? Marshmellow 4/22 AMPS 234 Increasing dose? Bounce yesterday. Hanging blue now. Bounced again????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marshmellow & Steve

Member Since 2015
Bounced yesterday, (4/21 condo), per advice going to increase her dose to 1.25 today and see where we go from here. Hopefully we can get her used to lower numbers. Also decreasing food by half, but going to feed her 4x instead of 2. Should I feed by her numbers?
 
I know it doesn't make sense when we see those high bounces that increasing the dose will flatten them out, but it does work. It took me a while to learn that.

I would suggest feeding according to the schedule you want to set and then when you catch low numbers, you can give her food to keep her surfing or bring her up. As you go along, you'll learn her patterns and when extra food may be needed. You can always adjust her feeding schedule later if you find some other feeding times work better.
 
A couple of thoughts....

It would have been useful to get at least one test during yesterday's PM cycle. You're seeing a lower AMPS today and you have no way of knowing how much Marshmellow's numbers dropped over night. We try to encourage getting at least a before bed test every night. Some kitties really like to go low during the PM cycle.

I discourage people from increasing the dose at the same time a bounce is breaking. Given you don't know for sure that the bounce stopped last night, there can be a fair amount of momentum occurring when a bounce breaks. If you increase the dose, there's always the possibility that the increase has an immediate effect (vs. waiting for the depot to catch up to the increased dose) and further adds to the momentum. If that happens, it could be a busy cycle. It looks like you've gotten a +2 and so far, all looks pretty calm. You just may want to tuck this information away for the future.
 
Me and the wife worked overnight last night, so unfortunately no +6. I was worried about increasing after the bounce because reading the protocol it says it could take 3 days to clear, but that was the info I was given yesterday and why I included a link to yesterdays condo. I will watch Marshmellow closely today. Now that I've have increased, should I keep at 1.25 and watch how she does? Thanks.
 
Good luck with the dosecrease. I always wait at least one cycle to see what happens after the bounce clears. Max often has a delayed reaction at that point as do many. I feed Max mini meals and adjust the amounts of carbs based upon how much he is dropping. If he starts to get low then I feed higher carbs to try to head off a quick drop or going too low and a bounce. More meals make that easier to do.
 
Marshmellow is 431, I'm thinking bounce?? I don't think it was the extra food. Also should I keep her at the 1.25 I started today. Not quite sure what to do.
 
She might very well be bouncing. I would keep her at the 1.25 and see what she does with it. I agree with you that the food is not the cause of the higher BG.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top