Magic - BG balancing!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Magic Johnson

Member Since 2018
Started new thread.

We got this!!!
...on the BG testing...the foot toes work and I have (OOPS 8) of those to choose from and ALL WHITE FUR:bighug:

186 this morning... We're in the blue...we're in the blue! :D

last night was 210 so not too bad considering where we were yo-yo-ing 300+ points up or down.
 
Last edited:
Started new thread.

We got this!!!
...on the BG testing...the foot toes work and I have (OOPS 8) of those to choose from and ALL WHITE FUR:bighug:

186 this morning... We're in the blue...we're in the blue! :D

last night was 210 so not too bad considering where we were yo-yo-ing 300+ points up or down.
Excellent! Maybe a curve on the weekend? Before bed test on work days? :)
 
Excellent! Maybe a curve on the weekend? Before bed test on work days? :)

OK - I don’t know anything about the curve? Can you direct me????

Thank you...I feel kinda dumb as I heard the curve mentioned but I know nothing about it...except I’m guessing it’s measuring over time?
 
OK - I don’t know anything about the curve? Can you direct me????

Thank you...I feel kinda dumb as I heard the curve mentioned but I know nothing about it...except I’m guessing it’s measuring over time?
All a curve involves is taking a Bg measurement every 2 hours between the AM shot and PM shot. So you do the AM pre shot test (no food 2 hours before as per our recommended testing routine), feed, give shot and then test BG at 2 hour intervals while you do the normal day's feeding. The curve ends with the PM pre shot test (no food 2 hours before). Comes to a total of 7 tests in that 12 hour period.
 
All a curve involves is taking a Bg measurement every 2 hours between the AM shot and PM shot. So you do the AM pre shot test (no food 2 hours before as per our recommended testing routine), feed, give shot and then test BG at 2 hour intervals while you do the normal day's feeding. The curve ends with the PM pre shot test (no food 2 hours before). Comes to a total of 7 tests in that 12 hour period.

Thank you Kris & Teasel...!!
...well it would certainly be cheaper to do this at home than the vet!
 
Never feel dumb around here! We have all kinds of acronyms and expressions. It's like learning a new language when you first get here.

Here is the acronym and slang dictionaries:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/dictionary/cat-health-dictionary-fdmb.htm
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-land-slang-dictionary.1903/

The second one is technically the Lantus and Levemir slang dictionary - they use a lot more little expressions than we do over here, but we use a few of them so it night be helpful. And of course, you can always just ask. :)
 
Well after our last night debacle on the PMPS...I am never testing again with the WIND howling outside. Was disaster for Maji, husband helped hold, after trying the foot many times... on one poor toe (I was doing above the pad on the side) I have resorted back to the ear! I know that is hard to believe even for me! Although I have lots of options now...apparently :coffee: ear / toe...whatever it is gonna take.

So ear it was this morning. I found out that even though I massaged...used heat...it didn't seem to make a diff for me.
But if I use a tiny bit Neosporin just to put a slight sheen on the ear (like vaseline) and prick and then WAIT.... like feed a treat by hand while we wait...
a blood drop starts to come up by itself. I have resorted to using my fingers behind her ear so I get pricked too....it's only fair!
249 this AMPS

ALSO thank you Djamila!!! I have those links open now and studying them...it is like a new language. I never cease to be amazed at the knowledge here...OK so THAT is what bump means...I had no idea...saw it many times...thought it meant stop or don't reply lol
 
Last edited:
Those of us who have been here awhile forget that so much of what we say is incomprehensible to new folks! That cracks me up about "bump" :p

Glad to hear that the test (and neosporin) worked well today! Sam has delayed bleeds sometimes too. It may be hard to believe right now, but I promise in a few weeks you're going to be able to test in a minute and even get an occasional test while still mostly asleep!
 
Those of us who have been here awhile forget that so much of what we say is incomprehensible to new folks! That cracks me up about "bump" :p

Glad to hear that the test (and neosporin) worked well today! Sam has delayed bleeds sometimes too. It may be hard to believe right now, but I promise in a few weeks you're going to be able to test in a minute and even get an occasional test while still mostly asleep!

WOW ! If that’s the case I will let you know for sure and be thrilled!!! Thank you for the encouragement- us newbies need it ... we really hang on you guys’ every word as most of us ... know nobody going through this... it’s a special world indeed!
 
Last edited:
166 this morning...still NOT good at testing, wasted a strip.

Scared to give her full dose of 1U gave .5 U as worried about overdoing it.

