Lucky 8/10 - +6 is higher than +3

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
I just checked Lucky and his +6 is 330 when his +3 was 230....does this mean he's getting too much insulin?

I had started over with 1u moving slowly (at least I think it's pretty slow) up in dose. The exception to this is the move from 1.3u to a skinny 1.4, which isn't a whole lot of difference. We just aren't getting good results and I am soooo frustrated!!! The only things I can think of is that because of his gum infection, he's needing a higher dose now OR he doesn't need so much insulin and I need to back off.

Should we start back over at 1u? His dental is on Friday.
 
You were getting your best results on 1 unit.

But any mouth infections will raise their bg's and you will need to compensate with insulin until you can get a dental done and get rid of the infected teeth.

The 1.3 units gave you a good nadir but you only stayed there for 2 days. I might go back to 1.3u and give it time to settle in.
 
Hmmm, what a pain! The key is where the next +12 is. If it drops down to a lower number then you have an inverse curve and dose potentially too high. If it keeps climbing from the +6, then that likely means too little insulin.

His dental is tomorrow?
 
The problem is that I've gotten okay nadirs with every dose I've tried but it's the getting the numbers to stay in a consistent "good" range. The PS's are still way too high. I think I gave 1.2 a pretty fair go and stuck with it for long enough and got a few good +4's but that's about it.

I agree, best results came from the 1u but eventually those good results stopped or the PS's were still too high. The only change I made was upping .1u and it's crazy to think that a teeny tiny difference would change things that much, but possible I guess, or it could have been that way regardless of the .1u change.

Dental is Friday!

I'm getting ready to check his PMPS, will update.....
 
Okay, so his PMPS is 365, which is higher than the +3 and +6.

So now the question is, would it be better to go back to 1u, drop down to 1.3u or stay with 1.4u??
 
As crazy as it sounds, .1u can have a big impact. There was also a 45 day settling in period with Prozinc that held true for Harley.

Waiting for an update.
 
I would drop back to 1 unit, it is the safest way to go. But I would give it 3 to 5 days to let it settle in. I'm thinking that the constant dose changes are getting in the way.
 
Back on July 23rd, I had decided to kind of start all over again on 1u and go slower (yes, I did get too jumpy with some PS's and increased to 1.1) and ended up at 1.4 trying to get better nadirs and PS's.

But I'll start all over and see what happens again! I'm going to start tomorrow though so I can monitor better. Tonight I'll shoot 1.3 and get a +3.5 at least.
 
I would love to test for Ketones but Lucky is very sneaky when going to the litter box. I never see him go. I have a video monitor even and can never catch him going into the bathroom where the litter box is. So right now, it's kind of impossible to test.
 
I have a question though....if 1.4 was too much for Lucky, wouldn't he have gone lower and not higher?

I've been looking at his SS and I think I want to see what going back to 1.3 days does for tomorrow before I go all the way back down to 1u. It's taken almost 3 weeks to get from 1u to 1.4u and I'm not sure I want to just jump all the way back down just yet.

Anyways, I had planned on going back to 1u after the dental ;-)
 
I will tell you that Shakes had his dental on Monay and I can
see a difference in his numbers already..
I dont want to give advice on a dose cause I dont really know Lucky
but her numbers will change after the denatl,
 
dmartini4 said:
I will tell you that Shakes had his dental on Monay and I can
see a difference in his numbers already..
I dont want to give advice on a dose cause I dont really know Lucky
but her numbers will change after the denatl,

That's what I'm hoping! Boy, is this going to be expensive, so I hope it's going to be well worth it!

Good luck to Shakes!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top