Marshmellow AMPS 395/305 ? SLGS protocol to begin shortly

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marshmellow & Steve

Member Since 2015
Upset with myself, got home from work late 1 AM EST, played with Marshy and Lizzy (non-diabetic adopted sister) for about 45 minutes, but Marshy was very adamant she would not come near me. Tried bribing with treats also to no avail, finally ended up going to bed frustrated and disappointed. I suppose I should have woke my wife up, but I figure one of us should be able to sleep. Have a good day folks, have to reread some posts later as I want to increase Marshy's Lantus Monday, as I'll be home and able to do a good curve and watch for drops.
 
If you're following SLGS, increasing on Monday is fine. The only thought I have is that you might not see much on Monday since it can take several cycles for the depot to adjust to the increased dose. You might want to consider increasing tonight or tomorrow.
 
With Furball, a dose increase usually doesn't show up in her BG's until at least the next day. You'll learn Marshmellow's patterns as you go along. I agree with Sienne, You may want to increase a little early if you want to see it reflected in her numbers on Monday. Maybe try increasing tonight. Since you'll be off on Monday, you should be able to get at least one spot check on Sunday night if you need to.
 
I was thinking Monday because I have most of Tuesday (physical therapy at 2)available and part of Wednesday available (work at 7 PM, but my wife is home at night). I think I will try tomorrow, Hopefully she doesn't drop too fast. I work at 7PM, but my wife is home so she can monitor. Let me read both protocols again to familiarize myself with them, I think I will probably go with the SLGS, but will post which I am using. Will rename this post when I am sure. Thanks.
 
Have been following this post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-help-with-shooting-with-lower-number.136414/ to get an idea of what people have been recommending. I am thinking of starting the SLGS method. Looking at the protocols, there doesn't appear to major differences, other than how the increase and decreases are managed and fine tuning dosages. If I get Marshy regulated fairly well with the SLGS, can I adopt the TR protocol from there? I have ordered syringes with 0.5 makings and also an electronic caliper. I am going to wait for them to arrive, before changing the dose, especially since unable to get nadir last night and one mistake earlier in the cycle d/t syringe error.
 
Yes, you can switch from either one to the other. I will be honest and say that in a situation where the person can test enough, the TR protocol is better, IN MY OPINION. So no one (I'm not talking to you, Steve) needs to jump on me for expressing my opinion, please. It allows for dose increases every 3 days (6 cycles). SLGS has you hold the dose for an entire week - 14 cycles, then do a curve and based upon the curve adjust the dose. Once a week. That's a long time to sit on a dose that isn't getting a cat into good numbers.

SLGS is fine for people who can't test - you obviously can. SLGS is the only dosing option for cats eating dry food. You're not in that situation either. The Tight Reg protocol is the only dosing protocol for using Lantus/Lev that has been published in a professional veterinary journal. Those are some things for you to consider.

The thread you've been reading isn't a particularly typical situation. I wouldn't apply it to your situation.

Whichever you choose is fine and we'll help you move ahead with things.

By the way, if you can vary the times you test it can really help fill out the picture. Sometimes people have the idea that all cats have their nadir (low point in the cycle) at +6. That isn't true - it can vary tremendously depending on the cat. And even when a cat is typically around a particular time, that can change from one cycle to another.

If you think of the spreadsheet as a jigsaw puzzle, you can see why a sprinkling of tests throughout the spreadsheet can show more of the picture of what's going on than just a stripe down the middle, or just the edge pieces. You don't have to test MORE, just vary up the times you do test. You're testing plenty - for Tight Reg the suggestion is both preshots and at least one mid-cycle (anytime not at preshot) per day is enough to get a pretty good idea of what's going on and usually enough to make dosing decisions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top