Lucy Low PMPS second day in a row ! ? !

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Member Since 2011
AMPS 364, 1.4 units
+4 = 310
+7.5 = 105
PMPS = 139

Looks like no shot again tonight. I will test again, after 20 minutes. Last night PMPS actually went down after 30 minutes, but I know better than to expect a pattern here. Of course they are circling for food.

Any thoughts?
 
Well, it looks like too much insulin, but we tried the lower dose and it was too little. I do understand that delaying dinner is hard. :-D Can you shut yourself up in a room for 20 minutes and test her again? It would be so nice not to skip.

My idea is to do a skinny dose for your next preshot. You pull up the regular dose on the scale for a given preshot, and then let a drop go out. So you are shooting a teeny bit less than the 1.4, for instance.
 
I don't understand what let a drop go out means. Don't understand skinny dose. I'm not up to speed with this lingo. I'm still delaying their dinner, will test in a little bit.

And I don't know how to note this in her spreadsheet. Just adding notes all over the place.
 
I think you can shoot. She is very close to 200 and definitely rising. Your scale says .6. So fill the syringe up to .6 and then push down the plunger just enough to let a drop out. Then shoot the rest. Then you are giving a drop less, or a skinny, .6. It would be great if you can get a number around nadir tonight...

I know this is nerve wracking, but it is good news, Joan.
 
Joan,
Your SS isn't a mess, it's fine. The important thing is that you got the information on it, which will help you (and us) out "down the road".
I wasn't here when all the questions were being asked, but here's my take after the fact -

If this happens again....
You can see that her number was on the way up from your first PM test. But that number was too low too shoot, right? Then you got the 191. Had I been on, I would have suggested that you shoot at that point. You'd have known for sure that the number was coming up still, and that it would continue to once you fed her, until the insulin "kicked in" a couple or three hours later. So you would have been okay shooting the smaller dose at the 191, and not waiting another 30 minutes. The reason that might help you out is that if you are trying to keep on a roughly 12 hour shot schedule, you would have only delayed for 30 minutes instead of 60.
Make sense?

One other observation.... Lucy looks like a "late nadir" kitty to me. On the days where the data is pretty full across her AM cycles, it seems like her nadir can happen often past +6. Not quite sure why, but we can work with it. When does she eat after the morning shot time during the day?

Carl
 
tI'm not confident enough yet to shoot at 191.I still don' know if I should continue with the old scale, which had higher doses, or get back on board with the newer revised scale with lower doses.

200 - 250 .2
251 - 299 .6 2
300 - 349 .8
350 + 1.2

Been using the original scale since 9/9 (not quite three days)

The cats are fed twice within the hour after AMPS, then nothing until PMPS, then a quarter can FF each late evening (magic potion for preventing Petey Barf in the morning). I do give Lucy a teaspoon of water packed tuna as a treat when I feel that I've tricked her into the kitchen too many time with the glucose meter beep

When you say to shoot the smaller dose at the 191, do you mean the dose from the revised scale, or a skinny dose? Probably worth my while to get numbers in the afternoon for a few days. I can do that tomorrow and Friday. If I don't shut the lid on this laptop it will be late enough for me to do another BG test.

Can science and anthropomorphism swirl around the same kitty?
 
I meant the skinny .6 that you ended up shooting later. I'll post more about the food tomorrow.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top