Maisey pmps121 dropping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathyh

Member Since 2011
Maisey is on PZI have been doing .5 u twice a day for 5 days. Did my best to accomplish a curve yesterday. The times I got to test, her numbers were good. I didn't poke her this morning, just did the .5. Checked her when I got home at 10+ she was 134 now at 12+ she is 121. Do I skip shot, doesn't seem a good idea? Nor does getting much later, because that will screw up mornings? How about something like .2 units?
 
She did this once before right - on the 25th going from 180 to 126?

I would not give insulin. If you had more numbers - particularly today- .2 might be okay. But you can't really be sure what is going on and better too high tomorrow than too low overnight.

You may get a high number tomorrow. If so, I would try your .2
 
I am by no means the expert, so you may want to wait until a couple others see your post and respond. My quick advice is that you don't want to shoot insulin on a BG # that is dropping (especially when your in the low 100's). Try to wait (no feeding) and test Maisy again in a half hour. If her BG is rising, you could try the .2u if you can test. I think Maisy may be close to going into remission (anti-jinx, paws crossed). If her #'s is not rising or holding steady at 121, I wouldn't shoot any insulin but test and sees how she does without. This is kind of what happened with me and my cat Max. Not exactly easy on the mama bean's nerves but so nice when they get such nice #'s. Did Maisy eat between your +10 reading and +12? If her #'s dropped after eating, that's another sign that her pancreas is starting to work again.
 
I think you have a kitty that wants off the juice. Did you try the food test? Test before eating, feed and then test 30 minutes or so after eating. If she comes down, you have a working pancreas and you want to start supporting it with small frequent meals.

Any chance the 180-126 had a meal between the 2 numbers?
 
She did have food between 10+ and 12+ test. Not much, maybe 1/4 can small ff - her greedy "sis" Pumpkin was happy to take over after eating her half. Gave Maisey a little cream, usually a great temptation to her that she mostly polished off.
Will hold off for another test. If still in the low hundreds, no juice. If upper hundreds or higher maybe a .2
I can call in work that I'll be late, although tomorrow isn't the best day to do so. But I wouldn't have to lie to say I've been sick all night.
I put a little more ff out after last test, so we'll see.
 
Except for that first week of terror, this is the hardest part of this whole thing, Kathy. You have to be careful with the mini doses, get the food into the equation. But the good news is that she seems to be needing less insulin all the time. You need to get in all the tests you can - before walking out the door, walking in the door, at night. Data is your friend during this part of the dance.
 
10pm - 13+ 151. Won't shoot anything, as she doesn't seem inclined to eat. We'll probably have a very early morning.
 
I would expect a highish number for amps, but I would still go with the lower dose. Ideally, you want a small enough dose that you can shoot am and pm.
 
Woke at 4am at 21 hours out BG was 252, I gave her a half a can of ff, she ate about 1/4. BG an hour later is 233. So, what do I do at 7-7:30ish if same/higher/lower? :?
At 8am amps is 160. Should I attempt a micro dose? .1 or .2?
 
Hope this gets in before you leave. You are sure using U100 needles and the conversion chart, right? Will you be around today or be gone?

The tricky thing here is that she and the food have brought her down. You are still in diabetic numbers. (the general rule that a kitty runs between 40-120 OFF insulin). But you need to be careful adding insulin to a working pancreas.)

You can give your token amount (.1) and leave out food. You can let her graze and see where she goes, without insulin. Depends on your comfort level and if you will be there.

Hope Holly comes along to weigh in. She was on this exact road with Max, but was not home during the day to monitor.
 
I am using u100 needles her mix is actually PZI 100. I had to go out for a while, but will probably go back home and stay. I'm having some health issues so if the Dr. wants me to go to the hospital, I won't shoot. If I can stay home, I'll try just .1unit
 
Yay...so nice to see Maisey doin' so good. I was lucky and Max made it easy for me to walk him off the insulin when he went into remission. Sometimes you have to micro dose a little longer than I needed to with Max. Sue is right that this part can be a little tricky. The 200's later in the night last night may mean that she needs just a smidge (.1u) to help walk her off the insulin. I would see how Maisey does today with no insulin, check with tests when you can, and you can decide tonight about the smidge. If she's hanging how in the 160's and not going lower on her own that may mean she needs the smidge. Also, Sue already mentioned this, but frequent, small meals really helped me with Max (key word small; meal doesn't have to be a lot). It seems counter intuitive that food would bring BG down, but it does when the pancreas is starting to work again. Right when Max was going off insulin, I was a little more vigilant about the frequent, small meals (set my alarm in the night to feed mid-way through). I wanted to make sure he ate pretty regularly cause that helped him stay in the lower #'s. Think you mentioned that Maisey had a little cream yesterday. You may want to try just the low carb wet while she's so close to going OTJ. If Maisey is carb sensitive like Max was, even a little variance in food/carbs may affect her BG #'s.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top