Lynn and Kitten. 88 BG +5 amshot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katlyn

Member Since 2012
Will try to get into my spreadsheet tonigt and relearn lingo and tech stuff.
Kitten's BG was 88 at 2:30pm so that is low! She eats FF classics and she is back om the Purina DM but limited to a handful during night. She has been receiving a reduced dose of insulin @ 1/2 unit. Three in a row now and the two shots before that were held. Took 4 trys to get the blood sample. ( rotated ears). But the drop was huge! OMG. This number seems low to me..
 
That's a nice nadir. Good job on getting the test! :-D Good luck with the spreadsheet, that will help a lot. How is Kitten feeling?
Liz
 
Hi Liz..I am glad u think that is a good nadir. But she did not eat her usual amt of food today. Kitten shook her head after and splashed blood on the wall. I asked my husband wth did he do? Usually it is no blood or a miniscule amt. He does the lancing, and I do the holding. Kitten is okay today. I had to increase her atopica to help her breathe for a couple of days.
The IM's tech just called. Kitten is to receive only .5 U BID until further notice depending on our spot checks. She has been getting 1.5 U BID since last December. This seems risky to me, but I will follow her orders. If the BG is below 80, I am to hold insulin and inform them. I asked if her decreased carbs could be doing it and the tech said not really. I find this bizarre. Very strange. They do not want to hear it. This makes it difficult to help Kitten IMO. So.. It looks like Kitten will be getting spot checked from now on. She goes in Friday for a vet tech appt to have her affected areas shaved at injection sites. It helps me when I shoot to no where to avoid easily. They just get bigger and bigger and do not go away. I am going to try switching to Monoject syringes. IDK how u all do this everyday with the sugardance. I really don't.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top