cat only got to 151 so still above normal. I wouldn't reduce unless low into those dark green numbers. You hold the syringe though so it's your call.
Whenever you are around to test again the 2.5 sounds like a good idea.She's lower but not low enough.
When do I raise?
I'd call this the resting *****face![]()