March 27 Blackie Numbers (Reduction Question)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Team Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
March 26

AMPS - 34
+6 - 355
PMPS - 454
+6 - 158

I just reduced his dose last night. This morning he was below 50 again, is it way too early to reduce the dose again?

Thanks.
 
I'm running out the door soon but I wouldn't recommend doing another increase -- particularly while he's bouncing up. I'm not too familiar with Blackie so wait on others.
At a quick glance of spreadsheet looks like he might have been getting too much insulin for awhile. Low numbers followed by hard bounces, bounce clears until the next low number and then bounce again.
 
look at Blackie go!

I do have to give you some noodles, even though you know your cat and Blackie always bounced (and he did), nobody should be shooting a 34. If this was the one time he didn't bounce, you could have been in big, big trouble so next time he tests in the 30's at shot time, please stall until he's at least 50. (end public service announcement....) ;-)

In my opinion, the 34 is probably coming off some shed action from the old 5 unit dose. I do think the fact that he cleared that bounce so quickly means that another reduction could be right around the corner. You really can go either way, if you're able to get some extra spot checks tonight and tomorrow to keep Blackie safe, you could try holding the 4.75 and see if he shows another low number. If you can't do the extra spot checks, you can go ahead and reduce to 4.5. More than likely it will work (and if it doesn't, then we go back up, no big deal). What do you think?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top