Lucky 7/30- +11, 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
This is really high. These are the same #'s I was seeing when I was shooting 1u...no bounce involved.

You guys know better than I do, I'll keep at 1u is absolutely necessary but I'm hesitant since I had determined before yesterday that 1u was no longer working. Can't 1.1u be his new dose and just keep that consistent for a couple of days to get through this bounce, instead of lowering back down to a dose that previously wasn't working. If it wasn't working under normal circumstances, I just don't see how it's going to work on elevated BG's either. That's where I'm confused I think....
 
Re: Lucky 7/30- +10.5, 396

I see no problem going to 1.1--- that is not a large increase, and you are checking him throughout the cycle. If you want to go to 1.1--then, that is what I would do!
 
Re: Lucky 7/30- +10.5, 396

Well, I did a really really fat 1u LOL It was right under the line, just barely touching it. :-D
 
Re: Lucky 7/30- +10.5, 396

Let me take it a little further and tell you why everyone says not to shoot into the bounce....

Let's say that you shoot 1 unit into 380 and go down to 62. The 62 is a great nadir and a great response to the insulin. But, Lucky' s liver feels like it must protect him from the low bg, because he is not use to being in that range. While the 62 is good, the liver is reacting and trying to protect Lucky from going low. So, the liver dumps sugar--(that has nothing to do with his normal blood sugar)--into his system. So, when you go to check Lucky at his next preshot, he is now 450 and you think he needs more....but, the 1 unit was great. So, you increase and now he drops deep again---causing the liver to once again react and dump sugar...next preshot he is 480...and you increase again.....then the cycle begins.

If your higher numbers are bounces they will clear themselves as Lucky gets use to seeing lower numbers.

But, I still see no danger in increasing to 1.1 today........that is not a huge increase. Most people, like myself that shoot into bounces, way over shoot!

Good Luck and I hope this makes sense!
 
Re: Lucky 7/30- +10.5, 396

I am with you on the skinnys and fats.....last night I shot a skinny 3.7---almost touching the 3.5 line!!!! :lol:
 
Re: Lucky 7/30- +10.5, 396

kse said:
I am with you on the skinnys and fats.....last night I shot a skinny 3.7---almost touching the 3.5 line!!!! :lol:
LOL!

No, I wouldn't increase on a bounce really, I was just wanting to stick with the 1.1u I shot yesterday. I think that's the problem. I pick a good dose and he gets a good nadir (high 60's) and then I decrease. Of course the decrease is small but it's enough to ruin his good #'s. And then we start the cycle all over with me increasing back to the good dose and him getting a good response and a low nadir. I'll shoot another fat 1u and tonight and I'll go back to true 1.1 tomorrow morning when I can monitor better.

But I do understand the concept of why the bounce happens! Just not the whole decreasing the dose when a bounce happens. I wouldn't increase, just really don't think decreasing is going to help any! He was on 1.1u when he bounced.
 
Re: Lucky 7/30- +10.5, 396

You are doing Great!

If you won't increase on a bounce, you are way ahead of most....including me! But, I think I have learned the hard way---no more shooting into the bounce!
 
Re: Lucky 7/30- +10.5, 396

I would definitely do what feels right to you, and not get distracted by advice here. Yes there are certain things that might be dangerous and if everyone was shouting at you NO DON'T DO THAT or whatever, sure, listen. But I think the advice you are getting from any of us here is mildly differing opinions on minor differences in dose. If you get a cycle of wide swings from pinks to green and back and forth every cycle then yes, you should not keep doing that. But on one cycle? When we don't know for sure if it even is rebound? I wouldn't even worry about it. If you feel like you are fighting the advice here, I think it's good that you listen and question - you hold the syringe though, and you should do what you think is right.

The key I think is managed risk. If you are prepared that if your cat gets a 50 at +4, or drops below 50 during the cycle, you know what to do - you are monitoring and can feed higher carb if needed, then IMO there is no need to be conservative about dosing. I might advise someone to do something like 1u for a couple days and see how something goes, but to a large extent that is kind of thinking that the person may have plans for the weekend, doesn't want to be stressed about possible lows, etc. If I were advising someone who I knew was going to be home and monitoring and ready to deal with lows, and really wants to get their cat tightly regulated, my advice would be different. In that case I would probably advise As Needed dosing, where you shoot as soon as they rise over 150 and are past nadir (so never shoot before +6, always shoot on a rising number, and lower the dose somewhat if the shot is earlier than maybe +10 or +11).

So certainly if advice doesn't feel right to you, I think that it is good you are asking questions about it. One question is to ask people what their goal is with that advice - are they thinking that dose will give you the greens you are looking for? Or are they thinking it's super-safe? Or whatever. I think we all assume certain things when we are giving advice, and those things may or may not be what you are really looking for.
 
Re: Lucky 7/30- +10.5, 396

Thanks Joanna...I certainly wouldn't do anything that I wouldn't feel comfortable with. For instance, right now, I would not feel comfortable shooting 1.2u when I've seen how low he can go on just 1.1u. I've also seen that 1u just doesn't give him the consistent #'s I'm looking for when I stick with it, recently anyway.

I can't express just how much I appreciate ALL the help I've gotten here and I don't want to step on toes or make someone not want to help me anymore because I come across as being unappreciative by not following advice. I have a problem with that in real life too...imagine that! It's all a guessing game. Shoot now, find out later. I will start giving more info about what I'm looking for when asking for advice.

Lucky was 200 at +11 so I went ahead and fed him 3% carb, he was hungry anyway and the other civvies were eating. I'm going to recheck and probably do a normal 1u tonight if we are in the low 200's at the PMPS.

Edited to say...I probably shouldn't have fed him and I was saying that to myself as I was putting the bowl down. I don't think a food spike would change my dosing decision though, just based off the day he had today.
 
Another thing to keep in mind regarding advice. We all say it - ECID. Whenever I have given advice (something I'm not totally comfortable with for a couple reasons) it's perfectly natural that my advice is going to be influenced by what I've done with MY cat. Even though I realize that what works for Bob won't necessarily work for you (or whoever asked for advice). And even though I realize that every-cat-is-different. Hopefully that will diminish over time for me, and I'll be able to separate "my dance" from other people's.

Personally, I've never gotten more "exact" in dosing than 1/4 unit. I've used U40's all along, so anything between whole numbers is eyeballing it for me. When I see someone who is trying to decide between .1 increments of doses, it's just incomprehensible to me. If I were using syringes that were marked in .1's then I'd much better be able to grasp that theory. I have a hard enough time deciding if I'm skinny or fat on a .25 increment! Perhaps it's time to upgrade to trifocals. :oops:

Great thing about this board - EVERYBODY wants to help everyone else. That is just amazing to me. It makes me feel like "no, I'm nowhere close to alone on this". Not-so-great thing about this board - EVERYBODY wants to help everyone else. :-D
Sometimes there is just so much advice pouring in that it is hard to sift through it all and wrap your brain around it. I've participated in threads like that, and at some point, I figure "okay, he/she is getting plenty of help from people who know more than I do, so I'll step back and soak it all in instead". The comforting thing is knowing that EVERYBODY wants to help, and that has made the last two months of my (and Bob's) life so much easier and better.

Carl in SC
 
I don't think anyone will take it personally if you don't follow their advice. We're pretty pushy lol we just keep on a tryin'. With me, I forget what I've said day to day, so I won't even know, LOL!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top