? Martini - more info and how to proceed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SMM

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/first-curve-finished.178779/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/first-curve-finished.178779/
Martini did have that 6.3 (114) on June 1st - that's when I shot .75 or thereabouts as my syringes don't show 1/4 notches. It scared me.
I may have stressed her yesterday morning with testing as she is not used to more than two a day.
I did increase her to 1.75 (1.50+) as I put in spreadsheet after yesterday's curve. I don't know if I did incorrectly or not now.
My job is tech support and I am on call in the evenings when I get paged a LOT and then I'm too pooped to start testing. I can slip home during the week for a few minutes sometimes also - therefore the random tests. Will definitely try.
One ear she absolutely will not let me touch at all now. Further testing has been done on the other poor ear. Will get some of the other medicine. Am I doing alright in dosing?
Thank you all!
 
@Doodles & Karen - that 14 is not right. On the World SS, there is a 14.1 at that cell in the SS.

If you haven't tried the Polysporin Complete I suggested, do give it a try. I found it worked quite well.

Thanks for the details on your shift work. That sounds hard. Sometimes even a +2 if you can do it, will provide good detail on what is happening on the evening cycle.

Since you are following SLGS, you should have stayed with the same dose because of the 113 you got, meaning nadirs under 150. Since you did increase and it's the weekend, I hope you can monitor closely.
 
The 14.1 is correct on my World spreadsheet (250) I don't know why the US spreadsheet shows incorrectly.
I just bought the Polysporin complete - that one ear now has a small patch of missing fur on the top. I put the lotion on the sweet spot and the missing fur. Don't understand why it is a bald patch tho. Evening noted!
I panicked with the 113, and not being familiar as you pros! :) are. She is fine up to now (except for the ear!) What dose then should I proceed with now?

Thank you!!
 
I feel just horrible now giving her the lower dosage that day. I upped my 1.5 dose to 1.75 yesterday according to the Management of Diabetic Cats Acrobat file. What does the AMPS 113 have to do with the 2 days later nadir 210? Am I reading this incorrectly? Oh my this is so frustrating. I am just so confused with all this. One step forward I go and it seems 5 back. :banghead:
:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
How should I proceed? Please help me out of this hole I've dug Martini deeper into...

Thank you!!!
 
Last edited:
Think of the nadir as the lowest point in the cycle. It can vary. On Lantus, I spotted Neko's nadir between +3.5 and +13. When looking at dosing, you want to answer the question "how low can this dose take my kitty". If it's below 150 and you are following SLGS, you hold the dose, or stay the same dose. Reductions are earned at 90, 113 isn't far off of that, so a dose getting him to 113 doesn't leave much room for an increase. I would go back to 1.5 units and pull on the patience pants.
 
Thank you so much! I have tons of patience for her, just absolutely no comprehension of what to shoot at any given BG level. She is my 'soulkitty' and I would blow up the moon for her! I read stuff here in the 'files' and try to follow and I'm getting screwed up following those and yous guys directions. Will definitely shoot 1.5 and not a speck more tomorrow morning, going forward. She's hiding now - too many places to get into (which I will have to stop)
ps. found out my other kitty Penny (colony kitty) must have swiped her ear as it sure looks like two claw marks.

Thank you once more Wendy! Have a lovely evening/night.
 
You are posting here, which is proof you will go that extra mile for your kitty. :bighug:

At some point Martini's dose needs may change, and you may have to go up, but not at this point.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top