Ilse - M - T - P
Member Since 2020
Hi all,
Mango is getting lower numbers once in a while, at preshots and mid cycle. He is a bit all over the place at the moment.
Today his AMPS was 290, so I gave him his full dose (2.75u prozinc) and at +5 he was 54. I retested, and the number was correct.
He ate, threw up, ate again and tested him at +5.5 and he was at 62. So all good
My question is, I am leaving for a long weekend tomorrow morning.
My petsitter just learnt how to test (yay!) and comes AM and PM to feed and give insulin etc...
Since they will be home alone, and no mid cycle tests will be done. Should I reduce his amount of insulin to 2units for these 3 days to make sure he doesn't drop too low?
She will reduce the insulin when below 200 (she will call every AM and PM to discuss amount of insulin, but I want to avoid that he goes too low mid cycle, even if his preshot numbers were high enough to shoot full dose as he was today.
Any thoughts?
thanks
Ilse
Mango is getting lower numbers once in a while, at preshots and mid cycle. He is a bit all over the place at the moment.
Today his AMPS was 290, so I gave him his full dose (2.75u prozinc) and at +5 he was 54. I retested, and the number was correct.
He ate, threw up, ate again and tested him at +5.5 and he was at 62. So all good
My question is, I am leaving for a long weekend tomorrow morning.
My petsitter just learnt how to test (yay!) and comes AM and PM to feed and give insulin etc...
Since they will be home alone, and no mid cycle tests will be done. Should I reduce his amount of insulin to 2units for these 3 days to make sure he doesn't drop too low?
She will reduce the insulin when below 200 (she will call every AM and PM to discuss amount of insulin, but I want to avoid that he goes too low mid cycle, even if his preshot numbers were high enough to shoot full dose as he was today.
Any thoughts?
thanks
Ilse