Maceo's SS up & running!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maceo

Member Since 2013
Thanks to Wendy&Tiggy, I think the link to Maceo's SS chart is now up and available at the end of my signature. I would appreciate advice on dosing at this point. I have cut his dose back from 1unit BID to 0.5unit BID. As you can see, I am not often getting the nightly dose in because he is reading <200. Pretty high in the mornings though. I will try to get a complete four test curve in tomorrow to give us some better information. Just home from working two 12 hour night shifts so going to bed for a bit. Maceo's appetite does seem to be improving - I caught him on my spy cam eating dry food out of the bowl in the middle of the night last night & my hubby fed him wet food this morning a while before I got home (probably at least an hour) because he was meowing & following him around looking for food. I am guessing that the dry food & this mornings early breakfast have contributed to his his high glucose this am (plus I skipped last nights PM dose because he was <200). Thanks for all help.

Kris
 
Spreadsheet link in your signature now and is working great!

First, I don't think curve testing (every 2 hours for a full curve, every 3 hours for a mini-curve) today will yield you much information. Especially since you needed to skip that shot last night and Maceo is bouncing today. I would rather see some random tests.

1. +2 Always a good test to get to see which direction the BG's are headed and how active the cycle is.
2. +5 - +7. A test or two somewhere in this timeframe. This is to find the nadir or lowest point in the cycle. You can pick a different time each day to gather data on when the nadir might be. ECID. My cat Wink nadired around +4.
3. a final test before you go to sleep every night. I know with your 12 hour work day, these are not always possible. Do them as often as you can.
4. pick another random time , on different days. Maybe one day, do a +11, another day, do a +9. take a test as soon as you are home from work. Take a test before you walk out the door to go to work.

We need to gather more data to see how Maceo reacts to the insulin so we can get you to the point of being able to give insulin at those lower numbers.

I'm glad to see you dropped that dose down from 1U to 0.5U, especially since you got that reading of 52 on 5/30 in the PM.
 
Deb I think Kris said the plan was to do the curve tomorrow. By then the bounce should have cleared a bit.

What happened last night? I dont see any test numbers or dose?
 
Well then, a curve tomorrow would be much better than today. Of course, that is what you said you were planning on doing and my first reply did not see the 'tomorrow' part. Sorry.

I still like to get those random numbers. But that's just me.
 
Correction to SS chart history

Sorry - I missed entering a couple numbers on 6/1 - which screwed up my chart - I have fixed it now - will be much easier to track now that I have this form to use. His sugar was 113 last night. As you can see, he has been basically high in the am - I give the 0.5u - and then he is still under 200 when the time comes for his pm Lantus.

He does seem to be eating more - I need to find time to do some research into a low carb food that is not too high in protein/phosphorus for his kidneys - not sure if it exists - may just end up "covering" him for the extra carbs in whatever food we end up eating. Am thinking right now that I just need to find a few foods that he will eat consistently (and in sufficient quantities) so at least variation in the carb content is not bouncing him all over the place. I am going out of town a week from Tuesday for an entire week - have a pet sitter staying at the house & my mom has agreed to stop over and give the insulin shots - but I need to find a "safe" dosing pattern for the week I am gone (even if it is just one injection/day, and he is high part of the time) because no one will be testing his sugars for the week I am out of town.

I will grab some extra blood sugar checks on him tomorrow - will be home all day until I go into work tomorrow night at the hospital. Am changing jobs in about a month & will no longer be working 12 hour shifts - will make monitoring and shooting insulin Q12h much easier.

I appreciate everyone's help!!!
 
Ok cool.. so do your syringes have half unit markings? If so can I suggest you try 0.25IU instead? We really want a dose you can give twice a day. Also a before bed test would be invaluable!!!

Heres how 0.25 looks

025unit-1.jpg


And that would probably be a safer dose for your mum to give while you are away. Now it would be agood idea to fill a syringe with red food colouring or something to show her exactly how much it is as a reference.

Dr Lisas list show carb % and phosphorous.. http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf

Wendy
 
Proper Nutrition for Cats with Chronic Kidney Failure
A diet high in excellent quality protein and lower than normal amounts of sodium and phosphorous is recommended. Controlling phosphorous intake has proven to be very important in controlling the progression of kidney disease.

Many veterinarians still insist that a renal diet should be low in protein, despite studies that show aging pets -- including those with kidney disease -- need more, not less protein. But it has to be very high quality protein.
The latest research on feline kidney disease says high protein diet is the new recommendation for cats with kidney disease.


This list should help you find foods that are low enough in phosphorus and carbs for your diabetic kitty with kidney disease.

