? Mango at 89 pmps. What dose should I give tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Im not very confident doing dose advice, but we know Mango has been slowly coming down. If you lessen the dose tonight, he may still get the effects of the dose you have been giving just because of the depot in play.

With the dry on board, it'll stay in his system longer... but cats also metabolize dry differently. If he is hesitant with eating though, it may be better to skip. You know he'll bounce back.
 
He only had a few bites of dry with water. Wet is still there. This little stinker I'm really really pulling for remission here and by him not eating much he is going to mess it up I don't think I should give him a shot tonight cuz I don't want him to go low and then that will really mess him up what are your thoughts I don't know because I'm new to this
 
It depends on what protocol you are following. If following SLGS the 89 would earn a reduction of 0.25. Sooo if he were my cat I would be giving him 0.5u BUT he has to eat.
 
I am not sure which one I am on the last time his numbers were good I took a reduction so I am not sure I do curves on the weekends but not too much during the weekdays
 
I am not sure which one I am on the last time his numbers were good I took a reduction so I am not sure I do curves on the weekends but not too much during the weekdays
Take a read of both the methods listed in the stickies at the top of the forum. Then you decide which method you are most comfortable with. I am doing SLGS as I am out the house 12 hrs a day during the week.

I love that your cat is a hurricane Katrina rescue!
 
Does Mango seem nauseated at all? Is he licking his lips; appearing interested in food and then licking it and turning away... these are the things that Girlie does when she's feeling nauseated, and when she feels like that, she won't eat. I hope Mango feels better soon!

There's a list of foods to tempt cats with (e.g. Parmesan cheese is one). How to stimulate a kitty's appetite
 
Since you are feeding dry food, hat means following SLGS for dosing. I also means skipping tonight as SLGS suggests not shooting below 90. Still, nice to see the high green. :D
 
That's tricky if he's not willing to eat. You could try crushing the kibble into a powder & sprinkling it on top of Mango's canned food & mixing a bit into it to see if that helps. As Girlie's Mom mentioned, make sure he's not nauseous and if he is he'll need anti nausea meds so he'll feel like eating. Try raising his food dish as well. I just use an upside plant pot or container that's the right height to raise my kitties food dishes. Just makes eating easier on them as they don't have to bend down so far.

It looks like you might be following Start Slow Go Slow. Here's some quotes from the SLGS Sticky that will help: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/

Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4.
There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.

    • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
    • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus and Levemir users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:

  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near usual preshot numbers:
  • Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90, so there is no need to push a cat into numbers lower than that.
 
Take a read of both the methods listed in the stickies at the top of the forum. Then you decide which method you are most comfortable with. I am doing SLGS as I am out the house 12 hrs a day during the week.

I love that your cat is a hurricane Katrina rescue!
Thx!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top