? Marin amps 185 not sure what's up with that

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin's Mom - Nat

Member Since 2017
Woke up to a nice blue number but makes no sense based on yesterday and the last few months.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...help-making-the-decision.178255/#post-1967864

Called my vet, she is totally willing to get the IAA and Acromegaly test done for me, she is checking to see if her lab can arrange for it, if not she will get the blood and I will drive it to the vet hospital I went to yesterday so they can send it. She also recommended for this morning to give him a half shot, as it is really out of the norm for his BG to have gone so low so fast, maybe it's the stress from yesterday. She is going to call me back by noon to let me know about the tests.
 
I'm so glad your vet is open to suggestion. This is the link to the MSU vet lab. It will let you see the same info as your vet and/or you can provide your vet with the link. It can be helpful for your vet to call and check on when they need to receive the sample by so there's not an overly long wait for the tests to be run. The last I recall, they only ran these tests once a week.

 
I went on last night, think the test are done wednesday, so will miss this week.

I am so out of it, I gave Marvin his regular shot instead of half out of habit I guess (what's wrong with me). I will keep monitoring him all day just in case. He is eating well at the moment so will check in a few hours. I know the blues aren't a danger zone, but if he dove down like that yesterday, I am hoping he won't dive down that quickly today or we are in trouble.
 
I'm glad you're getting the tests done. How's Marvin?
So far so good, He is using his litter, purring, and almost himself. Going to test him in about 15 minutes, just to make sure his numbers are not diving down. Can't believe I gave him his regular dose, not sure where my mind was. All during the time I was getting ready to give him his dose I was thinking half dose this morning, but for some reason I gave him the full. I guess I really did have a bad day yesterday, and am not myself today. I can be very emotional, how does everyone handle the ups and downs. Gonna have to learn breathing exercise to be a better cat mom
 
It's hard to tell what is happening with Marvin. Not sure if you gave 6u last night without testing or just didn't add the PMPS number. It's super important to get mid cycle tests in. It's the only way to see what is going on with Marvin. His high numbers can be caused by going to low mid cycle.
 
You're a great cat mom! We all get confused/make mistakes, but shooting that number was probably fine. This AM, Colin was 123 and I gave him his full dose. Do keep an eye on him of course since this is new territory for you both. Like Karen said any mid cycle numbers you can get will help us see how well the dose is working.
 
It's hard to tell what is happening with Marvin. Not sure if you gave 6u last night without testing or just didn't add the PMPS number. It's super important to get mid cycle tests in. It's the only way to see what is going on with Marvin. His high numbers can be caused by going to low mid cycle.
Last night I didn't test, I have been good at it but with everything yesterday at the specialist and seeing his numbers don't move much, I decided to give him a break and me. To my surprise this morning wow, wonder if something is wrong, why would it dive like that never happened before except when he vomitted once. Maybe it's his way to also tell me not to give up. Just tested him now he is 229, will keep checking in a couple more hours as this number would be affected by his food consumption from the morning.
 
Good News, Vet called to confirm her lab also deals with MSU and we are able to get the test done. Marvin's appointment is Thursday for the blood work for both IAA and Insulin Growth Factor. So I will keep my fingers cross that we can get the results back by end of next week. It's strange but part of me hopes he has one or the other so we know what's going on, cause if he doesn't not sure what would be our next step. One day at a time, will see what the test comes back with.

Have a feeling will be on here constantly for a while.
 
Curious, d-mannose does it matter what kind, for pets vs humans? will be looking for the powder kind, probably on amazon unless available in pharmacy or at vets?
 
Knowing what's going on can be reassuring. We've also had cats that hit a "magic dose" and everything falls into place. Sometimes, that magic dose is higher than what we would expect.

I can't answer your question about d-mannose. I never used it.
 
+ 4 BG = 277, would this be considered an active cycle even if his numbers are going up? perhaps last night was the active cycle.

I am thinking perhaps he was sick at the vet's and no one told me, cause the only other time he went this low in the morning was when he vomited. Thinking that cause so far looks like his numbers look like they maybe heading back to what they where, or like Sienne said maybe approaching the right dose.... weird timing
 
I haven't used the fish oil so can't help with that. I give Colin 1/8 tsp of the d mannose/day. Not sure if there's any protocol on how often you should give it. I give it everyday for a week or so, then I forget or run out...:oops: I always give it though if I see any sign of a UTI. I think @Squalliesmom gives it everyday.
 
Most pet stores will have fish oil for pets, sometimes in the fridge. Dosing is usually on the package. In a pinch, when I travelled with Neko, I just used part of a fish oil gel cap. Start slow with fish oil, and build your way up to the full dose, or you could get loose stools.

I am glad you shot the full dose today.:) Looks like he's starting a bounce after however low he went last night. First few times I shot blues, then greens, Neko always bounced afterwards. Made it a non event after all my worry. :rolleyes:
 
I haven't used the fish oil so can't help with that. I give Colin 1/8 tsp of the d mannose/day. Not sure if there's any protocol on how often you should give it. I give it everyday for a week or so, then I forget or run out...:oops: I always give it though if I see any sign of a UTI. I think @Squalliesmom gives it everyday.
Yes, I give 1/8 tsp twice a day, with breakfast and dinner. Squallie and my little squirrelly-girl have been on it for quite a while. Squallie used to get UTIs fairly regularly, but we haven't had a single one since we started the d-mannose. I use the Now brand, I get it from amazon.com.
 
Nordic Naturals makes a high quality fish oil. (It's one that's recommended by one of the top researchers I know who does work looking at inflammation and omega-3.) They have a package that's set up for small pets -- the eyedropper in the bottle is calibrated so you can dose based on your kitty's weight.

An "active cycle" is one where numbers are in a lower range and you need to "actively" stay on top of the numbers. I'd say that it's a good cycle so far but not exactly an active cycle.

 
He is more himself this morning, ate some treats, only a few than refused and ate a bit of his food. I keep having to bring his bowl back to him. that is the only thing right now that is not the norm. It may be a good thing but just different, not sure :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top