Lucky 7/9- He has surprised me this morning...now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
I just checked Lucky at what would be +10 since we were late on his PM shot. He is at 200 after shooting 1u!

Should I wait another hour and test and shoot then or go ahead and shoot now since he's at a good number. I know 200 is the no shoot number for some and I don't want to make him hypo.....so, can some of you who are more experienced tell me what you would do?

PS....He hasn't eaten yet so I am expecting a little bit of a food spike.
 
Re: Lucky 7/9- He has surprised me this morning...now what?

I would go ahead and shoot now and I'd probably stick with the 1 unit.
 
Re: Lucky 7/9- He has surprised me this morning...now what?

Thanks!

I followed your suggestion and shot 1u @ +11. So far so good, we're in the blues now! Trying to test every 2 hours today.
 
Re: Lucky 7/9- He has surprised me this morning...now what?

He heard us talking about it and decided to throw a curve. You can test every 2-3 hours. Try to get something around +6 and +9. Should give us some good data!
 
Ditto to Sue and Robin's comments!!! Looking good!

I hope your husband is doing better today.

Kim
 
Beautiful numbers today! Maybe he liked the early shot? Curious. Looks like your best day to date, though I don't see anything in the earlier data to suggest 1u was very promising, or that 1.5 was too high a dose. Go figure. Sometimes it seems to be an oddball day of good data that we see, but paws crossed you are onto something good!!!
 
Re: Lucky 7/9- Low #'s all day, now he's back up at +8!

Darn!!! He's back up to the 300's :sad:

It's only +8 too. Wonder if I should shoot at my normal time, which would be +9 tonight or just go ahead and shoot with the 1.5 dose and get back on schedule for the morning?
Not sure what the heck is going on.

See?! Told ya his numbers were being confusing! LOL
 
Not so confusing.

Every time he has seen a blue number his liver panicks and dumps sugar to protect himself from what he preceives as a hypo which it isn't, so he shoots up to a red and then settles down again and sees another blue and shoots up to a red again. Liver training, they get so used to being in higher numbers we need to let them get used to the lower numbers again.

I wouldn't shoot this early, the bounce to high numbers will clear by itself. You could wait until +11 and shoot 1 unit again. You need to get back on schedule slowely. An early shot = a dose increase, a late shot = a dose decrease.
 
Ah, okay...I guess that makes sense. That's good to know b/c I get so optimistic to see low numbers and then see them sky rocket so quickly and then feel let down by the red's. So the liver will eventually get used to the lower numbers?

I'll shoot at +11 tonight, +11 in the morning and +11.5 in the pm tomorrow and I'll be back on track.

Should I plan on shooting back at the 1.5 dose in the morning or just see what the AMPS tells me? If it's around 200 again, should I go for 1 unit and if it's in the 300's/400's, go for the normal 1.5u dose? Just want to be prepared in the morning!

I'm sure people say this all the time, but for real, I am SO glad I found this place!! You guys are awesome to help us newbies out :-D
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Beautiful numbers today! Maybe he liked the early shot? Curious. Looks like your best day to date, though I don't see anything in the earlier data to suggest 1u was very promising, or that 1.5 was too high a dose. Go figure. Sometimes it seems to be an oddball day of good data that we see, but paws crossed you are onto something good!!!

I'm not sure what happened today?! Time will tell! Just have to find what it is that works but I'm loving these lower #'s! He's been downstairs under a bed for most of the day, guess his body isn't used to it.

I hope we're onto something good too...we will celebrate if he ever gets OTJ!!
 
Yes his liver will eventually get used to it.

I'm liking the 1 unit for now. Maybe when you get back on a 12/12 schedule you may have to go up in dose but for right how I would stick with what your doing no matter what the PS is.

I'm usually up early, so is Kim, so if you're unsure post your PS in the morning.

You are doing a great job.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top