Mason - prozinc dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes I did. I'm testing, giving food, and shooting relatively close to each other. I'll test again at 4 hours to see how it looks. If he's basically flat at 4 hours like previous day it might be a decent number in the morning.
 
Sorry for the late post. I got home late this evening. If you get a +3 or +4 that looks typical tonight, I think you could do the increase in the morning (assuming also a typical AMPS) and be safe. Always up to you though if you are comfortable with that.
 
448 +4 so 30 point move and 50 point drop from prior day. I think keeping it the same in the AM if the AMPS is less than 287 makes sense. He is moving in the right direction on 1.5u. I'm guessing +6 he'd be at 428 and in the AMPS looking for a 250-270 number. If that is where he is at I'll hold, if above i'll consider a 1.75u
 
Good move. Increasing the dose in small increments and tracking with systematic BG testing is the way to get ahead. You're doing well! :)
 
Yep, I think the increase was good and if needed...you can definitely go up to 2 next!
 
332 PMPS so that is a good sign. The shot though felt like some came out but is hard to tell since he has so much hair. Hopefully most of it went in though.
 
The shot though felt like some came out but is hard to tell since he has so much hair. Hopefully most of it went in though.
Just never re-shoot :). I started parting Maury's fur to expose the skin line so I could see the needle go in better. He actually hasn't meowed the past couple days when getting his shot (antijinx)
 
You might want to make a note on your spreadsheet that this dose might have been a fur shot. That way when looking for patterns you can know to disregard this cycle.
 
482 AMPS, so yeah definitely had a bad shot last night. As for the feeding more last night? He had already had 4 cans of food for the day so probably just related to the shot.
 
In the U section for last night, change it to FS = fur shot. I still don't think the 482 AMPS is terrible from last nights PMPS 382. May have gotten a little bit in him, which is why we say never to re-shoot ;). Does Mason need to gain any weight?
 
Oh, that's great to see! I always think that anytime you get a 50% drop, it's a good cycle! It looks like Mason might be hitting nadir on the later part of the normal range. Any chance tomorrow you could aim for a +6 and a +8 to check that? (It's okay if your schedule doesn't allow it - but at some point...)
 
146 +10, might be looking at cutting the dose back to 1.0 tonight... I have to pickup my wife at the airport at 11pm so won't be around to monitor until 12:30am or so. see how it is in another hour and a half. If it hasn't risen any I can feed and check after an hour or two to see if a small dose or just skip?
 
Going from 482 to 146 is a pretty big drop. You may end up with a bounce to a high number in the next two hours, in which case the regular dose will be fine, but I agree if you're still in low numbers You'll need to reduce. Mason's numbers have been high enough that I would avoid skipping if at all possible.

Depending on how much time you have to play with, if Mason is still low at shot time, you can stall without feeding for 20 minutes and test again to see if the number is rising or still falling.

When is the airport time in relation to your usual shot time?
 
Hmmm....that is tricky. I understand the thinking about wanting to reduce a little since you'll be gone from +2.5 to +6. He's still in really safe numbers, so let's see what the PMPS shows. If he ends up at a normal number for him (over 300), I think the 1.75u would still be very safe, but if he's lower, then a bit of a reduction might help you feel better about leaving.
 
That is a really curious cycle. I hate skipping doses, especially since his normal numbers are so high. But with this little data, we would usually say to skip on that low of a number. From the +10 shot, it doesn't even look like he's started rising yet from the cycle. Even though it's going to leave him in high numbers later, I just can't comfortably recommend shooting. If you are comfortable with it and want to, you certainly can shoot either of those doses, but make sure you get a +2 test before you leave for the airport, and leave him with food to eat.
 
I agree, I would recommend skipping at that level, considering how little data we have on him at this point.
 
That's the thing with those wonky pre-shots: It's usually fine to stick with the regular dose....except for when it isn't. And at the beginning, it's really up to the comfort and skill of the human in charge in case things do go south. The +1 can be a food spike, so it's good you're planning to get a later test to be safe.

Today's AM cycle lasted a bit too long, but it is so good to see Mason getting down to those lower numbers! You're doing a great job!
 
Sorry the flight is delayed! Late night for you guys!

It looks like the insulin from the AM shot lasted 13-14 hours which is curious, especially after a fur shot last night. What is your day looking like tomorrow? I'm inclined to suggest that you stick with the 1.75u dose again, but monitor. Of course, that completely depends on him giving you a decent AMPS. :) How long ago did he start eating just the FF? Is he eating anything else?
 
Fany feast only was started on april 27th. I'll be around tomorrow so I'll have more ability to check than I did today. I'll see what it is in the morning and make an estimate between 0.5 tonight and 1.75 prior.
 
So about nine days ago...looks like the diet change is sitting well with him!

Here's what I'm thinking: Sometimes a long cycle (lasting more than 12 hours, or a very late nadir) is just one of those things and doesn't mean anything. The next cycles will all be completely normal. Other times a long cycle is an indication that the dose is too high.

The numbers you've been getting (reds and blacks with little change at nadir) would indicate that today's cycle is just random. However, the recent change from high carb to low carb food is a significant factor and can, in some cats, lead to rapid drops in BG numbers, which might indicate that today's cycle is not random and does mean that the dose is too high.

Lacking a crystal ball, I don't know which one it is. Only time will tell. You're still in higher numbers, so assuming a regular AMPS, if you decide to reduce in the morning, I wouldn't drop too far. The more time he spends below 200, the more chance his pancreas has to heal.
 
359 at +4 so really predictable pattern even with the lower dose. Wife's flight is delayed 4 hours and switching planes now. Probably going to just go to bed in a couple hours, have her get a hotel, and get her in the morning.
 
381 AMPS so went with 1.5 units. Wife's flight was delayed so much that I have to pick her up from the hotel in a few hours. I won't be able to track things today like I thought until later.
 
I was going to say something along the lines of what Kris said. Hard to say how this 1.5U is effecting Mason because it's probably a bounce cycle :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top