Lucy_AMPS=373 New to this group

Status
Not open for further replies.

LucyCat

Member Since 2013
Hi all,

We were previously on the tight regulation protocol but have found that it's not really working out to be effective for my kitty, Lucy. Her body doesn't respond well to changes in the dose...so I only want to do it as rarely as possible.

Also, I can't make it on here every day to post. I am trying to get on here weekly. But I do update her SS. I can only get mid cycle (nadir) readings on the weekend. I have a baby so I go to bed early...like around 8pm and I work full time so I am not home during the day. So weekends are when you'll see the mid cycle testing done.

I do have one question: When you get a preshot below 100...what do you do if you have to leave right away and if you don't have to leave. I have been skipping the shot all together if I have to leave and then I don't really understand what to do it I'm home. I don't want to throw off the 12 hour cycle. I shoot at 7am and 7pm.

Thanks,
Becky and Lucy
 
Hi Becky

To answer your question. If you have the data to support it, you shoot. It's called shooting low to stay low. One of the easiest and best ways to tell if you're safe to shoot is by getting a +11 test in so by the time you get the preshot you'll know if she is rising or not.

Alternatively you can shoot a reduced dose, For example right now she's on 3.5 so you would shoot a .3u and leave extra food down. Cats are very good about self regulating when they start getting low most will seek out food.

I've shot as low as 33 with Autumn but she has a very late onset since she is on Levemir so I know she will continue up for a good 4-5 hours before the new dose kicks in.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
LucyCat said:
We were previously on the tight regulation protocol but have found that it's not really working out to be effective for my kitty, Lucy. Her body doesn't respond well to changes in the dose...so I only want to do it as rarely as possible.

I just switched over from TR, too. :-D

Mikey is really sensitive to dose changes as well. I've learned that even a .25u increase/decrease is too much for him so he has to go through a gentle slide in dose changes, meaning that it can sometimes take us two or three weeks to get to the dose we want to be at.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top