Mac88
Member Since 2020
So I just brought Mac home tonight and at 730pm before we left, the vet tech gave him 3 units and fed him 30 mins prior. His BG has bounced between 700 to 67 over the last few days at the hospital and was 439 before am shot. They've been playing with the dose and said to continue the 3 units. We came home and fed him again as he acted hungry. I did notice he was a bit restless but chalked it up to being nervous to be home and monitored him. I just had a feeling something might be up and tested him. His BG was 55 and I tested my other cat to confirm the meter wasn't faulty and the other cat was around 300 so normal for him preshot.
As it was only 4-5 hours since Mac's shot, I did apply a bit of honey but not the full amount recommended and offered food (he ate a good bit). Is there anything else I should be doing? ER vet is over an hour away. And I'm guessing definitely lower his dose in the morning if he's high enough to give it at all? It is worth noting that aside from sleeping, Mac is acting normal, eating, drinking and moving around. I've just had a cat go into hypoglycemia before and he seized so I am wanting to avoid the same happening to Mac.
As it was only 4-5 hours since Mac's shot, I did apply a bit of honey but not the full amount recommended and offered food (he ate a good bit). Is there anything else I should be doing? ER vet is over an hour away. And I'm guessing definitely lower his dose in the morning if he's high enough to give it at all? It is worth noting that aside from sleeping, Mac is acting normal, eating, drinking and moving around. I've just had a cat go into hypoglycemia before and he seized so I am wanting to avoid the same happening to Mac.