Lucy Consultation Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Active Member
I haven't been able to get as many readings mid-cycle readings as I'd like. I am concerned because her mid-cycle numbers aren't coming down. I upped her dose from .6 to .8 Saturday, so she's on her third cycle of .8. It seems like such a miniscule amount. Nothing else has changed, and I've waited five hours since she's eaten.
 
What you need to think (and know) is that we don't have all the answers. :mrgreen: It's hard, Joan, because you really have gotten basically the same numbers whether you raise or lower. Your cycle today looks pretty flat which can be an indication of too much insulin, but not always.....

I am thinking either up or down will give us a better idea of where you should be on dose, because the numbers will tell us more. I'd just like to see what direction others are leaning.
 
I do understand that you don't have all the answers. All I can do is stare at the spread sheet, look at the insulin syringe conversion chart, and scratch my head. My natural inclination at all times is that I have to DO something or FIX something. I know that I have to be patient. It is comforting and such a relief that I can keep coming back here.

It just dawned on me that I haven't even consulted our vet about this.

This past four days I have noticed that the water intake/urine output has increased again. Not as much as before we started the insulin, but that kitty litter pail is pretty heavy.

I will hang tight and keep with the .8 tonight if I don't hear anything else. I'll be able to test twice during her cycle tomorrow.

I must wait two hours after she eats to test, correct?

Does this flat cycle phenomenon happen often?

That's all for now, I've been saving these questions up all day.
 
Yes, we generally say wait 2 hours after food to get an accurate test. And yes, we have had a number of cats who tend to be flat at some point in their PZI "career". Unfortunately, not for the same reasons in each cat. Some are high and flat after a lower cycle; some are high and flat if the dose is too high; some are high and flat for several days after a change in dose. It's that ECID thing.
 
I'm working but will chime in later tonite

Carl
 
My natural inclination at all times is that I have to DO something or FIX something. I know that I have to be patient. It is comforting and such a relief that I can keep coming back here.

That's a totally understandable inclination, and makes us all happy to read it. The patience thing has got to be the hardest thing for anyone to deal with.

It just dawned on me that I haven't even consulted our vet about this.

That is very common. ;-) That said, you should consult with the vet, and balance his advice against what you are getting here. He might suggest something we haven't thought of in the way of tests he might be able to do? My hunch is that he will advise you to increase your dosage, because it seems that vets tend to be a lot more aggressive than we are when it comes to increasing and with increments of increasing or decreasing. Many of them don't realize, or don't have experience with dose adjustments less than a unit or a half-unit at a time.

This past four days I have noticed that the water intake/urine output has increased again. Not as much as before we started the insulin, but that kitty litter pail is pretty heavy.
Observations like this are very important, and can help us in figuring things out. Good or bad, what your eyes see beyond the display on your meter are indications as to whether the condition is improving or not. Reading this leads me to believe that things aren't getting better quickly. And that's okay, but important to note and consider.

Now for the questions about dosage...
I'm including some info and a link about "glucose toxicity" because I think it's a huge factor in a case like Lucy's. I look at her SS, and I can see where she's had a decent reaction to doses of both .6 and .8 in the past. Good amount of drop to lower blue numbers, but not too much of a drop. It looks like she does okay for a few cycles, then you get to flat cycles with overall higher numbers.
As the disease progresses, I think that insulin needs change, of course. But sometimes, instead of less insulin being needed, they can reach a "stalling point" and end up needing more juice for some time. I think the key is the point at which healing occurs that enables the pancreas to do what it's supposed to do. According to the link here, the magic number seems to be "300"?

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=62960

Glucose toxicity occurs frequently in type 2 diabetes. When profound hyperglycemia (blood glucose > 300 mg/dl) is persistently present, pancreatic β-cell insulin release is downregulated. In the presence of underlying insulin resistance, this contributes to progressly greater hyperglycemia and may lead to ketosis.

Glucose toxicity can be reversed by aggressive treatment of severe hyperglycemia with insulin. The goal is to return blood glucose to near-normal values for several days or weeks to allow restoration of islet-cell insulin production.

