Hosanna
Member Since 2012
Will try to give you a bit more information about Martha.
1. She was officially diagnosed July 3, 2012. So we are really new! Her BG at diagnosis was 384. Fructosamine was 455 (142-450 range)
2. She is on Lantus. She started at 1 unit on July 5.
3. July 9 BG was 355
4. July 17 --BG was 315 on my home monitor, 297 at the vet's. Increased Lantus to 2 units bid
5. July 22 - BG was 297 on my home monitor-- Increased Lantus to 3 units bid
6. August 5 BG was 278 on home monitor. Increased Lantus to 4 units bid
She is eating primarily both wet and dry Hills M/D, especially formulated for Diabetes. I give her some other foods, such as Fancy Feast, to get her medicines in her. She will NOT be pilled. I am working to get her off Dry altogether but it's slow coming. She is "addicted" to dry kibble. Getting her diet straightened out my goal right now. I believe this can be controlled with diet to get her off the insulin.
It's getting increasingly difficult to give her injections because there are so few places to stick a needle in. Plus she is fighting me more and more on injections. She seems, however, to have settled down and understand the Lantus injections.
MEDICINES: Additionally, she gets budesonide for IBD; benazapril, lasix, baby aspirin (5 mg every 3 days) for HCM; amlodipine for BP; 5 mg Prozac for behavior issues;
SUPPLEMENTS: COQ10 for heart, Potassium, 1500-2000 mcg B12 daily for Neuropathy--She had a BAD case of neuropathy, which is why I took her in and when she was diagnosed with DM, but it is getting a little better now)
I hope this information helps you to help me help Martha. THANK YOU!!!!!
1. She was officially diagnosed July 3, 2012. So we are really new! Her BG at diagnosis was 384. Fructosamine was 455 (142-450 range)
2. She is on Lantus. She started at 1 unit on July 5.
3. July 9 BG was 355
4. July 17 --BG was 315 on my home monitor, 297 at the vet's. Increased Lantus to 2 units bid
5. July 22 - BG was 297 on my home monitor-- Increased Lantus to 3 units bid
6. August 5 BG was 278 on home monitor. Increased Lantus to 4 units bid
She is eating primarily both wet and dry Hills M/D, especially formulated for Diabetes. I give her some other foods, such as Fancy Feast, to get her medicines in her. She will NOT be pilled. I am working to get her off Dry altogether but it's slow coming. She is "addicted" to dry kibble. Getting her diet straightened out my goal right now. I believe this can be controlled with diet to get her off the insulin.
It's getting increasingly difficult to give her injections because there are so few places to stick a needle in. Plus she is fighting me more and more on injections. She seems, however, to have settled down and understand the Lantus injections.
MEDICINES: Additionally, she gets budesonide for IBD; benazapril, lasix, baby aspirin (5 mg every 3 days) for HCM; amlodipine for BP; 5 mg Prozac for behavior issues;
SUPPLEMENTS: COQ10 for heart, Potassium, 1500-2000 mcg B12 daily for Neuropathy--She had a BAD case of neuropathy, which is why I took her in and when she was diagnosed with DM, but it is getting a little better now)
I hope this information helps you to help me help Martha. THANK YOU!!!!!