massive bounces and frustration

The Admiral and Ashes

Member Since 2020
hi all. the admiral is 1.5 years into his diagnosis. there was a good 3 months or so last year when i thought he was doing so well i considered he might be in remission. i jinxed it.

he's routinely in the high 300's one day and then a spate of lows out of the blue. lately his numbers will be crazy high all day until right before dinner when they'll drop off. he's super sensitive to small changes in blood glucose and insulin dosage. he shows symptoms of low bg around 80. i know that's a good number and not worth worrying about, but he's not normal. 70'-80's are clearly uncomfortable for him.
if i give him his usual dose if he's lower than 150 he will fall to the 70's within 2 hours. poor guy's ears are like hamburger with me testing him so often, and i am exhausted getting up every few hours on nights he's going low.
usual dose is 1.5u if it's near 150 or close i'll do a fat 1.25u and if it's been hours after eating and he's still only 100-110 i will do 1u. i never had this issue with dosing. if anything he was pretty steady at 1.75-2u (i wasn't able to imput his spreadsheet numbers for quite a while last year. i have it all in his book and am slowly filling it in online.)

i feel like he's either dangerously high or heading towards a low. am i making it worse by altering his dose at all? should i just do a fat 1.25 and leave it at that for a week and see how that goes? any thoughts would be helpful.
thanks
 
I think 1.5 units might be a better dose, but it's hard to tell cause I haven't seen six cycles in a row on it since 1/24.
am i making it worse by altering his dose at all?
If you want to follow TR, then follow it. Don't change doses based on preshots. It means shooting the same dose unless he earns a reduction, or he's been long enough on a dose (max 10 cycles) and the dose isn't giving you what you want. Experienced people shooting TR have no problem shooting greens. We call shooting green a gift. It most often gives you a nice flat cycle. Lantus is great at grabbing onto lower numbers and keeping them flat.

Try holding 1.5 units, unless he earns a reduction, for 10 cycles, and he doesn't flatten out he may need to go up to 1.75 units. The goal is to get him primarily in blues and greens.

My Neko was a champion bouncer, took her a year to finally ditch the reds. :rolleyes: My nickname for her was the Rainbow Queen. Only by getting her to a dose where she'd spend long hours in normal numbers did she finally flatten out.
 
thanks for the response. if i give him his full dose when he's lower than 100 he tanks quickly. we had a few times in the fall where we went down to the low 50's. i am scared to give him the full 1.5 on days like that. like this morning pre shot he was 379. he got his full dose. now at +10 he is 79. (like i said, he shows symptoms of lows at around 80. he gets wobbly legged and dozy) if he doesn't make it up well past 100 at his pmps i don't feel comfortable giving him a full 1.5. there were a few times in the last couple of weeks it took a good 3 hours after eating to get to a safe number to get his shot. is that the right way i should be doing it? waiting? or give him the full dose regardless and testing frequently to make sure he's ok?
thank you
 
if i give him his full dose when he's lower than 100 he tanks quickly.
Can you give me examples/date when he did that? You used to shoot green numbers last year and he mostly went up or was flat after shooting green. What do you consider a "safe number" to give a shot?

Today is a classic bounce breaking cycle. What is your feeding pattern on a day like today? Just wondering if there is a way to get him to level out and give you a more comfy (for you) preshot number.
 
Back
Top