Managing Diabetes in Cat on Prednisolone (kitty has cancer)

KittyCatJake

Member Since 2019
Hi, my kitty Jake is battling nasal lymphoma and diabetes. Though he did go into partial remission after about week 3 of chemo, he took a terrible downturn 2 weeks later, but happy to report that he is now doing much much better, but that is because they have him on prednisolone. Though they initially tried to treat Jake's nasal lymphoma without prednisolone due to his diabetes, it became obvious we were losing the cancer battle last week, so the vet suggested we risk making his diabetes worse to give him some steroids, which are known to work very well on this type of cancer (it is now in his brain). The steroids have caused a dramatic improvement - he went from barely able to lift his head at times, to jumping on to the kitchen counter again. BUT.....as expected, his blood glucose numbers are soaring. Last week, he was getting 1 unit twice a day (he's on lantus) and I was having to skip shots at times because he was still too low. Now I'm giving him a generous 1 unit and testing before injection yesterday had him at over 30, which is the highest I've seen him. Testing a couple hours ago had him at 23, and that was about 8 hours post injection. He has another 8 days on full prednisolone, then they start to taper it down. Apparently numbers generally improve as they are weaned off it. But, how do I manage it in the meantime? I have increased his dose to 1.5 mls over the last few days but the numbers are still high. Should I increase the dose to 2 or give it more time at 1.5? Any ideas/suggestions/advice would be great. BTW, I'm trying not to test him too much as he really hates it and is getting it on top of numerous meds and eye drops all day! Should add, I also started him on cbd oil this week....haven't had time to research it's effect on diabetes, but I do know it's a chance of helping with his cancer symptoms/side effects.
 
I'm so sorry to hear about Jake having to deal with cancer.

A couple of questions... When was Jake diagnosed with diabetes and how long have you been using Lantus? If you've not already done so, I'd encourage you to look through the sticky notes at the top of the Board. We use 2 dosing methods here and it's helpful to know what you may or may not be familiar with.

With a kitty that's in need of steroids, we typically work the insulin around the steroid. If the predisolone is causing a spike in numbers, then you raise the insulin dose. However, you want to give the insulin depot a chance to settle after a dose increase. The two methods we use have differing amounts of time for altering doses. With either method, unless your nadirs are routinely over 300, you increase the dose by 0.25u.
 
Thank u for your reply! Jake was diagnosed with diabetes about 3 months ago....about the same time as his cancer diagnosis. He had high blood glucose numbers for at least a year leading up to his diagnosis, but the fructosamine was normal and there were no ketones, so they said he didn't have it. He's now been on lantus for about 2.5 months. It looks like Jake's nadirs for the last few days have been over 300. I increased his dose again slightly this morning. I will check the stickies you refer to. Thx so much.
 
Thank u for your reply! Jake was diagnosed with diabetes about 3 months ago....about the same time as his cancer diagnosis. He had high blood glucose numbers for at least a year leading up to his diagnosis, but the fructosamine was normal and there were no ketones, so they said he didn't have it. He's now been on lantus for about 2.5 months. It looks like Jake's nadirs for the last few days have been over 300. I increased his dose again slightly this morning. I will check the stickies you refer to. Thx so much.
It sounds like you are doing a really good job. Jake is lucky to have you.
Hopefully you’ll ask as many questions, you may have. It’s very easy to learn here- tons of compassionate peeps, many who have a wealth of knowledge... to guide :)
 
Hi Jake and Mum! Welcome to the FDMB. @Sharon14 tagged me over on the other thread but I will answer here.
I live in Sydney so if there is anything I can help you with just let me know. Would you like to tell us your name?
You are doing a great job with Jake. The SS looks good and I see you are testing in the pm cycle as well which is very helpful and keeps Jake safe. Always test before every preshot to see it is safe to give the insulin.
I haven't much experience with prednisolone and diabetes together ........I did have a kitty on pred for IBD but haven't had to juggle it with diabetes but you are getting great advice from others.
I'm glad you found us. Ask lots of questions.
Bron

Here is your post from the main health page.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-cat-on-prednisolone-kitty-has-cancer.216703/
 
Back
Top