Info Make the Most of Your Lantus, Levemir & Biosimilars Land Experience - Updated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill & Alex (GA)

Member Since 2009
4e9f412c.gif
​



Making the Most of Your Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars
​

Insulin Support Group Experience​



Confused about our jargon?

The Suggestions, Tech Support & Testing Area has step-by-step instructions for setting up a Profile and Spreadsheet for your cat. Profiles and Spreadsheets are not mandatory, but are extremely helpful to those who will be replying to your questions and concerns. Spreadsheets also offer an easy way for you to spot trends and track your cat's progress. We encourage you to take advantage of this tool.

We have Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars users frequenting this forum. We’re also lucky to have some knowledgeable and experienced volunteers who have stuck around to pay it forward. Their suggestions are based on personal experience, observation, anecdotal evidence, the Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir, and the Start Low, Go Slow Method. Note: Lantus, Basaglar, and Semglee are brand names for insulin glargine.

Help us help you by incorporating these suggestions into your routine...

  • Start only one thread per cat per day. Multiple threads scatter pertinent information about your kitty in too many places.
  • Your thread title should conform to the following format:
Date (mo/day) Kitty’s Name AMPS or AMBG subsequent test numbers PMPS or PMBG subsequent test numbers (AMBG and PMBG are used if you don’t shoot or gave an accidental fur shot).

As an example: 06/26 Fluffy AMPS 220 +2 160 +3 120 +5 100 +8 132 PMPS 200 +2 287 +5 300

If the line gets too long, as above, you can also delete all the a.m. cycle info at PMPS/PMBG so that the a.m. cycle will only have AMPS/AMBG to +11 tests and the p.m. cycle will have PMPS/PMBG to +11 tests.
​
  • Please limit the amount of extraneous text in the subject line. The most important info is shown above. However, to get necessary attention, you can also use the “?” prefix (see below) or “911” if necessary with a few extra words at the end of the condo title such as “Need Help” or “Dose ?” or “Foods?” or even “Photos” or “DH Better” if there is something important to you that we can support you with. Please be sure to remove any extra text and the prefix when you’ve received help. Again, the focus is on the BG tests but it is sometimes warranted to use both a prefix and a few words of text.
  • Please do not reply to a thread from a previous day. Post your response in the current day's thread. Responding to a previous day's thread bumps it up to the top and before you know it we have people posting in both threads.
  • Questions: Mark your first post of the day with the word “Question” OR use the blue question mark prefix when you have a question in your thread. Please remove the "Question" word/icon once you've received an answer.
  • 911: The 911 prefix in the subject line should only be used for emergencies such as symptomatic hypos, very low numbers (below 30 on a human meter), and/or very sick cats potentially needing ER care. Once someone has responded to the 911 and you have received help, please remove it from the subject line.
  • Stickys and Info posts: All approved Stickys and informational posts are marked with yellow prefixes. These yellow tagged posts have been approved and vetted for accuracy by moderators and/or admin.
  • If you have questions related to content in the Stickys or Info threads, no need to start a new thread. Ask whatever questions you have in your daily thread.
  • Link your previous day’s thread (condo) in your first post of each day. Even if your last thread was 2 weeks ago, please link the thread. This practice allows those helping you to go back days and sometimes weeks to familiarize themselves with your kitty’s history before responding in your thread.
Good to know when seeking advice...
  • Posting BG numbers - Crazy as it sounds, the United States is the only industrialized country in the world that does not use the metric system as its predominant system of measurement. As the FDMB is based in the US, you'll undoubtedly receive more help if you convert BG numbers from the metric system to the Imperial System used by those in the US. Simply multiply the metric number by 18 to find the US equivalent OR use our handy-dandy Blood Glucose Converter Calculator.
  • Signatures, Profiles and Spreadsheets. Signatures, profiles and spreadsheets are not mandatory, but having them will help us help you. They're usually the first places members look before offering advice or suggestions.
    • Creating a Signature - Click on your name in the upper right hand corner of the page. A menu will appear. Select signature. Note: Signatures are now limited to 2 lines, 300 characters total, & can include up to two links. Include the following information in the message field (all other info belongs in your Profile). Be sure to "Save changes" before leaving the page.
      • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
      • DX: date
      • Name of insulin
      • Name of your meter
      • Diet: LC wet or dry or combo
      • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
      • DKA (if applicable)
      • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
      • Spreadsheet link
    • Creating a Profile
    • Creating a Spreadsheet
  • The FDMB is an open and peer reviewed message board. Sometimes you’ll receive advice offered with the best intentions, but while the member may speak with authority, he/she may not yet have enough experience or simply doesn't fully understand the principles and/or the exceptions.
  • Check the spreadsheets of those offering advice/suggestions. Does their kitty's spreadsheet look how you want your cat's spreadsheet to look?
  • Be aware, the spreadsheet of a kitty headed towards going OTJ quickly is not always the best indicator of a caregiver's level of experience. Some kitties are lucky to go off the juice quickly and almost effortlessly.
  • Click on the advice givers name and search their posts to get a feel for their experience level. If spreadsheets aren't linked in signatures or years are missing, ask to see them. Do your homework so you’re able to make informed and educated decisions because ultimately, all decisions are yours to make.
  • Some members tend to offer advice in absolutes. Be wary. ECID (every cat is different) is not just a slogan!
  • Number of posts (there are a lot of chatty Cathys & Toms), number of "Likes" (think Facebook), or date registered on the FDMB (this software only goes back to 2009, but the FDMB goes back to 1996) are not indicative of the experience level of any member. Some members "get it" right away. Others may not.
  • We're all laypersons... volunteers with families, jobs, social obligations, time constraints, etc. Tone is often lost in the written word, but always assume everyone is trying to help and wants the best for you.
  • Responses can vary greatly... some are based on experience. Others not-so-much. Do your homework and weigh responses received before coming to any conclusions.
  • Tagging members... please do not over-use this feature. Tagging only certain members can end up limiting replies to your questions.
Chit-chat...
  • A sense of community in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG is important. However, there needs to be a balance between chit-chat and being able to find questions that need to be answered and/or caregivers who need help because their kitty is traveling in low numbers.
  • Some off topic chit-chat is ok, but please try to keep it to a minimum in daily threads. The volunteers who are helping you have lives outside of the FDMB… friends, jobs, families, and other obligations. They only have so much time to spend in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG. If their time is taken up wading through lengthy threads with non-feline diabetes related material they may never find the questions you or someone else want answered.
  • Rebecca, our Webmaster and site owner, graciously, although reluctantly, approved a single daily chit-chat thread in our ISG (Rebecca prefers off topic chit chat to be posted in the board's Community Forum). We named the off-topic thread "Loose Lips". Anyone can start the daily "Loose Lips" thread in the morning. Please check to see if someone else has put one up for the day before starting multiple Loose Lips threads. Everyone can post in the daily Loose Lips thread once it is started. Our daily "Loose Lips" thread and the FDMB's Community & Off Topic Forum are the places for social butterflies to gather.
  • Check your ego at the door. We’re all here to help our beloved kitties.
THANK YOU!



