Mary Dosing thoughts?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah Smith

Member Since 2016
Morning all!

I am trying to figure out a dose for Mary this morning, I've already started off poorly with her. I did not do a PM dose last night, The vet starting her at the clinic messed up all the timing and she was 104 at +8.5. 2 hours before AMPS she was 231. I did have to give her some food, syringe fed 10ml of RC recovery. she is on her IV right now, so trying to get a gameplan for insulin. Vet started on 1u, which dropped her from 512 to 138 at +6. I will not be home to test, and mom wont learn how to do it.... I figure 1u will probably be too much, but was hoping for some input.

Thanks!
 
It may be too late, but I think 0.5u would be safe. You don't really want her to have no insulin when she's fighting ketones.
 
Sorry, will explain in a bit, no insulin this morning, PMPS is 373, it is an hour after I had scheduled to do her PM.... going to do .5u, I only have full unit syringes.... she is still not eating on her own, syringe fed her 10ml of RC recovery
 
Pooping yes, she was given something at the vet, but Im not sure its helping. Honestly just walked in the door, scooped her up, tested/fed posted. Will .5 be too much u think? just found some U-100's for smaller dosing
 
So - no insulin last night or this AM, correct? You'll have to eyeball the 0.5 u dose as carefully as you can. It's possible she might end up needing 0.75 u so if you can find some U40 syringes with half unit marks they'll help. I think they can be ordered from adwdiabetes.com.
 
syringe fed her 10ml of RC recovery
May I enquire as to the brand and model name of the syringes you're using for feeding, Sarah and also where you get them (a link would be great if you have one).

A Swedish member needs to assist feed her kitty for the foreseeable future and she's being charged > USD$ 7 a pop for a 10ml syringe. (Feeding via mouth, not tube.) I'd welcome any suggestions or advice you can offer.


Mogs
.
 
Pooping yes, she was given something at the vet, but Im not sure its helping
I suggest keeping a close eye on frequency and consistency of bowel movements. The last thing you need is constipation and worsening nausea going on on top of everything else.


Mogs
.
 
Thanks to you as well Kris! Mogs, sorry I cant help much with the syringes, The brand is Nipro and they are 11ml. My vet gave them to me, I need a few more and will inquire with her tomorrow. I wound up erring on the side of caution and giving her on the low side of .5, I dont have half unit syringes and did not have the U-100 conversion until after I shot.... She was 373 PMPS, is 372 at .5. I was running late tonight, had to go feed the feral colony I care for behimd my old house. I did not make it to them yesterday with Mary's vet visit and the weather is so cold right now I was scared not to get them some food. Forgot yesterday that there will be 3 days a week I will probably have to shoot PM doses a little late due to this. Monday, Wed and Friday...
 
Wanted to clear the air about this morning, then its time to feed Me and my other furry family. Too many mouths around here! Have mine, 3 outside not quite feral (I can work them to a point) and 14 in a colony behind the house I moved from this summer I wish I could relocate here....
I know I should have given a dose this morning but I did not feel safe doing it. My mom does not know how to test, I am trying to get her to at least let me show her, she may be coming around slowly. With her on antibiotics, not eating not having any history of how she'd react to any dose except a 400 pt drop at +6 the day before. Also my strips were expired and I had no HC food in the house..... I just didnt feel safe with the whole situation. I just hope I made the right call!
 
Wanted to clear the air about this morning, then its time to feed Me and my other furry family. Too many mouths around here! Have mine, 3 outside not quite feral (I can work them to a point) and 14 in a colony behind the house I moved from this summer I wish I could relocate here....
I know I should have given a dose this morning but I did not feel safe doing it. My mom does not know how to test, I am trying to get her to at least let me show her, she may be coming around slowly. With her on antibiotics, not eating not having any history of how she'd react to any dose except a 400 pt drop at +6 the day before. Also my strips were expired and I had no HC food in the house..... I just didnt feel safe with the whole situation. I just hope I made the right call!
You were caught between a rock and a hard place ... Have you been able to get urine ketone test strips?
 
Bought some new Ketone strips and test strips today Kris :) Now to catch her in the act! I have a homemade litterbox in the crate with her, hoping the fluids will make her go, they did last night. She looks so frail right now its scarey.... I need to update my profile pic, I still have Cooter up there, but have to find a good one for it. trying to remember, 2 hrs PS is when to start watching correct? she actually went up to 398 at +1.5, and I do need to get some more food into her shortly....

Edit: She just dropped to 314 at +2, so away we go!
 
Last edited:
Bought some new Ketone strips and test strips today Kris :) Now to catch her in the act! I have a homemade litterbox in the crate with her, hoping the fluids will make her go, they did last night. She looks so frail right now its scarey.... I need to update my profile pic, I still have Cooter up there, but have to find a good one for it. trying to remember, 2 hrs PS is when to start watching correct? she actually went up to 398 at +1.5, and I do need to get some more food into her shortly....

Edit: She just dropped to 314 at +2, so away we go!
ProZinc’s onset is about 2 to 3 hours after the shot and the nadir is about 5 to 7 hours after.
 
You have to do what you feel i s right. That's a tough spot to be in...know that we aren't going to judge you here, Sarah! We just worry about all our kitties here and when we don't hear an update, we tend to question what's going on! Please do let us know once you get a ketone test...I'm hoping that her ketones have come down!
 
Thanks Rachel :) I had forgot my phone yesterday morning so couldnt read/post anything all day, Glad yesterday is done! AMPS was 332, syringe fed her 10ml of RC recovery and gave her 1u. I have not been able to get a ketone test, and am dropping her at the vets this morning. I'm hoping the can get a test and give her something for neausea and appetite.
 
