Lucy: day after increased dose mixes it up again

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Member Since 2011
Yesterday I upped Lucy's dose from 1.2 to 1.8, and stuck with that for two cycles. Dawn breaks.
AMPS 205
+12.5 187
So I fed them and skipped her shot because the numbers are falling.
I am at a loss for a plan today.



Yesterday
AMPS 411 (1.8u)
+3 320
+4 265
+6 172
+9 177
PMPS 327 (1.8)
+4 348
 
Hi Joan,
Looks like Lucy had a long cycle/late nadir last night. Good job stalling. Did she eat then? (Is that +2 after eating?)
I think you did the right thing shooting a reduced dose late.

Carl
 
Let's get opinions, but I am thinking you are going to have the bite the bullet (and so will Lucy) She seems determined to throw low numbers at the end of the cycle with just this tiny increase. If you have an automatic feeder, you could feed around +9 and then have it close to an empty slot at +10. Hopefully she wouldn't be starving at +12. Then if she throws a lower number and you have to stall, maybe you can stall for a hour or more to be sure it is rising. Then shoot a dose (maybe a little lower or maybe the same, depending on her number) We do have people who have regularly shot a cycle of +10 and +14 to accomodate the cat's pattern.

She seems to want to have a longer cycle on the higher dose, but overall her numbers are definitely better. I am thinking we just need a way to work with that pattern?
 
Couldn't get to computer till right now to update.
Since her number was low at AMPS, I stalled for half hour, the number was falling, so I skipped the shot and fed. Then dwelled for an hour, tested, and as it was going up (probably because of food) decided to shoot a reduced amount (1 unit).
Now our schedule is completely fried. I'd like to feed them at the regular time, as they will be going crazy. But don't know what to do about timing her next shot, or what dose.
I am thinking you are going to have the bite the bullet (and so will Lucy)
I'm not sure what you mean?
I believe her numbers looked better with a higher dose. But now I'm floundering

Looks like Lucy had a long cycle/late nadir last night. Good job stalling. Did she eat then? (Is that +2 after eating?)
Yes, that +2 is after eating.
Now just discovered huge vomit. Ugh. If it's not one thing it's another! And she's just waltzing around purring as if nothing is going on. Should I test before I feed, or what? I'm so discouraged today. Was so encouraged yesterday as I watched her numbers drop.
 
Yes, test before you feed. Always. And, if you think she might be having tummy issues, you can feed before shooting tonight, make sure she's keeping it down. You don't have to skip if she doesn't eat, but if a cat isn't eating, a reduced dose is better.

Joan,
don't get discouraged. Yesterday she showed a good response to a new dose. This morning's number was a surprise to me too. Do what you did this morning. Test her before shot time, and make sure the number is going up at shot time. Once you have a number, the dose is "easy", lol. It might be less than 1.8 if she's not high.

Carl
 
Ha Ha good one, "dose is easy", that is the first laugh I've had in hours THANKS.
So I should test before I feed, then again later, before shot? Won't the numbers be skewed because I'll be testing after after she eats? @-)
Also, won't know if she's keeping food down. This vomit 7 or 8 hours after I fed her this morning.
 
I wasn't really clear, was I :lol:

What I meant was....
Test her at +11 or +11.5, and then at PMPS to make sure the number isn't falling.

The part about the food. If you think she might not have an appetite, and say her number is 250 or 300 at PMPS... You can feed, to make sure she wants to eat, just before you give her the shot. If she just walks away from the dish, and says "nope, not eating", then you can shoot a reduced dose rather than a full dose, since there won't be food boosting the numbers.

No, you can't do anything about her deciding to barf hours afterwards. Other than to try to get her to eat a small amount then.

Carl
 
Sorry Joan, by biting the bullet, I meant that you might have to refrain from feeding her, even though she'll be unhappy. That's why I was thinking about feeding her around +9.

Sorry, didn't mean to confuse you. Yes, I like her numbers on this dose. I was looking for a way to avoid skipping the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top