Advice needed as to - do we shoot under 200 ?
I tried doing it on her side, she did not like that...I am sticking to the back and neck area...I may have even done a partial fur shot but figured since she was 166 it wasn't too critical
 
Go Maji! Nice AMPS! When you get a lower than normal PS, the best thing to do is stall for 20-30 minutes without feeding. Then test again and see if the number is rising. If she's rising, you can give the full dose b/c it means that the insulin is wearing off - it just took a little longer than normal. You can stall for up to an hour to wait for the rise. of course most kitties start to cry and beg and act like they are dying if their meal is late, so you may need to leave the house and go for a walk, or go take a shower, or otherwise get away so you don't have to listen to the heart-wrenching pleas ;) I swear stalling is one of the hardest things we have to do in this dance.

And good job persevering on the testing! It looks like her numbers might be coming down, so it's going to become even more critical. You've got this!
 
Go Maji! Nice AMPS! When you get a lower than normal PS, the best thing to do is stall for 20-30 minutes without feeding. Then test again and see if the number is rising. If she's rising, you can give the full dose b/c it means that the insulin is wearing off - it just took a little longer than normal. You can stall for up to an hour to wait for the rise. of course most kitties start to cry and beg and act like they are dying if their meal is late, so you may need to leave the house and go for a walk, or go take a shower, or otherwise get away so you don't have to listen to the heart-wrenching pleas ;) I swear stalling is one of the hardest things we have to do in this dance.

And good job persevering on the testing! It looks like her numbers might be coming down, so it's going to become even more critical. You've got this!

Thank you so VERY much Djamila!!!!

I was scared and unsure what to do - I eyeballed the .5 May have to order 40U 1/2 measures.

It would kill me to listen to her pleas...

Would definitely prolly have to leave the house and go to Starbucks or something...
 
I used to swear that stalling didn't work just because I couldn't take the begging. Then I started to realize it was harder on me than it was on him and just started leaving the house. @Rachel is the one who helped me figure out that trick. I have a security camera in my condo and realized that as soon as I left he would just lay down and go to sleep. He wasn't dying - he was just manipulating me! Oh these kitties.....:rolleyes:
 
Hehe I've had to do that in the past! Before my kitties moved to raw food, they started to BEG for food a good 2 hours before dinner time...drove me crazy! I started feeding an hour early on the weekend (I don't have a sugar cat, so I could do that) merely because Oreo would do an acid puke around that time if I didn't feed...but ONLY because I was home! How do I know this? They never begged my boyfriend (I was the feeder). If I wasn't here, they just slept until I got home for dinner. So I started taking a walk every day an hour before feeding time so I didn't have to listen to the begging! Now that they're on raw, they don't do that anymore as they seem more full and they space the meal out throughout the day usually...but I still go for the walk since it's good exercise. ;)

If you can't for a walk, a nice, long shower usually works well too!
 
Look whose waiting by the testing equipment 2 hours after being tested!!!

upload_2018-3-10_8-26-36.png
 
HI everyone, well it's been a while. A couple of things: A) Djamila, you were right...this cat is like "hurry up and get this testing over with...STAT...I want treats NOW" and circles the testing area...
B) Kris & Teasel, OK I am ashamed I have not done the glucose curve...I know that is something I SHOULD do. Pricking this cat...even though she now practically is begging for it kills me. I would rather prick myself.
C) I think her numbers are coming down?
D) this cat's health is better now on insulin than it has been for at least a couple years...she is running through the house, chasing toy mice, flipping up twisty ties...chasing daddy, doing tricks.

SHE STILL NEEDS INSULIN, when I reduce it...not by a slim margin, but to .75 or .50 I get a bad number. Other than that...hubby says Maji was acting like a wild Indian today...we are feeling like we are making progress, and Maji's mom (me) is actually getting good with the lancet...totally hard to believe! I am doing the ear...BECAUSE the droplet that beads up...is SO PERFECT for the alphatrak! Maji even sits on my lap watching the digital dial going around...then when we get a number POPS UP "Good girl" and we go pick out a can to eat :)

I took the spreadsheet over to the vet. My recommendation is we stay 1U (twice a day) as we have been doing and a mid day snack if she dips to low 100s, Maji NEEDS HER TEETH CLEANED soon. And I asked the vet if we can do that Maji seems stable.

I know I need to at some point do the glucose curve...I am trying really hard...
K
 
Last edited:
...wow no support... :(
Sorry! Sometimes I miss posts when I scan the forums, especially from my iPad at night. In order to tag us you have to type the @ symbol right in front of our screen name. That should make an alert pop up in our inbox. Otherwise we might not be aware that you want us to check a post you've put up. I'm glad you're getting that testing thing conquered. :)

The blue PSs are lovely. If you can get even a partial curve at the 1 u dose - say, +4 and +6 - that would be useful data.
 
