dustygoddess
Member Since 2019
Hi - My cat Mac - neutered male - was just diagnosed; took him to the vet because there was a lot of pee in the litter box and he was drinking like crazy. He is a big cat when about 18lb vet put him on metabolic diet (which he disliked) and he ballooned to 22lb (he was eating a combo of metabolic and FF Gravy/Pate).
I'm feeling horribly guilty; I feel like I gave him diabetes by making him too fat.
He was tested at the vet's and his BG was 370. He was put on PZI - 1.5 units. I took away his metabolic and left him to eat FF Pate, which he likes. He was given PZI 1.5 units the first evening, and I was told to test the following day, 6 hours after food/dose. He doesn't like having his ears poked.
His numbers look like this (6 hours after):
Day 1 - 323
Day 2 - 222
(He was very drowsy after dosage on day 2 so I called the vet's office and reduced dose to 1 unit)
Day 3 - 273
Day 4 - 333 (was very stressed out during blood draw, licking lips, threw up right after)
What's happening with him?
Thanks!
ETA posted same in intro too, later found this forum.
I'm feeling horribly guilty; I feel like I gave him diabetes by making him too fat.
He was tested at the vet's and his BG was 370. He was put on PZI - 1.5 units. I took away his metabolic and left him to eat FF Pate, which he likes. He was given PZI 1.5 units the first evening, and I was told to test the following day, 6 hours after food/dose. He doesn't like having his ears poked.
His numbers look like this (6 hours after):
Day 1 - 323
Day 2 - 222
(He was very drowsy after dosage on day 2 so I called the vet's office and reduced dose to 1 unit)
Day 3 - 273
Day 4 - 333 (was very stressed out during blood draw, licking lips, threw up right after)
What's happening with him?
Thanks!
ETA posted same in intro too, later found this forum.