4e9f412c.gif
​
 
Last edited by a moderator:
4e9f412c.gif
​



Making the Most of Your Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir
​

Insulin Support Group Experience​



Confused about our jargon?

The Suggestions, Tech Support & Testing Area has step-by-step instructions for setting up a Profile and Spreadsheet for your cat. Profiles and Spreadsheets are not mandatory, but are extremely helpful to those who will be replying to your questions and concerns. Spreadsheets also offer an easy way for you to spot trends and track your cat's progress. We encourage you to take advantage of this tool.

We have Lantus, Basaglar, and Levemir users frequenting this forum. We’re also lucky to have some knowledgeable and experienced volunteers who have stuck around to pay it forward. Their suggestions are based on personal experience, observation, anecdotal evidence, the Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir, and the Start Low, Go Slow Method. Note: Lantus and Basaglar are brand names for insulin glargine.

Help us help you by incorporating these suggestions into your routine...

  • Start only one thread per cat per day. Multiple threads scatter pertinent information about your kitty in too many places.
  • Please do not reply to a thread from a previous day. Post your response in the current day's thread. Responding to a previous day's thread bumps it up to the top and before you know it we have people posting in both threads.
  • Questions: Mark your first post of the day with the word “Question” OR use the blue question mark prefix when you have a question in your thread. Please remove the "Question" word/icon once you've received an answer.
  • Stickys and Info posts: All approved Stickys and informational posts are marked with yellow prefixes. These yellow tagged posts have been approved and vetted for accuracy by moderators and/or admin.
  • If you have questions related to content in the Stickys or Info threads, no need to start a new thread. Ask whatever questions you have in your daily thread.
  • Link your previous day’s thread (condo) in your first post of each day. Even if your last thread was 2 weeks ago, please link the thread. This practice allows those helping you to go back days and sometimes weeks to familiarize themselves with your kitty’s history before responding in your thread.
Good to know when seeking advice...
  • Posting BG numbers - Crazy as it sounds, the United States is the only industrialized country in the world that does not use the metric system as its predominant system of measurement. As the FDMB is based in the US, you'll undoubtedly receive more help if you convert BG numbers from the metric system to the Imperial System used by those in the US. Simply multiply the metric number by 18 to find the US equivalent OR use our handy-dandy Blood Glucose Converter Calculator.
  • Signatures, Profiles and Spreadsheets. Signatures, profiles and spreadsheets are usually the first place volunteers look before offering suggestions or advice.
    • Creating a Signature - Click on your name in the upper right hand corner of the page. A menu will appear. Select signature. Note: Signatures are now limited to 2 lines, 300 characters total, & can include up to two links. Include the following information in the message field (all other info belongs in your Profile). Be sure to "Save changes" before leaving the page.
      • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
      • DX: date
      • Name of insulin
      • Name of your meter
      • Diet: LC wet or dry or combo
      • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
      • DKA (if applicable)
      • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
      • Spreadsheet link
    • Creating a Profile
    • Creating a Spreadsheet
  • The FDMB is an open and peer reviewed message board. Sometimes you’ll receive advice offered with the best intentions, but while the member may speak with authority, he/she may not yet have enough experience or simply doesn't fully understand the principles and/or the exceptions.
  • Check the spreadsheets of those offering advice/suggestions. Does their kitty's spreadsheet look how you want your cat's spreadsheet to look?
  • Be aware, the spreadsheet of a kitty headed towards going OTJ quickly is not always the best indicator of a caregiver's level of experience. Some kitties are lucky to go off the juice quickly and almost effortlessly.
  • Click on the advice givers name and search their posts to get a feel for their experience level. If spreadsheets aren't linked in signatures or years are missing, ask to see the spreadsheet(s). Do your homework so you’re able to make informed and educated decisions because ultimately, all decisions are yours to make.