Sorry! Sometimes I miss posts when I scan the forums, especially from my iPad at night. In order to tag us you have to type the @ symbol right in front of our screen name. That should make an alert pop up in our inbox. Otherwise we might not be aware that you want us to check a post you've put up. I'm glad you're getting that testing thing conquered. :)

The blue PSs are lovely. If you can get even a partial curve at the 1 u dose - say, +4 and +6 - that would be useful data.


Thank you so much... sorry to be such a baby about it... I definitely want to do it...

Your responses and others mean the world to us newbies Maji (like all of us here I think consider our kitties) like our child. Even my son who turns 30 today says you let that cat do things you’d never let me do growing up!!! It’s more than true.

I’m off work for few days vaca- MY ABSOLUTE greatest fear... is making Maji hide under the bed when testing time comes... NOW she pushes me to do it... even tho she doesn’t like it during it - I admire greatly you guys ability to test like you do - 1st your way better than me at!!! 2nd the amount of tests you guys do is admirable

When I shine a light on her ears I see redbruising on the edges and it just kills me :( to see that I caused that. I AM getting better though...I’m a slow learner with this stuff AND clearly this cat rules me and this household.

@Kris & Teasel <- totally cool cat name
 
Thank you so much... sorry to be such a baby about it... I definitely want to do it...

Your responses and others mean the world to us newbies Maji (like all of us here I think) consider our kitties like our child. Even my son who turns 30 today says you let that cat do things you’d never let me do growing up!!! It’s more than true.

I’m off work for few days vaca- MY ABSOLUTE greatest fear... is making Maji hide under the bed when testing time comes... NOW she pushes me to do it... even tho she doesn’t like it during it - I admire greatly you guys ability to test like you do - 1st your way better than me at!!! 2nd the amount of tests you guys do is admirable

When I shine a light on her ears I see redbruising on the edges and it just kills me :( to see that I caused that. I AM getting better though...I’m a slow learner with this stuff AND clearly this cat rules me and this household.

@Kris & Teasel <- totally cool cat name
Teasel has white edges to his ears and I can see concentrations of pink in my preferred poke spots. I understand not wanting to hurt them and mostly my pokes are uneventful for him. Once in a while he squeaks and it makes me feel awful. The idea that this is needed to keep him safe and to figure out the dosing that prevents as much damage as possible from FD is so much more important to me though. If you can keep that front of mind it'll help.
 
So sorry! I had an appointment this morning and just got home...didn't get a chance to check in until now. I know the pokes seem like they're awful, but I've heard that cats have very few nerve endings in their ears, so it actually doesn't hurt them much. They feel the pressure, but not the pain. It's only when you hit the vein that it might hurt a bit. It's NOTHING like it feels for us.

Do you put pressure on the ears after poking? I used to press hard for 5 seconds or so...I think that helps to reduce bruising. Also, some neosporin (gel not cream) with pain relief might help some. I put that on before testing to help the blood bead up some, but might be good to help with the bruising too.
 
@Rachel @Kris & Teasel

OK - it nearly killed me to test again...but she's not used to me being home AND she wanted her 'snack'. So I did it...I tried doing it lighter instead of poking through...did not work...so I figured damage is done...wasted a strip :banghead: not that I haven't wasted a bunch already...AND got another strip and got 'er done. 75 ! Gave her a snack this was exactly 3.5 hours in.

Ok got back down here and found she’s raided the treat bag somehow got into it dunno how many she ate but was licking her lips - took treat bag away...

I expect her numbers to be up by pm due to eating unknown amount of treats...
 
Last edited:
@Rachel @Kris & Teasel

OK - it nearly killed me to test again...but she's not used to me being home AND she wanted her 'snack'. So I did it...I tried doing it lighter instead of poking through...did not work...so I figured damage is done...wasted a strip :banghead: not that I haven't wasted a bunch already...AND got another strip and got 'er done. 75 ! Gave her a snack this was exactly 3.5 hours in.

Ok got back down here and found she’s raided the treat bag somehow got into it dunno how many she ate but was licking her lips - took treat bag away...

I expect her numbers to be up by pm due to eating unknown amount of treats...
That 75 is a nice number but nadir is a few hours away. She might "surf" (stay flat) in green or continue to drop more. Only testing will tell you.

In many cases the whole issue of stress/anxiety/difficulty around testing comes down to the owner's approach. I'm not scolding you at all but I do know from experience that being calm and clinical works so much better than oozing worry about hurting the kitty. And, yes, it can be "fake it until you feel it".
 
