Made judgement call with Chicken

Status
Not open for further replies.

terriy

Member Since 2011
Today Chicken Little's wound is looking a little bit better. Not nearly as swollen and some of the red is gone. It does not look as "angry" as it did. I can tell that she is feeling a lot better also. She is doing a lot of purring and being very lovey-dovey. Getting a lot of love bites and head bumps and that's something she rarely does!! Last night I even managed to get her to play with some toys!
This morning when I took her BG she was 180 at PS. I did not want to wait and test again because right now its so important for her to get her medicine on time. I made a judgement call and went ahead and shot her with only 1 unit. I will be home today so I'll get a 6+ and see what that did for her.
She wanted to go outside so I let her. I thought that eating a little grass might be good for her and I'll clean her wound when she comes back in and make sure that I get any dirt or grass off of it. I quit putting anything on it because she was only licking it a lot when I put Vaseline or Coconut oil on it. I did not want to have to make her a paper cone and make her wear it!!
I hope that I did the right thing by shooting her with only 1 unit!
 
A HUGE storm hit us and knocked out the power!! I was afraid to try and get a 6+ by a flashlight and not able to warm a rice sock. At least the power finally came back on and I'll be able to to a PMPS!! As long as another in coming storm dont knock out the power again!! More storms on the way!
 
I never used a rice sock. No microwave to heat it up. I always just rubbed Wink's ears, to get the blood flowing and rubbed my hands together before that to make sure they were warm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top