Mar 12, Sammy AMPS 120 PMPS 180

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindaMS

Member Since 2013
No effect from skipping last nights shot.

Sammy is happy and cuddly this morning. I wish I could stay here with her today, but I have to go back to my Mom''s and continue assembling furniture.... day 3. Have built a huge executive desk, entertainment unit and a writing desk, have a file cabinet and a bookcase to go. Every part of my body aches, and my back is screaming at me. And, I know in my heart of hearts that probably sooner rather than later, Mom will not continue in Assisted Living more than a few months, and I will be taking that room apart and trying to find homes for that furniture.
 
Re: Mar 12, Sammy AMPS 120

It's a nice think you are doing for her then - making her home nice.

Glad Sammy is cooperating.
 
Re: Mar 12, Sammy AMPS 120

Did you know with Lev you can shoot as needed? Because of its different action than Lantus you can set a no shoot number and only give it when she exceeds that number or even shoot s.i.d. As long as when you skip she doesn't turn into a zoomie chicken like Autumn you can shoot as needed.

Hope you get some rest this weekend but what a lovely thing to do for your mom even when you know its short lived at least her time there will be in comfort.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Mar 12, Sammy AMPS 120

Very nice # for Sammy this morning and a very sweet thing you are doing for your mother. Hope you can rest and recover this weekend.
 
Re: Mar 12, Sammy AMPS 120

Mel, i did not know this. I thought they were both depot? I just finished announcing to hubby "i cant just give insulin when i feel like it".

So i skipped this morning again because she had held a good number. This sfternoon she went to 147. So i could give her needlejuice tonight, then see how the morning looks.
 
Re: Mar 12, Sammy AMPS 120

They are both depot insulins but the depot is formed differently. Lantus builds up crystals under the skin that take a certain amount of time to dissolve. Levemir binds to albutin (sp?) and unbinds over time but will release as needed.

S.I.D=single injection daily. Or once a day. There have been several Lev cats that have gone down to s.I.d. then as needed before going OTJ.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Lev binds to albumin.

What you'll be doing is chasing the numbers - when she gets elevated enough to make it safe, you shoot the tiny Levemir dose. We do that over on ProZinc when a cat is nearly off the insulin, too.
 
What always disturbed me about Lantus is that its cultured (grown) in E.coli whereas Levemir is cultured from brewers yeast.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top