@Kris & Teasel thank you! OK I did make a mistake... I give her shots at 6am - 6pm. So she had her shot at 6am - and I tested her at 11:30am... so that is really 5.5 and not 3.5 (my bad). I will update spreadsheet now!

Yeah...Maji is much more enthusiastic about treats/tests than me...
 
I've been testing for the last ten days or so and I still feel bad too but I try to tell Pluto (and myself) it's for his own good. I joked with my mom recently that I felt bad about his ears and then remembered all the street cats I've seen missing chunks of ear and told Pluto he needed to just go with it. Pluto has white ears and I swear the one never wants to bleed, and I usually have to poke several times to get a successful reading since I'm still new to this as well, so his poor ears are all bruised up, no flashlight needed to see it! I've put the gel on and that seemed to help and I read on here recently to wet the cotton ball/pad you use when you apply the pressure and that really has seemed to help with the bruising.

I love that Maji watches the dial with you! She seems to be adjusting well to the process and to the insulin. I like Kris & Teasel's advice above to "fake it until you feel it"
 
I've been testing for the last ten days or so and I still feel bad too but I try to tell Pluto (and myself) it's for his own good. I joked with my mom recently that I felt bad about his ears and then remembered all the street cats I've seen missing chunks of ear and told Pluto he needed to just go with it. Pluto has white ears and I swear the one never wants to bleed, and I usually have to poke several times to get a successful reading since I'm still new to this as well, so his poor ears are all bruised up, no flashlight needed to see it! I've put the gel on and that seemed to help and I read on here recently to wet the cotton ball/pad you use when you apply the pressure and that really has seemed to help with the bruising.

I love that Maji watches the dial with you! She seems to be adjusting well to the process and to the insulin. I like Kris & Teasel's advice above to "fake it until you feel it"


Thank you so much!!! Your post really helped!!!

I have a real weakness for this cat... and I even overfed her which contributed to this problem although genetics plays a part as she is part Siamese...
It’s hard being new here...thank you so much!!!!
:bighug:
 
OK. That's an ideal set of numbers so far: nadir (-ish) about 50% of PS. :)

Ok I didn’t know that!!!! Thank you...

I think though it shows two things: 1st Maji clearly needs insulin these numbers rocket up if I reduce by 1/2 or even 1/4

So that leads to 2nd which is this is a good dose at the present time.

Which I think if I read correctly the goal is to get to optimum insulin level to get to a safe but lower numbers under that which spills glucose out over into the urine and see if the body can restart the pancreas insulin producing process on its own- if it can’t...insulin for life.

After watching Majis swift improvement in overall health... it’s worth it completely to give insulin !!!!

It’s a really good thing.... thank you all.. :)
 
thank you Rachel!

Well talked to the vet and she was glad I was testing and definitely she said for the next 4 days she wants me testing morning, noon, evening 3x

She also wanted me to drop Maji's dose down to .50 for a few days to see.

I tried to call vet back because Maji at 97 but they closed at 6pm. I gave .50 BUT I'm gonna give a snack late tonight...and perhaps test again later...
 
Last edited:
Wow! Maji is looking really good! I'm so sorry I've been MIA for a few days - work has been busy and long. I love seeing Maji's numbers going down like this. You mentioned that she needs a dental. If you get that done, she may go off insulin altogether - dental issues are one of the leading causes of higher numbers.

Also, great job with the testing! I second (or third?) the suggestion to put pressure on the ear after the test. That goes a long way to stop the bruising. I love that Maji is encouraging you to test more! That is especially important now as the numbers are coming down.

And I've definitely come back into the kitchen to a cat with his head deep in the treat bag. They are so sneaky these little kitties of ours!
 
@Rachel @Kris & Teasel @Djamila and everyone!

thank you for all of your help :)

Well I was shocked Maji wasn't higher this morning...I fully expected at least yellow and scared of pink. Last night I set the alarm 11:30pm and got up to give a snack...ok I chickened out on testing..so tired from digging up the sprinkler system to repair piping.
Anyway...I gave her a very small snack Blue Wilderness Duck canned. Just a small scoop. It does have potato in it (not sure if that is o.k.)...but I believe it is on the list as a good one (low carb)? I went back to FF this morning, gonna give snack at noon (after testing).

Again thank you for your time and attention...it is most appreciated!!! Vet seems impressed anyway LOL
 
uh oh starting to climb a little bit. Magic did not seem to feel great this morning...seemed well enough fed then dosed. Came down and she had thrown up breakfast. I gave her something different and she was just as hungry as before.

Not quite as energetic though...perhaps not feeling well? Glucose seems up a bit. I believe I may have done a partial fur shot last night...unsure. This morning I did do a good .50 though made sure.

