Wendy - I would LOVE to do that, but Mala won't eat that stuff. I have some Nature's Recipe pate in gravy, which is supposed to be 17% carbs. That would qualify as high medium, and she only barely nibbles it. And that's what Max fed today, and what i gave her yesterday with honey, but it barely budged her out of hypo-land.
Would it be reasonable to ignore the numbers from the first month of this trip to sugartown with Mala, and look instead at 2011?
I'm looking for patterns there which are similar to this week. Today and yesterday, she began the AM cycle around 200. Yesterday, she received a .75; today, a .5.
In 2011, look at 4/26 - 4/27. If there's a decipherable pattern, I'm beginning to see it there. I think Mala is headed to the falls, and I think this shows the way.
On 4/26, she received a .25 dose. We had dropped from .5 to .25 the week before, when she went from a 262 to a 99 in the course of one cycle. We wimped out on the PM dose that day, and went to .25 after that.
So when we saw Mala drop hard yesterday and bring a 55 at AMPS on a .75 dose, we skipped the AM dose and saw her bounce into the pinks by PMPS, but a .75 kept her surfing greens all night - just like on 4/21/2011.
On 4/26, she jumped into the yellows, and my notes indicate that she was out of sorts - not her style. She fell from the yellows into blues and greens within 2 cycles, and stayed there. We maintained the .25 dose for only 4 more cycles before we reduced - to .1, then 1 drop, then nothing.
While I have a LOT of trouble predicting Mala's numbers, I would like to propose that she's about to follow this pattern again. A string of blues and greens following a few early/late cycle yellows, two to three cycles, then ready to go back to the falls.
So depending on her PMPS number, I think we'll shoot a .25 instead of the .5. Wendy is right - this little girl wasn't moving much on lc or mc food and needed to be kicked into gear. A lower dose would be reasonable.
I don't know how comfortable we'll be shooting numbers at or under 100 even at a lower dose. Mala's numbers are not being predictable (unless someone else can show me a pattern I can't see). If I need to be thinking about doses for 3 days out, as I will NOT be available either the 30th or 31st, I would even go so far as to skip PM doses and only dose during the day, but maintain the .25.
I really need help determining strategy. If all the above is nonsense, please tell me that and fix my misconceptions.