Lucy 11/23/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Member Since 2011
AMPS (+13) 236 Skinny 1 unit
Will test mid-cycle and see what she has in store for me today.

Lucy's spreadsheet is getting pretty big. Should I split it up? Is there a link to directions for that procedure? Should I leave it alone?
 
I don't know about instructions on how to split it up. But I also don't think it's too large :-)
Good luck today, hope she shows you something definitive.
Carl
 
AMPS (+13) 236 Skinny 1 unit
+6 409
Inverse curve? Upside down curve? Holiday curve?

I'll leave spreadsheet as-is.
 
Lucy, what are you doing?

Here's what I see -
She was getting better numbers on the higher doses.
If this is an inverse curve (and it sure looks like one), I know the usual thing to advise is "lower the dose". But where is the damn low number that is causing the high number if this is a bounce due to too much insulin? I never see it. No, that doesn't mean it isn't there, but you can't poke her ear every 10 minutes around the clock to find it either. I just feel that at some point, you would see it, and you haven't.

The blue preshot yesterday is confusing as hell to me. But what I keep coming back to is that when that happens, it's the "oddball". It happens for no good reason, and it happens just once in a while. It isn't something that repeats. If it did, we could draw a conclusion from it. There's no repetition, it seems, except that when you go back to 1u, her preshots go back up to pinks and reds, with the occasional non-logical blue tossed in just to drive you insane.

I have a basic "issue" with "settling into the dose". I don't understand why that happens (assuming it does) with Prozinc. There isn't a depot/shed, and it's supposed to be all used up after 12 hours. It shouldn't take a cat days to "settle into a dose". You should see immediate effects from a dose change. I don't "get it", and although it's insane to hear myself type this, I feel that the "L" insulins actually make more sense to me nowadays than the "P" insulins do. Maybe it's because the L's have a set protocol to follow that appear to make logical sense. Prozinc should be so much simpler. It's much more of a "if you do this, then this will happen" type of insulin. My head hurts.

Carl
 
Carl, I get what you are saying about settling into a dose but I think it has more to do with waiting the 3 to 5 days it takes for the rebound hormones to clear out of their bodies than actually getting used to a dose. Maybe it's just a bad term to use.

I'm wondering if she didn't hit a low number the night of the 14th, bounced into the 400's and has been going back and forth from bounce to unshootable PS ever since. It does seem to be every 4 or 5 days lately.

I think that is why I always heard that you don't shoot a bounce number, you let it clear on it's own. While I understand that shooting a higher dose into a higher number makes sense it's when the bounce clears that you could run into trouble, not to mention driving yourself crazy chasing the numbers. The L's protocol insists on patience with holding doses and increases because of the depot but I wonder if that doesn't help them wait out the bounces too.

I think Lucy is close to a good dose now. Maybe a little higher, maybe a little lower, I hope once she stops bouncing around we'll see which way to go.

I'll agree that the L's are easier because they have a set in stone protocol to follow. While we have been flying by the seat of our pants trying to figure out Prozinc since it was introduced in 2009.
 
I keep 6 months per page on my ss; I think I exported to excel, added the page, copied the.format, then imported back to google docs. There.may be an easier way.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top