Ann & Maggie11 (GA)
Member Since 2010
Hi,
I was able to get Maggie in to see the Vet late yesterday afternoon, and he did a urinalysis via Cystocentesis and senior profile bloodwork, etc. He phoned me with the results this morning, and unfortunately the honeymoon is over. Her bg was 231 with the Lab range being 64-170. The good news is that there are no signs of a UTI and no ketones and no other infections. I picked up the Lantus, and the Vet says to start out with 1 unit every 12 hours. Does that seem too high? Not sure about this dose, although looking at my SS on February 1, this is the dose she was at and her bg was lower than it is today. She was diagnosed January 4 and started out on two units which was too much, so we lowered to one unit. I didn't find LL until February. Sooooo...any thoughts. I'm kind out of practice, so I'll need to go back and review the protocol. Maggie's protocol is a little different than most here with her being on the Alpha Trak meter.
I was able to get Maggie in to see the Vet late yesterday afternoon, and he did a urinalysis via Cystocentesis and senior profile bloodwork, etc. He phoned me with the results this morning, and unfortunately the honeymoon is over. Her bg was 231 with the Lab range being 64-170. The good news is that there are no signs of a UTI and no ketones and no other infections. I picked up the Lantus, and the Vet says to start out with 1 unit every 12 hours. Does that seem too high? Not sure about this dose, although looking at my SS on February 1, this is the dose she was at and her bg was lower than it is today. She was diagnosed January 4 and started out on two units which was too much, so we lowered to one unit. I didn't find LL until February. Sooooo...any thoughts. I'm kind out of practice, so I'll need to go back and review the protocol. Maggie's protocol is a little different than most here with her being on the Alpha Trak meter.