BUT glucose up to 133 nadir...not quite what I was hoping for. Will see what happens at 6pm and called vet to let her know.
 
uh oh starting to climb a little bit. Magic did not seem to feel great this morning...seemed well enough fed then dosed. Came down and she had thrown up breakfast. I gave her something different and she was just as hungry as before.

Not quite as energetic though...perhaps not feeling well? Glucose seems up a bit. I believe I may have done a partial fur shot last night...unsure. This morning I did do a good .50 though made sure.

BUT glucose up to 133 nadir...not quite what I was hoping for. Will see what happens at 6pm and called vet to let her know.
Good plan. I hope she feels better. Have you tested her urine for ketones? Just a precaution ...
 
@Kris & Teasel Hi - thank you, I have not tested ketones...I noticed a ketones testing strips as walgreens as I had to pick up more 28 gauge lancets...as the 33 are just too teeny...I love them very much but magic is slow and a little tough to deliver blood unless I have enough of a prick. I'm getting better.

So would I hold the strip under when she pees? I better take the hood thing off of the kitty litter box! I will have to get some.

The rest of the day was good with Maji, she ate well and came in at 169 tonight. Vet called and said she wants me to stay at .50...and test three times a day...we're getting used to it.
 
Here are some tips for urine ketone testing:
  • put the end of the test strip right in his urine stream as he's peeing
  • slip a shallow, long handled spoon under his backside to catch a little pee - you don't need much
  • put a double layer of plastic wrap over his favourite part of the litter box and poke some depressions in it too catch pee.
Most test strips have to be dipped and allowed to develop for 15 seconds before viewing the colour change in very good light.
 
Thank you Kris & Teasel! I will need to get back up to Walgreens and get some to give this a try. I will have to get round the backside of her when she pees somehow. Definitely need to take the hood off of the kitty box as she is very private and gets her behind all the way against the back!

Maji seemed to feel so much better last evening...got some sun on the deck with us at the end of the day...that always seems to help her feel better. I did NOT give a snack late last night...as her number was 169 and I was not worried about getting too low.

This morning she is at 124 ! so it looks like we are back on track again...vet was right as usual... :)

Also we tried a new food this morning...a half of a can of FF Flaked Fish and Shrimp Feast. She seemed to like it. I gave the other 1/2 of her can as a 1/4 FF chopped grill and 1/4 of FF salmon Feast. She likes variety... the snack today with be the super low carb of FF Flaked Fish and Shrimp Feast from DR Pierson's list...gotta get some more cans of this and ketone strips.
 
Thank you Kris & Teasel! I will need to get back up to Walgreens and get some to give this a try. I will have to get round the backside of her when she pees somehow. Definitely need to take the hood off of the kitty box as she is very private and gets her behind all the way against the back!

Maji seemed to feel so much better last evening...got some sun on the deck with us at the end of the day...that always seems to help her feel better. I did NOT give a snack late last night...as her number was 169 and I was not worried about getting too low.

This morning she is at 124 ! so it looks like we are back on track again...vet was right as usual... :)

Also we tried a new food this morning...a half of a can of FF Flaked Fish and Shrimp Feast. She seemed to like it. I gave the other 1/2 of her can as a 1/4 FF chopped grill and 1/4 of FF salmon Feast. She likes variety... the snack today with be the super low carb of FF Flaked Fish and Shrimp Feast from DR Pierson's list...gotta get some more cans of this and ketone strips.
She's doing really well! :D Good luck with the pee test - girl kitties can be so very particular about their bathroom habits. ;)
 
I think you would probably say no shot because she is only at 96 at 6pm. She drops about 50 pts (sometimes over 60 pt drop) at nadir between shots. if she goes to 46 that would be too low :(.

Vet said she wants magic off insulin tonight and see what we come up with tomorrow.

Darn it I wish I woulda bought syringes with markings for .50 and .25 all I have are these 40U types. marking .50 is fairly easy to eyeball gauge. Going to .25, would be a crap shoot very hard to tell...
 
I think you would probably say no shot because she is only at 96 at 6pm. She drops about 50 pts (sometimes over 60 pt drop) at nadir between shots. if she goes to 46 that would be too low :(.

Vet said she wants magic off insulin tonight and see what we come up with tomorrow.

Darn it I wish I woulda bought syringes with markings for .50 and .25 all I have are these 40U types. marking .50 is fairly easy to eyeball gauge. Going to .25, would be a crap shoot very hard to tell...
It'll be interesting to see where she is tomorrow. :)

They don't make syringes with 0.25 u marks, only whole and (on some) half unit marks. Quarter unit doses always require eyeballing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top