  • Some members tend to offer advice in absolutes. Be wary. ECID (every cat is different) is not just a slogan!
  • Number of posts (there are a lot of chatty Cathys & Toms), number of "Likes" (think Facebook), or date registered on the FDMB (this software only goes back to 2009, but the FDMB goes back to 1996) are not indicative of the experience level of any member. Some members "get it" right away. Others may not.
  • We're all laypersons... volunteers with families, jobs, social obligations, time constraints, etc. Tone is often lost in the written word, but always assume everyone is trying to help and wants the best for you.
  • Responses can vary greatly... some are based on experience. Others not-so-much. Do your homework and weigh responses received before coming to any conclusions.
Chit-chat...
  • A sense of community in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG is important. However, there needs to be a balance between chit-chat and being able to find questions that need to be answered and/or caregivers who need help because their kitty is traveling in low numbers.
  • Some off topic chit-chat is ok, but please try to keep it to a minimum in daily threads. The volunteers who are helping you have lives outside of the FDMB… friends, jobs, families, and other obligations. They only have so much time to spend in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG. If their time is taken up wading through lengthy threads with non-feline diabetes related material they may never find the questions you or someone else want answered.
  • Rebecca, our Webmaster and site owner, graciously, although reluctantly, approved a single daily chit-chat thread in our ISG (Rebecca prefers off topic chit chat to be posted in the board's Community Forum). We named the off-topic thread "Loose Lips". Anyone can start the daily "Loose Lips" thread in the morning. Please check to see if someone else has put one up for the day before starting multiple Loose Lips threads. Everyone can post in the daily Loose Lips thread once it is started. Our daily "Loose Lips" thread and the FDMB's Community & Off Topic Forum are the places for social butterflies to gather.
  • Check your ego at the door. We’re all here to help our beloved kitties.
THANK YOU!



4e9f412c.gif
​
 
Hi Thank you for this BUT The system is not allowing me to update our signature?? It keeps telling me I have too many symbols which is always the number of all her characters If I were to delete that number Amethyst would have no signature ???
 
Last edited:
@Pamela & Amethyst
Hi Thank you for this BUT The system is not allowing me to update our signature?? It keeps telling me I have too many symbols which is always the number of all her characters If I were to delete that number Amethyst would no signature ???
The system will allow you to update. However, it appears signatures have now been limited to a total of 300 characters consisting of two lines lines which may include up to two links. I haven't counted it all out, but I *think* number of characters would include "spaces" (like a spaces between words). Hopefully, that will take signatures back to being signatures rather than the mini-profiles or biographies some have encouraged them to become.

Include the information in the signature message field (all other info belongs in your Profile). Be sure to "Save changes" before leaving the page.

Suggestions:
  • Caregiver/kitty's name (optional)
  • DX: date
  • Name of current insulin
  • Name of your meter
  • Diet: LC wet or dry or combo
  • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
  • DKA (if applicable)
  • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
  • Spreadsheet link
What to do with all that other info? Create a Profile.

Your FDMB profile is the place for you to tell us all about you and your kitty... history and current story. We're lucky to have the space available within this software so we don't have to take the info off-site as in years past. This now makes Profiles easily accessible to those offering help or suggestions.

Check out Libby and Lucy's Profile (click on the Information Tab to view). Libby's profile is just one example Robert, our board administrator was striving for when it came to signatures. :)
 
This is so wonderful. I read everything, in pieces, beginning in mid July, but needed to relax and read again, after making myself a part of the group! Thank you for all you've learned and given of yourself, Jill. You have already blessed so many. Alexandra is surely watching over your shoulders, every day. Thank you, with tears. Tina thanks you too and she's feeling so much better!
:bighug::cat::):bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top