Maddie's BG was dropping fast this AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah Beers

Member Since 2016
This morning maddie decided to give me a bit of a scare. Her morning routine is eat, get insulin, go potty, play with her catnip banana and then nap until noon and repeat. I tested her and she was at 238. I gave her her shot and she went right to bed so I had a feeling something wasn't right. Here are her numbers:

AMPS: 238 - 2 units Prozinc
+1.5 - 150 I gave her about 5 pieces of purina DM dry
+3 - 92
+3.5- 98
+4 - 99

I had switched her to fancy feast and she was doing great for a few weeks and then her numbers were up close to 400 so we switched back to purina DM wet and she stays around 250-300 in the mornings so today was slightly lower but not much. She is on two units in the AM and then typically in the evening she's down closer to 175-200 so I only give 1 unit, sometimes just a half a unit. She does have days where she doesn't need any for a day or two. That happens about once every two weeks or so. Last weekend she was down to 100 friday evening so I didn't give her any and then all day saturday she was good and Sunday she was back up to mid 300's. She was steady all week then until this morning. I'm waiting on my vet to call me back. She's always great but I thought I would get some advice out here as well.
 
I am glad you got some numbers today. It is hard to tell what is really happening with previous cycles. For example, on 4/9 it's possible she dipped low on the morning dose and was going up at 150. That would have been a signal that the dose needed to be lower as she was likely low midcycle and bouncing up for most preshots.

I would give her a little snack of regular food and keep testing. If she drops down to 50, then give some gravy off high carb food and retest in 20 minutes. If she continues to drop, put some honey on her gums. Be sure to just give little bits of food - maybe a tablespoon at a time - so she will continue to eat when you need her to eat.

I will be around today and will keep an eye out for you. The 99 is a safe number but it is early in the cycle and we don't want her below 68 on a pet meter.
 
Last edited:
I am glad you got some numbers today. It is hard to tell what is really happening with previous cycles. For example, on 4/9 it's possible she dipped low on the morning dose and was going up at 150. That would have been a signal that the dose needed to be lower as she was likely low midcycle and bouncing up for most preshots.

I would give her a little snack of regular food and keep testing. If she drops down to 50, then give some gravy off high carb food and retest in 20 minutes. If she continues to drop, put some honey on her gums. Be sure to just give little bits of food - maybe a tablespoon at a time - so she will continue to eat when you need her to eat.

I will be around today and will keep an eye out for you. The 99 is a safe number but it is early in the cycle and we don't want her in the 50s.


I just checked it again and it is up to 112. I do check her every day but I have the spreadsheet printed out on my fridge. I can add it all on the computer later today. I have kart syrup on hand and I gave her a little bit of food about an hour ago.
 
Good catch Sarah. Once you get the SS updated it will be easier to see what is going on. Also, it will be good to know when she nadirs. Today it could have been around +4. All information is good information and helps to fill in some more pieces to the puzzle.
had switched her to fancy feast and she was doing great for a few weeks and then her numbers were up close to 400 so we switched back to purina DM wet and she stays around 250-300 in the mornings so today was slightly lower but not much
Just wondering if when you were giving the FF wet, was it the CLASSICS. They are around 4%. I just checked the food chart and it looks like the Purina DM is 3%, not a big difference, yet you got a big difference in numbers. When she starts dropping fast like that but, is still in good numbers, try just giving her regular food first, and like Sue said, no more than 1 tbsp. to see if that brings her up. I always record the food amount and carb count in the cell block so I have a good idea of how fast and how far up the food bring kitty for future reference.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top