Luke potentially going hypo: 49 PMPS +1

Kristen ardito

Member Since 2023
Previous post for continuity:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/luke-6-19-pmps-hi-5-hi.278763/#post-3082252

I posted this on Facebook when I was at the store waiting for libre. Got home now so would rather use forums. I went away for 2 days. The Libre wouldn't work with my moms' phone despite it working last time I had to be away for a day. Nothing I could do about it as I was in CA when I found out.

I was hoping all would be fine and my mom was taking care of him. She said he "looked fine" and I had typed out meticulous instructions on what to look for. However got home at 7:00 pm. This was a half hour after his PM shot. He was 43!!!

I have no idea if he had gone hypo during these past two days. I have no idea what to do as he got his PM shot. He seems fine. No limpness or anything. Should I "wait and see" or should I pro-actively give honey or syrup at this point? Gave him food with gravy.

His dose tonight was 2.5. I'm going to reduce tomorrow obv.
 
Now that I've said that part, could you update your spreadsheet to show the dose that has been give the last few days. Are those numbers in the 40's with the Libre, or a hand held meter? If Libre, please test also with the Freestyle Lite so we can verify it. Sometimes the Libre tests lower than a hand held meter.
 
He's lingering too long in those low numbers. I see the last one is over 50 (whew!). You will need to keep testing for a couple hours to make sure he doesn't drop back down.

And yes, a 0.25 unit reduction tomorrow.
 
Gotcha. Just tested again and got 55 w libre. That was at PMPS + 5 The alerts are all on. Gave him a little more fancy feast w gravy and syrup on gums. I’m also keeping him locked in my room tonight so I have easy access to test him. Litter box and water are in the room.

Is there long term damage if he’s too low?
 
If he was just in the 40's, probably OK. Some cats not on insulin will test in the 40's, we just don't want cats on insulin that low as it leaves no room for error. You don't want him lower than that for any length of time. If he's in the 50's, I would stop the HC at the next feed, and see if he can maintain above 50 without extra HC. Otherwise you have to keeping testing for 2 hours after last HC, to make sure he's not going to drop when it wears off.
 
We made it through the night! It was very scary but I saw his blood sugar slowly trending up throughout the night. I stopped feeding at 2am and it was still going up. This morning it was 118 AMPS so I gave a reduced dose and am home all day to monitor. Thanks so much...
 
Back
Top