Ok, pretty much settled now so can type for a few while I eat. Doc wants to drop Mary down to .5 BID for now. I dont have any half unit syringes, so did .4 with a U100 (1u as marked on the U100 syringe). Came home with mirtazapine, which I had, but wasnt sure it was actually good, it was from awhile back. Also got some Metoclopramide, which I've never used before, and feedback is most appreciated! Her potassium is still pretty low, Vet thinks this is making Mary neauseas (I cant spell!). changed her fluids from Plasma-lyte A 200mls a day to 9% Saline with Potassium added 150ml a day. She is also still on the clavamox, and has been sniffling a little since last night. She does look better today though, was bright eyed when I picked her up, so I know we arent out of the woods, but feeling better about her situation!
 
May I enquire as to the brand and model name of the syringes you're using for feeding, Sarah and also where you get them (a link would be great if you have one).

A Swedish member needs to assist feed her kitty for the foreseeable future and she's being charged > USD$ 7 a pop for a 10ml syringe. (Feeding via mouth, not tube.) I'd welcome any suggestions or advice you can offer.


Mogs
.
Mogs,
Sorry I didnt get this info for you yesterday, its been a LOONG WEEK! Got another syringe for feeding today so i could get a look at the package. They are leur slip tips, small for getting in little mouths. Foind 100 for $17 on amazon.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01JJYDFHM/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 

Attachments

  • 20180118_164523.jpg
    20180118_164523.jpg
    57.2 KB · Views: 169
Found a good pic from a few months ago, before we moved. She always has the quirkiest looks! I will work on the spreadsheet this evening Kris, will try to get her numbers from the vet, they've had her during the day almost all week.
 
Wanted to give a update and take a minute to thank everyone who has been helping us through the beginning of this!
Mary is slowly coming back to her normal self. Yesterday and today she has been much perkier, talking to me more, wandering around the house, and is drinking a bit today. She absolutely would not sit still for her afternoon fluids, so we did half and will rotate in another short session to make up the difference. She is still getting 150ml of Saline with potassium a day through the weekend. Her labs looked alot better yesterday, though her electrolytes are still a bit out of balance. I added yesterdays labs to her spreadsheet, Mondays are there as well if anyone wants a glance. Wish I knew more about interpreting them, I rely on the red (high) and green (low) color codes on the printout.
Now for the part I am a not proud of.... her numbers. Thursday is bare... she was staying in the 100's all day at the vet Thursday (still need to get the numbers) and the vet was thinking maybe sge osnt diabetic, but with her bloodwork so out of wack and some sort of infection it threw her glucose way up. She asked me not to give Mary any insulin Thursday night or Friday morning. I opted to go with that... by the time she got to the vet Friday she was high again. All the numbers from yesterday except AM +10 are vet numbers. Once again she was in the mid 100's all day. Vet suggested she may only need 1 dose a day. She was still mid 100's come PM time, so I decided to give the one dose theory a try. This morning she was 456.... I will not be doing either of these again! I did .5 units, which did not bring her down to the 100's, but looks like we will have a number that is not scarey to give .5 too this evening. Here is Mary sitting on the cat tree a little while ago, she is definately feeling better, and hopefully I have had my stupid decisions quota filled the last few days and we can get her feeling normal again!
 

Attachments

  • 20180120_133955.jpg
    20180120_133955.jpg
    61.8 KB · Views: 165
She ate!! Well, kind of :) She licked off a bit of some Sheba whitefish and tuna Pate. its not enough to help pre insulin though. shes at 228 PMPS, thinking .2 will be better based on Thursday mornings numbers which were close to the same...
 
She ate!! Well, kind of :) She licked off a bit of some Sheba whitefish and tuna Pate. its not enough to help pre insulin though. shes at 228 PMPS, thinking .2 will be better based on Thursday mornings numbers which were close to the same...
I suggest you try 0.2 u and get a +2 test to see where she's headed. In the early days of data gathering almost every dose is an experiment. At some point it would be good to find a moderate dose that you can give both AM and PM for a few days in a row to see if she'll settle. Too much dose hopping can increase the ups and downs in her BG readings.
 
I suggest you try 0.2 u and get a +2 test to see where she's headed. In the early days of data gathering almost every dose is an experiment. At some point it would be good to find a moderate dose that you can give both AM and PM for a few days in a row to see if she'll settle. Too much dose hopping can increase the ups and downs in her BG readings.
I'm hoping to settle in at .2 AM and PM. I screwed up this week with the PM misses, which raised her AM's, needing the .5's. hoping the dose tonight will keep her AM at a decent number tomorrow that we can dose at .2 again..... but lets see if the numbers cooperate tonight :cat:
Edit: Forgot to mention, Negative Ketone strip!
 
One of our general recommendations for ProZinc dosing is to keep a dose for three cycles to evaluate it. If it doesn't seem to be quite high enough, raise it a little bit after three cycles. If you think Mary has recovered enough of her appetite and the numbers this cycle and next permit, you could try 0.4 u tomorrow AM. We want to keep ketones at bay. Are you dosing the ProZinc with U100 syringes and the conversion chart?
 
Last edited:
Yep, using U100's and the chart. Slight snag with raising... Shes at 100 +4 with no appetite... have gravy and a syringe if it comes down to it, just trying not to panic too early and sabotage this cycle. will be checking again in 15min at +4.5
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top