Luke 8.28 AMPS HI, +1 HI, + 3 361 + 6 374

Kristen ardito

Member Since 2023
Previous post for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...d-dose-hold-for-how-long.279733/#post-3089689

Hi All!

It's been awhile since I've posted. Luke has been doing mostly well. We just got back from a month long road trip (I brought him with me to North Carolina from Florida to avoid having to trust his care with anyone else for that long). He did great, I think. However in the past two days I've been back his BG is slowly rising again.

This is the second time in two months where we start climbing the ladder of slowly increasing his dose, then to have him almost go hypo, give me a heart attack and work our way down the ladder again.

Now we are down towards the bottom again: 1.25 Units twice a day. But his BG seems to be rebelling and his depots are not where I'd like them to be.

I am on dose #7 at 1.25 and tonight will be 8. Should I increase or give it another day to see if maybe his body is still adjusting to being home? I keep studying his numbers to find a pattern but I can't seem to figure out if this is a bounce or he needs an increase. Method is TR.


thanks again for all your support!

Kristen & Luke
 
I would definitely increase now. He didn't earn a reduction down to 1.25 units as you are following TR, so 1.5 units should be his dose. I can understand reducing his dose for travel, but it's time to take it back up now.

When he gets his lows, like on 8/21, do you double check with the Freestyle Lite? Many people find the Libre shows too low in lower numbers and the check with the human BG meters shows a reduction was not actually earned.
 
Yes, I didn't get a chance to log the freestyle lite numbers yet (can't find the notebook), but I recall it was a little lower. Not 49, but I think it was 51 so I thought it was close enough to under 50 at the time to reduce (just because I didn't want to risk him being hypo and so far away from home/vet).

Tonight we will go back to 1.5 units.

Thank you!
 
Back
Top