Shortcut shopping list <250 phosphorus. Adapted from Rhiannon & Shadow’s shortcut list
all values are from Dr. Pierson's updated list, September 2012

carbs in % . . last number is phosphorus ( FKD cats need under 250 phosphorus)

5% - Friskies Special diet Beef and Liver entree 241
5% - Friskies Special diet Turkey and Giblets dinner pate 189
5% - Friskies Special diet Beef and Chicken Entree pate 242
7% - Friskies Special Diet with Salmon 228

3% Weruva Paw Lickin' chicken 196
9% Weruva Green Eggs & chicken 230
4% Weruva On the Cat Wok 163
5% Weruva Steak Frites 118
7% Weruva MidEast Feast 202

Weruva Cats in the Kitchen canned food
3% La Isla Bonita 166
8% Funk in the Trunk 250
4% Fowl Ball 180
8% Lamb Burger-ini 236
2% Chicken Frick 'A Zee 174
8% The Double Dip 248

5% - Merrick Cowboy cookout 202
8% - Merrick Grammy's pot pie 237
3% - Merrick Surf n Turf 229
9% -Merrick Turducken 219

1% - Merrick Before Grain cat 96% beef – 163
2% - Merrick Before Grain cat 96% turkey – 178

5% - Wellness Kitten 216
4% - Wellness chicken 219
4% - Wellness turkey 201
4% - Wellness Beef and chicken 226
6% - Wellness beef & salmon 207


8% - Wellness Core chicken/turkey/chicken liver 215
5% - Wellness Core Beef , Venison & Lamb 171

3% - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Beef – 248
1% - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Duck 191

2% - Natura Evo 95% chicken and turkey 155
4% - Natura Evo 95% beef – 234

2% Hounds & Gatos chicken 241
9% Hounds & Gatos Beef 250
3% Hounds & Gatos Lamb/chicken/salmon 225
3% Hounds & Gatos Lamb & Duck Liver 244

8% -Holistic Select chicken & lamb 222

3% Soulistic Polynesian Picnic 239
4% Soulistic Celestial Feast 250
7% Soulistic Upstream Dream 234
8% Soulistic Nautical Nirvana 228

9% Max Cat Chicken Supreme 173
8% Max Cat with savory duck 197
8% Max Cat with Savory Venison 214

8% Avoderm Chicken Chunks/gravy 234
2% Avoderm Tuna % chicken w/ veggies 241

9% Halo Succulent Salmon 227

1% Eukanuba adult Entree with gourmet chicken 239
8% Eukanuba adult Entree with Lamb and Rice 230
3% Eukanuba adult Entree with Pacific Salmon 241

7% Evolve -chicken 214
6% Evolve turkey 244

0% Natural Balance O'Fischally Scampi 244

5% Pinnacle Chicken and Ocean fish 175
5% Pinnacle Chicken and Tuna 221
4% Pinnacle Ocean Fish 231

3% Authority Chicken 238
7% Authority Turkey & Giblets 222
8% Authority Beef 249


BFF (Best Feline Friends ) also made by Weruva
BFF 2% Tuna and Chicken 234
BFF 2% Tuna and Salmon soulmates 236
BFF 2% Tuna and Shrimp Sweethearts 236
BFF 2% Tuna and Bonito Be Mine 240
BFF 2% Tuna & Tilapia Twosome 240
BFF 5% Tuna & Pumpkin Valentine 243
BFF 2% Tuna & Chicken Chuckles 234

8% Dr Fosters and Smiths Chicken 204

2% ZiwiPeak Lamb 224
 
Maceo's numbers have been high today - and I have not skipped any insulin doses lately(he has been over 200 the past two days) - still sticking with 0.5units BID. Wonder if he is eating more dry food? Will have to review my spy cam tonight when I get a chance and see. He has been begging for food every time I go into the kitchen. I did my PM reading one hour early and got "High" which supposedly means he is >600. Gave his PM dose an hour early (needed to demo for my mom who will be covering him Friday night/Saturday morning this weekend). Any thoughts? I have been giving him about 2 "Temptations" treats whenever I do his testing - which I have done four times today - thinking that may be contributing? Does it matter that he is eating multiple small meals throughout the day? I suppose that will effect his glucose readings.
 
Multiple small meals should spread out the food impact, preventing or minimizing any food spikes.

He probably is hungry because he isn't regulated yet and may need as much as 50% more food than normal.

Once you've held the Lantus at the same dose at least 3 full days (6 shots) and then his nadir is above 150, you might increase to 0.75 units. So another day to wait.
 
Can you stop feeding the dry? That will help a lot. Plus before you do increase, can you get a test middle of the night.. Just want to be 100% sure maceo isn't dropping low at night and bouncing up again for the morning. Because if he is, raising the dose would be a bad idea. Can you get a +6 tonite?

Wendy
 
I have been giving him about 2 "Temptations" treats whenever I do his testing - which I have done four times today - thinking that may be contributing?
The Temptations could be contributing to his higher test numbers. No way to know for sure. You could try removing them and substituting with a tiny piece of pure meat. Chicken, turkey, fish, beef, pork, lamb, etc. without spices. Any pure meat will be lower carb then the temptations.
 
So what happened about the dry? Is he still getting it? I am trying to see if thats the cause for his numbers. i wonder specifically what happened the night of June 5th - he was a nice yellow at preshot but the next morning a nasty black. Did he drop low that night? or did he get into kibble? Any ideas?

I see you did increase the dose but the sheet has lost is colour coding? You need to use the little paint roller icon top left to copy the format from cells that are working into the ones that are not.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top