Lucy 158 @ +11 164@AMPS - Need advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

kalyv

Member Since 2011
Morning folks. I tested Lucy about 6:45 before feeding her and she was at 158. I gave her usual low carb morning meal of half can of Friskies pate and re-tested her at 7:25. She is now at 164.

Is it better to delay her shot or lower it to 2 units?

_________

Last post
 
kalyv said:
Morning folks. I tested Lucy about 6:45 before feeding her and she was at 158. I gave her usual low carb morning meal of half can of Friskies pate and re-tested her at 7:25. She is now at 164.

Is it better to delay her shot or lower it to 2 units?

_________

Last post

Just seeing now, I would not lower down to 2u from 2.5u... ss shows you just went with the 2.5 and that should be ok as looking at 12/5, she was ok and rose after that amps of 189.
 
Yeah I just tested her again and then shot. I will test her again in a couple of hours.

Once again, come next week, delaying may not be an option, hence my questions.
 
Maybe you could reduce 2.25u if she's still getting numbers that don't allow for you to shoot early, as an early shot is like an increase. Then, the next shot could be 2.5u again as you would be back on the shot time you need and can let the dose settle a bit before the week starts.
 
I can try that Gayle. I will see how she does today and if she her PMPS is blue, maybe go with the 2.25.

For next week, another option if her AMPS is blue, could be to give her some high carb wet food instead of the low carb. But that seems counter-intuitive to me since what's the point of artificially raising her BG and then giving her higher doses of insulin when the whole point is reduce her BG. What do you think?
 
Food manipulation is often done, even by humans, to keep BG on an even keel.
You just have to remember that food will not keep numbers up high that long... in a couple hours, if Lucy was on a downward mission, you may see her numbers drop a bit once the food wears off.
It is an option though, so see how she does today and where she ends up tonite.... maybe you can mover her back in time and also reduce dose if the numbers agree.
It's tough to know so far ahead, but having a couple options/plans on how to proceed prepares you for ps time.
See if you can test around +11 again and then ps number will let you know which direction Lucy's wandering.
 
So back up to yellow and pink after the blue pre-shot test. It seems like she still bounces whenever hits those blues and greens, but rebound isn't quite so high. That seems like a good sign to me. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top