Mar Lei Lantus AMPS 364, +2 409, PMPS 416, +2 297, +4 157, +11 497

Ive given him 2.25.....but just so I understand the protocol, didnt last nights results show that he was starting to do well on 2u?

+2 205
+4 151
 
I thought we didnt go off the AMPS or PMPS.
We do not go by AMPS or PMPS when deciding on dose, but if he is lower at AMPS or PMPS, that could mean that he is clearing a bounce. You do not want to increase in a cycle where he is clearing a bounce because there is already considerable downward momentum in that cycle and an increase could add to it - especially if he is a cat who reacts to the increase in the very first cycle.

If you see his PMPS on 10/4 or 9/24, it was the lowest in the cycle and he was much lower in the PM cycle. He cleared the bounce in that cycle.

Ive given him 2.25.....but just so I understand the protocol, didnt last nights results show that he was starting to do well on 2u?

+2 205
+4 151
We want nadirs in green (between 68 and 100 on the AT). Even after clearing a bounce he didn't get there. A cat's insulin needs can change quickly. Our job is to follow the numbers.
Do you feed him at +1 and +2 in all cycles? We want to use food to prevent sharp drops and keep him on a good dose as long as possible.
 
If you see his PMPS on 10/4 or 9/24, it was the lowest in the cycle and he was much lower in the PM cycle. He cleared the bounce in that cycle.
I guess I thought he might have gone lower after the +4 - but I needed to go to bed!


You know I am delighted we went up, just wanted to understand why so thank you so much for explaining!

Do you feed him at +1 and +2 in all cycles? We want to use food to prevent sharp drops and keep him on a good dose as long as possible.

Yes I do. Since you said to a few days ago, (maybe weeks, ive lost track of time,) I have been and will continue to!
 
I'm a bit devastated..... +2 409

I was expecting a significant drop.

Why would this be?

The last two mornings (yesterday I wondered if I had done a fur shot), he screamed out as if the injection was causing him pain. Maybe I got into a muscle or something and its lost and not found its way to the blood stream?

I didnt get a chance to watch the video link you gave me about giving shots. I will prioritise it this weekend. Last weekend was mental, and I had no time for anything personal
 
He might be bouncing from last night's lower numbers. Just take a break and let's see what he does tonight.

If you inject into a muscle, that speeds up the absorption of insulin. It isn't lost.
 
So sorry for the delay in posting. Its been one of those days. Mar Lei's results seem good. Not too low too fast but heading down

PMPS 416, +2 297
 
+4 157

Ive given him a hefty snack (pure dried organs) and he's having a big drink of water now

He seems so well and much more affectionate.

I hope he doesnt bounce........
 
I am very nervous about giving injections to low numbers. I know I am getting ahead of myself, but wanted to bring it up incase......
 
Ok so def no concerns on the low bg number shot, he's did a big bounce.

+11 497

I guess I carry on with 2.25?

On Saturday I will be able to do more testing to catch nadir/ If he does go super low, will the next move be 2 fat?
 
Yes, we give it at least 6-8 cycles on 2.25U to see what he does. You want to feed and prevent him dropping below 68 so that you can keep him on the dose as long as safely possible.
 
Back
Top