Penelope and Mačka
Member Since 2019
Hi everyone,
My vet told me about your board which I have been reading through and through, discovering the feline diabetes world as I try to understand what's happening to my cat.
Mačka, 15 yo, was diagnosed with diabetes a month ago (BG 400ish). He was living in France with my mom while I was settling in the US, but her being blind, she could not give him any treatment, so I urged her to bring him here in Portland, Oregon with me. The French vet was very relaxed about the whole situation, saying treatment could wait until he got to the US. They flew for over 20 hours and he arrived in the poorest state :'( He could barely walk, was completely dehydrated and overall very, very sick. The next day I brought him to the ER: he had ketones 1+, pancreatitis, UTI, diarrhea, vomiting, and no appetite = ketoacidosis. They kept him for 4 days and saved his life. Now he's back at home with me and I have been treating him with Marbofloxacin (5 more days to go/ 14 days) for his UTI, giving him Cerenia for the nausea, potassium (it was very low), probiotics.
Most importantly, they put him on Lantus at 1 unit x2 day. When I managed to test him, his glucose level was always above 400. When we did his first curve last week, he was at 253 AMPS though, but then went off the roof to peak at 600 in the late afternoon. Vet said to increase to 2 units 2xday. Which I did after giving him 1.5 unit for a day because i was so scared of hypoglycemia. I can't sleep at night because I fear he'll go into hypo and I won't see it because I am sleeping and he'll die. So I wake up every 3 hours to check on him and give him a treat
Anyway, I injected 2 units yesterday morning, and at PMPS he was at 151 (and pee and thirst were normal). I panicked, because I thought that with such a BG, I should not give him another 2 units or else I would cause hypoglycemia. Vet said I should go back to 1 unit and test 2 hours later: he was at 419 again. Today I decided to go for 1.5 units. Both AMPS and PMPS were at 415 and 469. I honestly do not understand what's going on.
Am I doing injections properly? In addition, he became very finicky and lost most of his appetite. The only food he will eat at the moment is the dry food m/d (and some tiki cat meat tube), which frustrates me a lot. I hope it's just caused by the antibiotics and will resume after.
It kills me to see him diminished, grumpy, not purring. I am so worried that I can't sleep and can hardly eat. I do not function anymore, stopped working to care for him and go slowly into depression. This is hard.
I would appreciate some of the members' light and knowledge to help me decipher this situation.
Thanks a lot,
Penelope
My vet told me about your board which I have been reading through and through, discovering the feline diabetes world as I try to understand what's happening to my cat.
Mačka, 15 yo, was diagnosed with diabetes a month ago (BG 400ish). He was living in France with my mom while I was settling in the US, but her being blind, she could not give him any treatment, so I urged her to bring him here in Portland, Oregon with me. The French vet was very relaxed about the whole situation, saying treatment could wait until he got to the US. They flew for over 20 hours and he arrived in the poorest state :'( He could barely walk, was completely dehydrated and overall very, very sick. The next day I brought him to the ER: he had ketones 1+, pancreatitis, UTI, diarrhea, vomiting, and no appetite = ketoacidosis. They kept him for 4 days and saved his life. Now he's back at home with me and I have been treating him with Marbofloxacin (5 more days to go/ 14 days) for his UTI, giving him Cerenia for the nausea, potassium (it was very low), probiotics.
Most importantly, they put him on Lantus at 1 unit x2 day. When I managed to test him, his glucose level was always above 400. When we did his first curve last week, he was at 253 AMPS though, but then went off the roof to peak at 600 in the late afternoon. Vet said to increase to 2 units 2xday. Which I did after giving him 1.5 unit for a day because i was so scared of hypoglycemia. I can't sleep at night because I fear he'll go into hypo and I won't see it because I am sleeping and he'll die. So I wake up every 3 hours to check on him and give him a treat
Anyway, I injected 2 units yesterday morning, and at PMPS he was at 151 (and pee and thirst were normal). I panicked, because I thought that with such a BG, I should not give him another 2 units or else I would cause hypoglycemia. Vet said I should go back to 1 unit and test 2 hours later: he was at 419 again. Today I decided to go for 1.5 units. Both AMPS and PMPS were at 415 and 469. I honestly do not understand what's going on.
Am I doing injections properly? In addition, he became very finicky and lost most of his appetite. The only food he will eat at the moment is the dry food m/d (and some tiki cat meat tube), which frustrates me a lot. I hope it's just caused by the antibiotics and will resume after.
It kills me to see him diminished, grumpy, not purring. I am so worried that I can't sleep and can hardly eat. I do not function anymore, stopped working to care for him and go slowly into depression. This is hard.
I would appreciate some of the members' light and knowledge to help me decipher this situation.
Thanks a lot,
Penelope
), you would start following the Start Low Go Slow method of dosing. Since you are dealing with a kitty recently DKA, you probably wouldn't start with the starting dose listed but maybe stick to 1.5 units for a bit.