Maggie: AMPS 277 + 10.5: 79 PMPS 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

MyMaggie

Member Since 2014
I am working today so I am not able to do regular checks of Maggie's glucose levels. However, I left her with some HC food so I am praying all goes well!! My husband will be home in a couple hours to check on her!


I gave her 1 unit this morning at 9:30am (EST) as we have been giving her.
 
Re: Maggie: AMPS 277

Very nice start for the Maggie Team! It's nice your husband can go check on her.

Just a little LantusLand "housekeeping tip"...we try to keep one condo per cat per day. You can post things like your questions about the urinary issues in Maggie's "regular" condo. If you select the "question mark" icon, people will know you have an extra question or two to ask.

Hae a great day, guys!
 
Re: Maggie: AMPS 277

haha........it's your posting when you make a 'new topic'........so all the replies you get to your first posting is now in a CONDO............I asked the same thing........I showed you where all the jargon they use is on the board, I think go to the main index up top and click where it says icons or jargon...........it's a whole new language on here, some of which I have no idea about either. But basically you had already put a new posting today so best to keep adding to it even if you don't think it's relevant info like not being home...........
 
Re: Maggie: AMPS 277

Oooops....sorry. Thanks for explaining it, Shawna - the jargon quickly becomes second nature so sometimes we forget that others might not know what we're talking about. Before you know it, the only way you'll be able to tell time is by "+2", "+4", etc, too :lol: !

By keeping everything in one "condo"/thread/posting, it makes it easier for us to keep track of everything that is going on with each individual kitty and bean. (And "bean" is you - the kitty's "human bean"!) Welcome to LantusLand!!
 
Re: Maggie: AMPS 277

I did find the "jargon" page and printed it out last night but I haven't had a chance to read it over yet. I understand now... so I will keep that in mind!

I printed quite a few things out and have been reading through everything as I can.

Very helpful!
 
Re: Maggie: AMPS 277

It is a lot to absorb, so ask as many questions as you need to...we're all very happy to help.
 
Re: Maggie: AMPS 277

Hello !!! :razz:

I have been sick with the stomach bug so we haven't had a change to say Hello! Shadow & I have been here 3 weeks today. It is the best place to be!!!! Everyone here is so helpful, just keep posting with questions and concerns and everyone is so generous with their time! Well hello & welcome LL (Lantus Land)
 
Re: Maggie: AMPS 277 + 10.5: 79

I am sad I couldn't be home with Maggie today as I am a little worried about how her sugars were today. It was an extended period of time before I could get home to test her glucose. Although my husband came home earlier, he wasn't comfortable doing her glucose readings but he said her temperament seemed fine and normal.

I tested Maggie at 8pm (EST) which was +10.5 hours after the first and only reading I was able to do today.

My concern is that she was only 79 (4.4) 10.5 hours later and I am worried she may have dipped much lower than that during the day today. It is still too early to really know her patterns so we will keep trying.

I am going to check her again in about 5 minutes to determine if I should give her insulin tonight. What should her numbers be at to justify an insulin shot for the night?
 
Re: Maggie: AMPS 277

Amber, with a low number like if you give her a shot then she will be dropping and unless you are able to stay up and test every 30 min. max then you may have to forgo the test...........others who have a lot of experience on here will reply as for myself I have no problems giving a shot with low numbers since I have the back up records to help me, plus I am able to test often. You may not be able to do that. No doubt Maggie dropped lower as he low point would have been around +4 or 5. Wait a bit to see what others suggest.............are you able to stay up and test??
 
Re: Maggie: AMPS 277 + 10.5 79

Since you don't have a spreadsheet set up yet and you are early to the feline diabetes dance, I wouldn't shoot if she's not up over 150 at shot time. The good news is that Maggie is responding really well to the Lantus. :-D
 
I just did her PMPS and she is at 124 (6.9).

I am not going to give her another shot of insulin for the PM and see what she is at in the morning for her AMPS. I am home for most of the day tomorrow so I will do more readings and work on her spreadsheet.

It would have been better if I was able to get more readings today as I may be able to see a bit of a pattern but 2 days definitely isn't enough.

I could stay up to do readings through the night but I have my 11 month old son for the day tomorrow and I do not want to be exhausted for both he and Maggie.

She is getting easier to do the testing on and she is enjoying the chicken treats now but she still is not a fan of the ear pricking!
 
It just takes time for them to get used to the pokes.

When we don't shoot, we change it from AMPS or PMPS to AMBG or PMBG. That tells those of us watching the board whether you shot or not.

This post on making the Most of your Lantus ISG Experience will give you some info on posting condos, etc. and how you can help us help you :-D

If you have any issues with the spreadsheet, please send me a private message. Ni often help new members set up their SS. It will take me about one minute so let me know :-D

Welcome to LL!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top