What follows is "MY opinion". I'm not a vet, I'm not a scientist, and I'm in no way shape or form an "expert". I just read a lot, I spend hours every day on the board, and when I see something I don't understand or a question I can't answer, I do my best to explore and learn. I HATE feline diabetes. It's a maddeningly confusing disease. I HATE "ECID". They shouldn't all be different when it comes to treating this. There should be a magic freaking pill and a clear cut set of instructions to follow that just fixes the damn thing. Even more than the pain and suffering it causes the kitties, what I HATE most of all is what it does to the care-givers. It drives people crazy, and makes them feel so inadequate because this is THEIR baby, and they can't just make it all go away. To many of the people who come here, these cats are no less important to them than a human child would be. Some have never had children, or there all grown up and moved on, and their dear kitties ARE their children. And then they are diagnosed diabetic, and the care givers for the most part are faced with advice and treatment options from a vet medicine community that is either un-trained or under-exposed, or hopelessly "not current" with FD management, and in some cases is just as "lost" as the beans are. I don't blame or find fault with that. If I were a vet, and I only saw 2 or 3 cases of FD a year, heck I don't have time to study all the latest scientific studies and papers, and even if I could, my head would EXPLODE if I tried to cram all this crap into it.
So, sorry for the rant, but this whole thing just PISSES ME OFF once in a while :lol:

When the BG is above 300 for the majority of time things can't get better, then can only "hold" or get worse. Dr. Lisa, who posts here on occasion called glucose toxicity the "crux" of feline diabetes, and the way she put it was "a kitty who is drowning in glucose toxicity". I agree 100% with her opinion that the most important thing is to put a stop to that, get the numbers below that "line", and let things heal as quickly and early on in treatment as possible.
With a kitty like Lucy, she responded pretty well to a .6u dose, but she was still seeing numbers above 300 for at least parts of the day. And all the 300s and 400s can be undoing what the nice low yellow and blue numbers have been doing in healing her body. So you end up with enough 300+ readings, and the dose just doesn't "do it" anymore, because of glucose toxicity making her resistant to that dose. So you increase to .8, and the nicer numbers come back, but there's still 300s happening. Cycle repeats itself. Now .8 isn't enough to do the job. Now you're at a point where you're thinking..."well, she did good before on .6, she's no better at .8 now, so maybe it makes sense to go back to .6u and see if she can still do well on that much...".
My guess is that it won't happen. I don't see numbers on the spreadsheet that scream "hey, .8 is too much, the curves are really inverse". You could argue that they are flat and high, and that one red number in the middle of a cycle looks scary maybe, but really, if you look at the AMPS of 395 and the +6 of 426? They are well within the margin of error on the meter, and are basically the same number. To me, that's just high and flat. And high and flat usually means "more juice needed".

I know what I would do. I would increase the dose every 3 days until I got a green nadir. BUT THAT'S ME AND I'M NOT ADVISING YOU TRY THIS AT HOME. If Bob were to relapse, or Mullet was dx'd with FD, knowing what I think I know now, I'd be aggressive as hell trying to get the numbers below 300 as soon as possible. I don't care if it took 3u, 5u, whatever. I'd keep trying "more" until I saw a green number, I'd live with the bounces, and I'd be going through test strips like crazy. I would have a "hypo kit" nearby, and I'd know how to use it. And every decision I made would be "all on me".

Now, the conservative part of me would tell you:
I would up the dose to 1u, and try to get tests in the area of +5 to +7 every cycle, to see if the pattern repeats. See if it gives you blue nadirs and yellow preshots like .6 and .8 did. And see if the numbers stay there. That, to me, is the key. If the numbers stay below 300 most of the time, then some healing should be taking place. If she starts to heal inside, then the numbers will stay that low or drop lower. At some point, you reach a dose that turns things around and her numbers will get better at that dose. That's the point where you start to climb down the dose ladder, as she needs less insulin from you because she's producing some on her own, and her cells are healed enough to start sucking the glucose out of her bloodstream and into her cells like they are supposed to.

Help any?

Carl
 
Hi Joan -

There's one other possibility that wasn't mentioned, but I seriously believe it's NOT what's going on in your case. My Grayson is Insulin Resistant. This makes for extremely flat days (we used to refer to them as IHOP days - flat as a pancake!). With the low dose that you're on, and with the increasing thirst/peeing, my guess is he needs more insulin. I would probably respond much like Carl. If nothing else, and you were around to keep a check on him, you could go up slightly. If the numbers still don't respond within a few cycles, then I'd re-think.

Good luck!
 
Needed to read that RANT. I'm wrecked about this and am happy to be in the company of a compatriot. I can't come up to speed and process this knowledge fast enough. I don't understand lots of the terminology.The spreadsheet has helped so much, gives me a visual (even in color) and forces me keep good records. It's been just a month I feel so overwhelmed and discouraged. ARRRGGGHHHHHH. I feel like I'm going crazy, and it's pathetic that I'm letting this take over so much of my time and anxiety. Adding to the general freak-out state at our house is our youngest (32 years old daughter's wedding coming up a week from Saturday YOU HAVE NO IDEA. So if I'm not dwelling and worrying about Lucy, up comes that event of all events. Mother of the bride, Mother of Lucy. And! We are having our house painted, painters scraping and hauling ladders, and dropcloths all over the yard. Not a normal summer. My husband is in awe of how hard I'm working to help Lucy get better, but he has no idea how much I'm obsessing, I'm even obsessing about hiding the obsessing.

