Martha's BGs Look GOOD

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hosanna

Member Since 2012
At least they look good to me.
Okay, listen up folks. Here's a re-cap of Martha's BGs today so far.
9 am pre-shot -194
1 unit Lantus insulin (Vet had prescribed 2 units based on yesterday morning's reading of 291.
All morning she has had only Fancy Feast wet food.
2 pm - 137
I am at this moment letting her have some Hills M/D Dry, about 1/16th of a cup.
Will follow up around 9 pm tonight. Depending on what her BG is at that time, I might or might not give her insulin.
I AM DOING THE HAPPY DANCE!!!!! And Martha feels just GREAT!
Thank you, thank you for all your help so far!!!!
 
That does look good- did you just start on the lantus? 2 units for a new diagnosis is a lot of insulin- feeding the dry will counter-act the drop but once you get a few days of testing in you can drop the dry and see her numbers decrease even more and that should indicate a decrease in her dose as well. Just remember, the high carbs you are feeding her will probably shoot up her numbers so we don't want to change the dose based on that. Lantus is best when you keep the dose steady.

Are you able to do a spreadsheet? Here are instructions:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

That way when you asking for advice we can look at the SS for what has been going on.
 
I put up a post on the lantus board to see if some of the more schooled lantus folks could come over and give you some advice.

It sounds like Martha is improving! I know its tough at first, but it does get a little more routine as time passes. Don't give up hope. I never thought it was possible, but my Ruby ended up off of insulin and diet controlled about 4 months after her diagnosis thanks to the change over to all canned food and the hours of advice I received here. You've come to the right place.
 
I am really reticent to make any suggestions without benefit of a few days worth of numbers. Even if you don't opt to complete a spreadsheet, providing the pre-shot numbers and tests and the times you got the spot checks, will help.
 
This morning, Martha's BG is 278. Yesterday morning it was 194, Same time of day, after fasting four hours. Her nadir yesterday, at 2 pm, was 137. At 9 pm it was 224. I gave her 1 unit, not the 2 units the vet prescribed. Since her glucose went up instead of down>>>does that mean I should have given her 2 units last night instead of 1?
I am trying to get the spread sheet.
 
No, you did the right thing giving the one unit. You will want to keep the dose the same for several days and give the dose time to settle in. Try not to get hung up on the numbers. What you are trying to do is collect data so that you can see patterns in the numbers.
If you see a number below 200 at shot time, hold off on shooting and ask for advice.
Carl
 
Another BG for Martha

This afternoon's was 265 just a little lower than the morning's 278. Not looking as good as yesterday. :oops:
 
That's okay, like I said, you are just trying to gather data at this point. Let me help you with the SS...

In the column titled "U", that is where you put the dose information, so on today's line, you can put a 1.0 in that column.
You only need to use one row per day, so putting the times on the left-hand side isn't necessary. Since we all live in different time zones around the world, all you really need to do is count how many hours it has been since the shot, and then put the BG number in the corresponding column across the row. So, today's AMPS number goes in the AMPS column (that would be the test you got just before you gave her the insulin) , and then if you get a test 3 hours later, or whenever, you would put that BG number in the "+3" column. What matters is how many hours it has been since the shot, not the specific time in your time zone.
Does that help?

Carl
 
AMPS- that is the AM Pre-Shot test result. The test you took just before giving insulin this morning.
PMPS would be the same, the preshot number just before the evening shot, 12 hours after the morning shot.

Carl
 
Re: Martha's SpreadSheet

Thanks! Now look and see if her spreadsheet is coming through okay.
 
Yes, it works great! Good job getting it set up. It is going to be a valuable tool in figuring this "dance" out.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top