Maisey - pausing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathyh

Active Member
Had another even lower BG level yesterday (28). I have MS which only acts up when I'm stressed, so have decided that Maisey and I need a low level attack plan. I am going to only do .5 units 2 times a day 12 hours apart for the rest of this week. Hopefully by then she will be on an even keel and so will I. And then I can do a curve, that we can both live through - sticking with just the .5 units. I had called the vets and told them I couldn't take the swings. Between being off balance, my legs have gone into spasm and Maisey and doing her best to avoid me, except for crawling into bed with me at night. We both need a breather.
 
that is a crazy number! I agree with a conservative dose for both your sakes for a bit. I'm sorry if this has already been discussed, but have you considered a gentler insulin?

Jen
 
I think this sounds like an excellent plan, Kathy. PZI is a nice mild insulin. It will work best if you give a lower dose (like your .5) twice daily 12 hours apart. I would continue to get some midcycle numbers. You may even need to go down to .25 units. You also want to give the dose time to settle - like 2 or 3 days of the same dose. Some of your morning preshot numbers that seemed high may have been bounces from low numbers the night before.

We have a PZI support group on this site: viewforum.php?f=24 Everyone there uses your insulin and can help with dosage. It is not as busy as this forum, but people are on in the am and pm. Come over to visit!
 
So sorry to hear that you're having a hard time. Start low and go slow, especially for newbie nerves. .5u is a good place to start. Test and you can see where you go from there. As a newbie figuring out dose, I posted almost every day for help while I was learning (cuz I just had no clue). The good news is that it looks like Maisey only needs a small dose to bring her #'s down.
 
Hi Kathy, I just took a look at your SS. I wonder if you have a similiar problem I dealt with. Those drops are very sudden. Would you like to try this experiment? Test you Maisey in the am before feeding. Then wait an hour or so before shooting and test again.
I think it's possible Maisey is dropping some on her own immediatley after eatting breffis and then you are shooting at an actually much lower number. This happened with my Tom.
So it would look like this
A.M. test----#
+12 amps -------#
shoot.

now if you don't see a significant drop after breffis this will rule out the pancrease being part of your big deep drop.

Lori
and tomtom too!
 
Thanks for the notes. I looked at some of your spread sheets and am feeling much better about just staying low for a few days and then doing more testing. I've mostly convinced the kitty crew that fancy feast wet mixed half/half with either cooked chicken for chicken & turkey FF ; or tuna/tillapia/salmon mixed with the seafood variety's is good. The extra broth helps too. When they aren't so interested I sprinkle on some shredded cheese or catnip, so most is being tried if not completely eaten. I do have dry Purina DM (13 carbs) down for snacking. Except for Vinney his BG was only 40 so he has a dish up high that the others don't go near that has Purina pro plan veal or turkey (both at least only in the 20's for carbs).
Water consumption is way down at my house, yeah!! Maisey and I are improving. :smile:
 
This sounds encouraging, Kathy. If Vinnie is not diabetic, 40 is a normal number. He doesn't need separate higher carb. If you want some ideas for low carb snacks, let us know. With some kitties who are really carb sensitive, even a few pieces of dry can keep bg numbers higher.

When you get some data, be sure to share.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top