I will go up to 1 unit for three days, which is what our vet originally prescribed, and make an appointment for Friday (hah, see if I can stay with a plan for three days). Isn't it usually suggested to stay on the same dose for at least four cycles?

She was skeptical when I told her I was giving Lucy smaller doses (.5), though she understood why at the beginning. when Lucy had low PMPS. She hadn't heard of using U-100 syringes to dose U-40 insulin, and I think that might have freaked her out. I seemed to think that she thought the .5 dose was barely any insulin at all, so that when I tell her I've been dosing .6 and .8 she will believe that I'm certifiably crazy, but who knows, she has an open mind. I think she even suggested shooting once a day. I will be able to do a curve Thursday, every two hours, so that we will arrive at our appointment with good data.
I know what I would do. I would increase the dose every 3 days until I got a green nadir.
How MUCH would you be going up every three days? a half unit? That is aggressive, right? And is the nadir at +6 exactly, or can it be a couple of hours earlier or later.

I fully expected Lucy to settle into a nice dose and that it would be easy. HAH!

Sorry to go on and on, I feel like this was more "Dear Diary" than technical. Way past bedtime, I won't be up in time for Glucose Test! Set that alarm, Joan! Sorry, folks, I can't stop.
 
Being able to keep a sense of humor through all of this is a good thing. :smile:

How I wish you had been here this time last year! A dear lady named Barbara was in the same boat you are... Mother of the Bride, wedding planner, a sugar kitty named Thumper, and in the middle of the mess there was a hurricane off the coast, and a new kitty who decided that Barbara's house was a logical "furever home". It was an awesome time to be posting in PZI every day, and we all kept each other laughing through it all. Barbara survived it all, sanity and sense of humor intact, the wedding went off without a hitch, and "Petunia" became a living legend. :lol:

Speaking of Barbara, has anyone seen or heard from her lately? nailbite_smile

How MUCH would you be going up every three days? a half unit? That is aggressive, right? And is the nadir at +6 exactly, or can it be a couple of hours earlier or later.
Only because I've learned a lot here since Bob was on insulin, I would increase in .25u increments rather than larger ones (my vet was one of those "up it by 1u at a time" people). Yes, .5u would be considered aggressive. The primary reason I would go with .25u? Two reasons... I only have/had U40 syringes and by the time I discovered "U100s and the conversion chart", Bob was almost OTJ. I couldn't eyeball anything smaller than .25u. The other reason? You might miss the right dose by jumping too far too soon. Most cats don't seem to end up needing more than a couple units, and a lot of people find the right dose in smaller increments. I'm not a big fan of teeny tiny increments like .1, I guess mostly because I didn't do it, and I believe that tiny ones aren't conclusive one way or the other. But lots of people use .1 or .2 increases, and see results, so I won't argue with their successes. If you're doing this for months, and you never go higher than 1u doses, and your kitty goes OTJ? Well, then I would agree that for that cat, tiny amounts really matter. Bob went up to 4u, so tiny doses were foreign to me and him.
Nadir - that's one of those stinking "ECID" things :lol: The theory is that Prozinc lasts 10-14 hours in cats. So we say "12" is a good and logical number of time between shots. If it's supposed to last the average cat 12 hours, then "logic" says the nadir "should be" half way between shots. So again, we say in general, +6 is when it should be. But of course, cats don't read this stuff, they don't follow the "rules". Some kitties nadir at +4, some later than +6. Some can't decide on a number so I think they throw darts at a dart board or something. They'll have a +6 nadir for a while, then start having it earlier or later. The big study on Prozinc seemed to conclude that the longer a cat is on Prozinc, the later the nadir happens. But the "=/-" on all those averages was so loose, it's hard to conclude anything from that "conclusion". Plus the study only ran, I think, for 45 days. That is why I usually tell people to get tests between +5 and +7 so you can try to locate the "normal" timing of the nadir.

Carl
 
Before coffee, during cats-begging-for-food, I'm trying to do the the math. I want to up .8 by .25, which equals 1.05, there is no such measurement on the U-100 syringe. So I'm going to go with a plain old fashioned 1 unit on the syringes I purchased from the vet. Just like the first day.

Surprise, Lucy is 246 AMPS. She's so unpredictable!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top