Marshmellow AMPS 221/183

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marshmellow & Steve

Member Since 2015
Good morning everyone. the 221/183 is AT/Relion, as I am switching meters. Thank you for all the advice! Marshmellow made it fine through yesterday's minor mishap fine. After some reading, I also wonder if it might not have been a fur shot also? One question for today, I have been feeding her BID, would I be better off feeding her 4x daily with the same amount of food (e.g. 1/2 the amout each feeding)? I feed her FF 1 can at each feeding, occasionally 1/2 can Friskey's, always under 7 carbs per Dr Lisa's list.
 
If you are able to, feeding smaller meals throughout the day is better for their pancreas. Some people buy a timed feeder to help spread the meals out because their cats will eat all the food right away. I just leave food out for Furball when I go to work and let her graze throughout the day. Because I have more than one cat, a timed feeder most likely wouldn't work. It is a good idea to pick up any food if you are home by +10 so the PS test is not food influenced.
 
Thanks, I feed canned food, so I put it out for the girls twice a day, but was thinking of spreading it out a little. Especially since Marshmellow is a chow hound. She'll gobble down whatever and however much I put down, then she'll try to eat Lizzy's also.
 
I used to spread it out throughout the day too, for the most part. Mannie got the bulk of his food at PS, +1, +2, and then small amounts during the day. He was such a diver, dropped quickly that front loading the cycle with food helped even out his BG's. I do believe however that they do better overall with food offerings throughout the day.

Very nice to read that Marshmallow made it through yesterday OK. What a relief I am sure.

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Hi Steve!

Here's your post from yesterday. We link our previous posts so that people who are helping can go back and see the rest of the story if they need to.

It's a good idea for a diabetic to eat more than twice a day. If she'd just graze at it, then it might work to set down the food and leave it. But for a cat that eats it all the moment that you set it down, it's helpful to divide the food up. I fed punkin 1 can of fancy feast at preshot and 1/2 can at +3 in both cycles. He weighed about 13 lbs.

I'm going to suggest that you switch entirely to the Relion for the tests on the spreadsheet. Those of us who try to help with dosing rely on the numbers and the colors of the spreadsheet to assess what's going on. With 2 rows for each day, plus the colors from both tests it's going to be really hard to figure out what's up when you need help.

Not sure if you're thinking of increasing the dose yet or not, but just in case, I'm looking at the green 73AT on 4/12 and thinking with the dose mix-up, I"d just hold this dose for a few more days. Personally, I'd probably reassess it on the 16th or 17th, 3-4 days after the dose error.
 
Hi Steve:
Glad you found us over here! I feed Jack 4 times a day 1/2 can of Friskies each feeding. I always feed between +1 and +9 so the readings are not food influenced. Some days Jack thinks he is being starved but I laugh. It works better for me and him to feed this way.
 
I know what you mean about being starved. Poor Marshmellow devours her food as soon I put it down. Thanks, soon as I have her slightly better under control, I will try doing that. I just want to get her stable first.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top