Maggie Update - Honeymoon Over!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi,
I was able to get Maggie in to see the Vet late yesterday afternoon, and he did a urinalysis via Cystocentesis and senior profile bloodwork, etc. He phoned me with the results this morning, and unfortunately the honeymoon is over. Her bg was 231 with the Lab range being 64-170. The good news is that there are no signs of a UTI and no ketones and no other infections. I picked up the Lantus, and the Vet says to start out with 1 unit every 12 hours. Does that seem too high? Not sure about this dose, although looking at my SS on February 1, this is the dose she was at and her bg was lower than it is today. She was diagnosed January 4 and started out on two units which was too much, so we lowered to one unit. I didn't find LL until February. Sooooo...any thoughts. I'm kind out of practice, so I'll need to go back and review the protocol. Maggie's protocol is a little different than most here with her being on the Alpha Trak meter.
 
Hi, Ann & Maggie... wish I could say "good" to "see" you.. but :YMSIGH:
Anyway.. Baby has been back for 11 days & the 2nd time around is not nearly as difficult after the inital shock & acceptance of doing it all again - it is a lot easier to me.
I hope your not back for long, I cannot give dosing advice, but when I put Baby back on Lantus I started with .25 in the AM & .25 in the PM - it is working PURRfectly for us, but ECID cat_pet_icon
 
Well sorry to see you back - but no doubt being here will get her back on track soon. I'm not sure what to tell you in the dose, but at least this will bump you up in cue. I am glad that everything else checked out OK.
 
Awwwww!!! Sorry Maggie has to go back on the juice--OK so it's not the worst thing, she is still well--Right Anne??
This hopefully is just a blip, and she will be back OTJ soon...We did miss you though!! Big Hugs from Us!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Phooey! Good thing that you caught it before her numbers got severely out of whack.

I don't know about dosing, but someone will! Jill's Alex has gone off and on and off again. Maybe you'd like to look at their SS while you wait for info. (See the master SS link in my signature.)

Hope you're honeymooning again soon!!!
 
Thanks Michelle and Mannie for the bump. That is for sure with the LL group getting us back on track.

Hi Roni and Moonie. We missed you, too! Yes, the good thing is that she is well. Vetty said her teeth are good, bloodwork good, no UTI. If I had not checked her bg, there would have been no reason to suspect anything was up with her.

Thanks Kathy & Kitty. I did catch it early. I will check out Jill & Alex and some of the other SS's.
 
darn it, ann...this isn't what we want to see...

maggie...it's okay to just drop in and say hello from the falls, you know...

and giving you a bump...

celi & binks
 
Hi Ann

rats! Sorry about Maggie's numbers, but at least the check up sounds good...
has there been any changes (or stress) around your household? Company? Food change?

When did you plan to start shooting?
 
hi me again!

would u like to start at .50u if that is a bit more comfy for you...
and to add, you may have to be prepared to adjust up or down very quickly and not go the whole typical 5-7 days of holding the dose.

if you can get nadir checks - these will help you see if the dose needs lowering or raising.
hopefully, it will be a quick trip back for Maggie!
 
Hi Celi & Binks - Darn it! That's what I wanted Maggie to do was just drop in and visit LL from the Falls and not stay! :? But we know she will get back on track with LL's help.

Hi Ronnie; I was planning to shoot tonight, in about two hours. I think I do feel more comfortable shooting .50u rather than the 1 unit. I can't think of any changes at all for her, as food is the same, etc., unless it's sympathy pains for me not feeling well sometimes.

Thanks Sienne. I think if I were to shoot 1 unit, I'd be watching her all night. It just seems like one unit maybe too much. Yes, I can get spot checks.

I really want to thank everyone for all the support in Maggie returning.
 
Nice blue for PMPS.
I peeked at SS :-D
Good luck tonight Ann!
And you have the continued support of LL to help you along.
 
Hi Maggie, Hi Ann. I don't like to say "welcome back", but of course you are always welcome, and soon you'll be welcomed back at the Falls. 0.5 is a good dose to start. And Maggie, just think, you're here in time for the New Year's Eve party!

Ella & Rusty
 
And Maggie, just think, you're here in time for the New Year's Eve party!

Thank you Ella & Rusty - Maggie's ears just perked up when she heard the word "party" as she loves to dress up! I have been enjoying following Rusty's condo - he is one lucky kitty and vice versa.

Hi Ronnie, just when she is to go back on insulin, she gives me some nice blues.
 
happy to see you, but sorry maggie's stay at the falls was cut short.
glad you started with 0.5u. let's see how it goes. the dose can be increased or decreased quickly if needed...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top