Lucy's AMPS @+48 132 Ketones in Urine

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joanj

Member Since 2018
Just now did Lucy's ketones and the strip just kept getting darker and darker. It ended up at 8 after about a minute. What should I do now? Of course it's Sunday so my vet isn't open. I can call the ER Vet too and see what they say.

Lucy's BG was low all day yesterday with a high of 164 in the evening. This AMPS was 132 so no shot, I think?

I fed her about 15+ cc at 3 am and am getting ready to feed her again now. She gets an anti-nausea at 830am

Going to try feeding her 25+cc every 4 hours through the next 24 hours with syringe.

I'll try to get ketones today and will get labs from vet hosp and fill in the ss either today or tomorow.
 
Last edited:
The ketone strips I have used need to be read at 15 seconds I think, if I remember right. Do you remember what the test strip was at 15 seconds?
 
I don't know if the 8 is high for ketones, but you may want to call the ER to at least alert them in case you need to take him in.
 
The strips are not reliable after 15 seconds. That is the only reading that is valid. I wouldn’t worry about it getting darker at that time. Just go with the 15 second reading.
 
Oh thank God for that! At 15 seconds there was nothing. It turned purple over many minutes. Should i just keep doing tests? I called the ER and rhey said bring her in but that was whwn i thought it was purple.

I would rather wait and see my own vet tomorrow if its ok to wait.
 
A couple of thoughts...
  • Like others said, you need to read the strip based on the instructions on the container. It's typically after 15 sec. but it may differ depending on the brand of strips you have.
  • How old are the strips? If they are older than the expiration date and if you've not stored them properly, you may not get an accurate reading.
  • Re-test Lucy when you can.
  • Test yourself. Testing yourself is a way to have a better idea if you're getting a false reading either due to how long after you test and then read the strip, if the strips have expired, etc.
 
These are what i used and expiation date is 2020. I will try on me. I bought them recently when i tried the keto diet.

Thx for the quick responses!
 

Attachments

  • 15286395051088689025185406881626.jpg
    15286395051088689025185406881626.jpg
    33.6 KB · Views: 53
Hi,
My testing strips (True+ brand) require 15 sec waiting before reading the results. After that the test pad gets darker and the result is invalid.
The strips are ok for 60 days since the opening of the vial. So if yours was opened for longer than 2 month then it probably gone bad and gives you false positive.

Another thing is that at the beginning of testing I was getting a lot of Trace amount reads under the electric bulb light. Since than I prefer to check it in the daylight. The strip of the True+ brand appears colorless or maybe nude when you hold it against colored block on the side the vial.

I think we have to call your test inconclusive.
Let's hope you can get another one soon!
If you can add maybe 10cc of pure water than she might go more often. Some extra water is in general very good for cats. Especially if there are ketone threat. Consuming more water and frequent peeing flashes the ketones out of the body. I still give Ducia extra 100 ml ea day for that reason even though the last Trace amount read was done in March 2017.
Going to try feeding her 25+cc every 4 hours through the next 24 hours with syringe.
Try to calculate total amount of calories - aim at 250 - 300 Kcal/ per 24 h.
How many 20cc syringes to feed depends on how much Kcal total in the can you are feeding.
20cc - 30cc is good amount for one sitting.

PS. Lucy's numbers are slightly up but still in a good range for 2 days w/o insulin. :confused:

How is doing in general today?
 
She seems about the same energy wise. Kind of laying around. She moves from spot to spot in the house but she's sure not perky. I'll get new ketone testing strips today and try again. She is a good water drinker.
 
BG at +55 was 99. She seems to go lower in the aftrenoons and then up a little at night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top