Lucy Curve Pretty Flat

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Member Since 2011
Finally able to be around today to check Lucy mid-cycle.

AMPS 289 shot .6
+5 277
+7 237

No food since morning meal other than two Wellness Pure Delights Jerky Cat Treats after each BG test. Should I keep with the revised scale? I will be able to do mid cycle tests over the weekend. I'm guessing everyone will say that I should test more over the weekend. I haven't posted in three days! That might be a new record for me.
 
poo....the link to your SS is busted...

Carl
 
Did Lucy get a shot a couple of nights ago where the PMPS is blank?

Carl
 
Twice. We had a pet sitter. I worried about it. Rehearsal Dinner, then Wedding (our youngest daughter).

Festivities behind us WHEEEEE!
 
I was looking specifically on the night of the 5th, trying to figure out why her BG in the morning wasn't a lot higher (I assumed "no shot"). What dose did she get that night?

Her SS confuses me, or more specifically, her numbers confuse me. Some days, looks like nothing much happens (like today), then I see a cycle like she had on 9/3 where she had a low PMPS number, and can't figure out "why that day?" It "looks like" too much insulin that caused a cycle that ran longer than normal. But then you skipped the PM shot, and the next morning, her number really doesn't look like she'd gone 24 hours with no insulin.

I look at last night, when you shot .6, and this morning her number looked good, which would lead me to think that the dose worked pretty well. But then today, the same dose, and the mid-cycle tests look like the insulin didn't do much today (no drop in the middle). Which indicates "not enough insulin". I'm having a really hard time putting 2 and 2 together. It leads me to think that .6 is not enough.

But then I keep going back to the day of the 3rd, and that blue PMPS screams out "too much"... :dizcat

My gut says go back to the previous scale (but not until the weekend when you can see what's happening "in the middle")
Carl
 
I messed up. I missed entering her BG and dosage 9/5 PMPS. I just entered them.
I've been keeping the same feeding schedule since 8/27, no feeding in the middle of the day. They eat twice a day (breakfast takes a while, feed small amounts so Petey won't puke), then right after PMPS, and a little at bedtime.
It doesn't look like she is establishing a pattern, does it? I took her to the vet (chin bumps) Thursday, she looked at the numbers, and said "You do want it to be nicely regulated, right?" She was sympathetic. But no new advice. I showed her the conversion chart and the U-100 syringes.
It sure looks like the insulin didn't do much today. But then there was that 68 reading on 9/2, what is going on?
 
Actually, filling in the blanks makes me think it's more likely that the revised scale is too low?

Looking at the AM cycle on the 5th, I don't see evidence that Lucy went low and that the 387 was any kind of bounce from a low. SO even though she got some drop from the AMPS to +6, it wasn't a lot of drop. That, along with today's mid-cycle numbers, look like "not enough insulin" to me.

However, I can't begin to explain the 68 AMPS you saw on the 2nd, or the 192 PMPS on the 3rd if the simple answer is "dose is too low". Those 2 numbers still cause confusion for me.

Ideas anyone?

Carl
 
I'm confused also. When in doubt, move forward and monitor? I'd go back up and be sure to get that +3 to see how the cycle is going and then around +6. You might really observe to see what is different. Did you switch to a higher carb treat? No chance she can sneak any food anywhere?
 
There isn't a chance for any food sneaking. They are indoor cats, we don't have any dogs, there isn't any dry cat food on the premises. She could have eaten a spider or fly, however, she was on the screened porch for hours.

I've been feeding ONE flavor of FF for a month. I can't believe my good fortune, both cats like the same flavor. I seldom give her treats, I just gave her two of those Wellness Pure Delights Jerky Cat Treats on Friday September 7 immediately after each of two mid-cycle BG tests.

She was higher last night (Friday September 7)
PMPS +374, dose 1.2
Today AMPS +226, dose .2 -- still using the new scale. I will go test her now.
+4 308 1/2 tsp water packed tuna for reward


What is going on? Is that tuna going to skew her level at +6? Uh Oh obsessing beginning. She is acting so great!
 
Breathe, honey, breathe. No, the tuna shouldn't change things. The only tuna that is an issue is the stuff soaked in oil. It's just one number. Let's see what happens and if things are still flat, go up to the old scale.

Don't forget, how she is acting is a huge part of this whole dance. If she feels good and acts good, that is important stuff!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top